Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 24, 2014, 10:40:33 AM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Pardus for beginners
| | |-+  [Solved]Pardus & me friend for ever(A new cups problem)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: [Solved]Pardus & me friend for ever(A new cups problem)  (Read 2716 times)
jaideep_jdof
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 104



View Profile
« on: September 16, 2007, 11:59:23 AM »

I am a new pardus 2007.2 user, it is the only OS i am using right now. I have a very basic question, how do I update my OS using pisi in the init level 3. Why I want to update in init level 3 is because at this level xorg is not running and so no change of damaging my system if update fails.

One more thing, is it safe to update in Gui using the package manager in case there is a kdebase or xorg update, wouldn't that mess up the system. Huh?


« Last Edit: September 17, 2007, 08:08:10 AM by jaideep_jdof » Logged
Willem
M.D.
Administrator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 1020



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2007, 13:21:16 PM »

You can sefely update in the GUI
to update from commandline simply type:
Code:
sudo pisi up
Logged

For freedom...
jaideep_jdof
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 104



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2007, 15:07:15 PM »

Thank you very much, I had to clear this doubt because I want to use pardus linux for a long time to come.
Logged
Willem
M.D.
Administrator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 1020



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2007, 16:10:38 PM »

I am already using it since version 1.0 and still havent found a reason to switch to something else  Grin
Logged

For freedom...
FoamRocket
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 46


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2007, 16:19:22 PM »

Yeah, Pardus is great! Even better than Ubuntu IMO. Feels a lot more proffesional. I wish LBreakout2 never would have come with it though, cause now I'm addicted to it. Wink

//FoamRocket
Logged


I think the lack of activity on this forum is in part an indication of the lack of problems with this distribution...
jaideep_jdof
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 104



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: September 16, 2007, 19:43:25 PM »

Facing another problem, I have a HP1020 printer which uses foo2zjs driver, i have installed the driver but when i try to add the printer using tasma printer dialog box, the option for local printer is disabled, I have tried reboot also but no help, the printer is connected by USB, even localhost:631 is all not detection my printer.
I am attaching a screenshot.


* snapshot1.png (175.87 KB, 1280x735 - viewed 83 times.)
Logged
Zinden
Pardus Master
***
Gender: Male
Posts: 167


www.Pardus-linux.se


View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: September 16, 2007, 20:35:21 PM »

tried to change usb port? i had to do that alot in windows before. But not in linux, not yet anyway.
Logged

jaideep_jdof
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 104



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: September 16, 2007, 20:39:10 PM »

No it didn't work i tried it on every USB port, I never had such a problem in any other linux distro.
Logged
Willem
M.D.
Administrator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 1020



View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: September 16, 2007, 21:02:05 PM »

Did you install HPLip ? http://hplip.sourceforge.net/faqs.html
Logged

For freedom...
jaideep_jdof
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 104



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: September 16, 2007, 21:06:19 PM »

yes hplip was installed by default
Logged
jaideep_jdof
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 104



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: September 16, 2007, 21:12:30 PM »

did you check the snapshot?, you will see the option disabled.
Logged
Zinden
Pardus Master
***
Gender: Male
Posts: 167


www.Pardus-linux.se


View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: September 16, 2007, 21:14:07 PM »

did you check the snapshot?, you will see the option disabled.
its disabled because it doesnt find your writer there, if it finds a writer in usb, then its enabled.
for me its enabled...if i plug it off and try, its disabled.
Logged

jaideep_jdof
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 104



View Profile
« Reply #12 on: September 16, 2007, 21:19:39 PM »

Then what should i do? This never happen with any other distro.
Logged
jaideep_jdof
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 104



View Profile
« Reply #13 on: September 16, 2007, 21:31:13 PM »

I tried again and this time removed all the USB devices except the printer and now its working, thanks so so much.
Logged
Talisien
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 55



View Profile
« Reply #14 on: November 14, 2007, 12:40:51 PM »

Dear Jaideep,

I have HP 1018s wich is nearly the same printer than You have.
I have the same Problem with USB, cannot choose the printer.

You managed the problem by removing all the USB devices except the printer?
Do You mean, You unplugged the USB (plugged out SD- Stick), or did You delate
the devices in USB configuration? Because unplugging did not solve my
Problem.

If You delated (removed) the devices, how and where You made this, because I
am not very proofed in computerworking.

Thanks

Wolfgang
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!