Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 19, 2014, 12:40:00 PM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  News & Announcements
| | |-+  Beta testers needed for Pardus 2007.2 (beta)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: 1 [2] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Beta testers needed for Pardus 2007.2 (beta)  (Read 7159 times)
Raffo
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: June 27, 2007, 16:07:46 PM »

Alex,
I have the same results as you posted above.  I use the default repositories from my Pardus 2007.1 installation,  but my Pardus release shows 2007.2 Beta.  It is not a problem for me.  In fact,  it works and looks just like it did before.  It would have been nice to know before I upgraded,  though.

Marty
Same here.
Logged
msullivan
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 54


View Profile
« Reply #16 on: June 27, 2007, 17:01:37 PM »

I noticed that the update to 2007.2 Beta did not update KDE to 3.5.7 but remains 3.5.6.  I've also discovered a bug with firefox when trying to play videos with mplayer.  Have any of you had similar results?

Marty
Logged
roverrat
Pardus Master
***
Posts: 236



View Profile
« Reply #17 on: June 27, 2007, 18:06:20 PM »

So for some unknown reason the latest package upgrade appears to cause  /etc/pardus-release to display "Pardus 2007.2 Beta" even if it still is Pardus 2007.1 with kde 3.5.6 and kernel 2.6.18.8-83...

Marty,  the mplayer plugin for firefox seems to work just fine on my system. What are your symptoms?

Alex
« Last Edit: June 27, 2007, 18:08:28 PM by roverrat » Logged
Eren.Turkay
Global Moderator
Pardus Master
*****
Posts: 262



View Profile WWW
« Reply #18 on: June 27, 2007, 18:15:15 PM »

So for some unknown reason the latest package upgrade appears to cause  /etc/pardus-release to display "Pardus 2007.2 Beta" even if it still is Pardus 2007.1 with kde 3.5.6 and kernel 2.6.18.8-83...

Beucase baselayout (which adds a Pardus version to /etc/pardus-release) is updated andm erged to repository first. Please relax Smiley
« Last Edit: June 27, 2007, 18:24:17 PM by Eren.Turkay » Logged
roverrat
Pardus Master
***
Posts: 236



View Profile
« Reply #19 on: June 27, 2007, 18:26:48 PM »

Thanks Eren, that makes sense. No worries here  Wink
Logged
msullivan
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 54


View Profile
« Reply #20 on: June 27, 2007, 19:30:03 PM »

Alex,

When clicking on a video to start mplayer,  I can see the progress bar for the stream start to move for only a breif second.  Then firefox stops.  I restart firefox and get an error message saying that firefox quit unexpectedly with the option to restore session or start new session.  I was on youtube comparing the different beryl,  compiz and vista videos when it happened.  I never had the problem before the most recent pisi up.  Before Eren's post,  I thought that it may have been a problem with Pardus.  Now,  I think it may be a conflict with the upgraded firefox and a possibly not updated mplayer plugin.  I tried several of the videos and some worked perfecly.  It seems like it only fails intermittently.  Its not really a big deal.  It only happens when I'm killing time,  not when I'm working.

Marty
Logged
roverrat
Pardus Master
***
Posts: 236



View Profile
« Reply #21 on: June 28, 2007, 13:01:14 PM »

I hope it sorts itself out with the next package update Wink
Logged
glas
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 30



View Profile
« Reply #22 on: July 02, 2007, 11:13:32 AM »

After upgrading all packages (presumably mirroring a beta2 installation?) i found that the mplayer firefox plugin would no longer play streaming video from my prefered news channel, http://www.russiatoday.ru/

But i's easy to fix. Right click on the mplayer plugin window, select 'configure', select the dropdown menu on 'Video Output', select 'x11', select 'OK', close plugin window, restart.

Works like it should again.
Logged
DANHO
Pardus Master
***
Gender: Male
Posts: 187


Pardus SF


View Profile
« Reply #23 on: August 18, 2007, 01:54:26 AM »

Coincedently, I experienced the same "Pardus 2007.2(Beta) on my grub just after updating packages on my then 07.1 felis chaus. I can say that Caracal so far has treated me good.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!