Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 18, 2014, 15:26:30 PM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Pardus for beginners
| | |-+  desktop resolution
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: desktop resolution  (Read 1323 times)
grundstuck
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


View Profile
« on: October 17, 2007, 14:03:48 PM »

hello,
i have a problem with the monitor resolution on pardus.
i had previously installed ubuntu,fedora and suse on the same pc and everything worked well but now with pardus i can only choose 640x480 resolution wich i don't like at all.
anyone knows how to have an higher resolution?
thanks!
Logged
Mailman
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 61


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2007, 15:03:59 PM »

Maybe this will help:

http://worldforum.pardus-linux.nl/index.php/topic,765.msg3074.html#msg3074
Logged
DANHO
Pardus Master
***
Gender: Male
Posts: 187


Pardus SF


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2007, 20:37:16 PM »

Which installation type did you choose?
Caracal?
Standard?
Minimal?

Tasma>Peripherals>Display
Here you'll find some display optios.

Look for better packages in package manager that can drive your graphics better or
you can download and install drivers from video card makers web site.

« Last Edit: October 18, 2007, 18:27:22 PM by DANHO » Logged
grundstuck
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2007, 23:06:54 PM »

i have installed pardus caracal.
by the way i tryed using the same method as the other forum topic,now i can seti to 1024x768, all works but i can't see anymore the desktop..  Sad
Logged
DANHO
Pardus Master
***
Gender: Male
Posts: 187


Pardus SF


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 18, 2007, 17:47:58 PM »

You can download drivers from video card's web site if the package in the repo don't work for you.
If you lost your desktop, x
Type      init 5                             in text mode and hit enter......if this don't work,
Type      init 3.........                    wait then type init 5 again, If still no desktop,
Type      service kdebase start


If you have a total black screen; Hit  ctrl,alt,f1........then the commands I mentioned above.

GoodLuck.


Note; I have a second pc. One of the slowest modern pc's. I could'nt go any slower.

Gateway.Pent3 447 mhz, 256 ram, maxtor 13 gig hd,Pardus minimal,a very low quality video card(which will soon also come off) and no other devices connected in hopes it'll sputter an extra milla sec of response.
All three install type works great.Pardus makes the hardware perform to it's best. Performance,response, and start ups. screen Resolutions of up to 1280x1024.
« Last Edit: October 18, 2007, 18:31:38 PM by DANHO » Logged
grundstuck
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: October 18, 2007, 18:39:04 PM »

thank you very much!
the problem seems to be resolved.yesterday after using the other thread linked the desktop didn't appeared anymore,but today after a reboot it's all wonderfoul!!

by the way i have too a slow pc it a pentiumIII 600 with 1gb of ram..but well all linux distros are great on it!  Grin
Logged
DANHO
Pardus Master
***
Gender: Male
Posts: 187


Pardus SF


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: October 18, 2007, 20:09:44 PM »

Hey great news.
« Last Edit: October 18, 2007, 21:53:53 PM by DANHO » Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!