Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 20, 2014, 02:39:15 AM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Hardware
| | |-+  sysinfo:/ does not start/load
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: sysinfo:/ does not start/load  (Read 2856 times)
Paulus!
Newbie
*
Posts: 7


View Profile
« on: April 20, 2008, 16:06:14 PM »

Hi,

If I press System on the desktop, Konqueror appears with the remark:


An error was made during loading of sysinfo:/:
The process of the protocoll sysinfo halted unexpectedly. (Something like this: I translated it out of Dutch!)

Friday I installed Pardus 2007.3, and yesterday I updated everything.

How do I get System to work properly?

Many thanks in advance!


Regards,


Paul
Logged
roverrat
Pardus Master
***
Posts: 236



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2008, 19:17:29 PM »

Hmm, something to do with the upgrade I suspect. I take it you did a reboot after installing all the updates?
Do you still have this problem?
Logged
Paulus!
Newbie
*
Posts: 7


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2008, 19:46:33 PM »

Hi Roverrat,

I did many, many reboots after installing all the updates. I also installed sysinfoxxx.pisi from pisi sites, in several versions, but nothing helped.

So I still have this problem!

Anyway: thank you very much for your concern!

Wo is able to help?

I am waiting! Undecided

Regards,


Paul
Logged
roverrat
Pardus Master
***
Posts: 236



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2008, 22:00:40 PM »

Hi there Paul,

I'm by no means an expert when it comes to KDE but perhaps you could try rebuilding KDE's  configuration cache.
In a console window type
Code:
sudo kbuildsycoca

Hope this helps.
Logged
Paulus!
Newbie
*
Posts: 7


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2008, 23:09:51 PM »

Hi Roverrat,

This is the output after I followed your suggestion:


paul@pardus ~ $ sudo kbuildsycoca
Wachtwoord:
kbuildsycoca running...
Error: "/var/tmp/kdecache-paul" is owned by uid 1000 instead of uid 0.
Reusing existing ksycoca
kio (KService*): WARNING: Invalid Service : basket_config_features.desktop
kio (KService*): WARNING: Invalid Service : basket_config_notes.desktop
kio (KService*): WARNING: The desktop entry file .hidden/dirfilterplugin.desktop has Type=Service but is located under "apps" instead of "services"
kio (KService*): WARNING: Invalid Service : .hidden/dirfilterplugin.desktop
Error: "/tmp/kde-paul" is owned by uid 1000 instead of uid 0.
paul@pardus ~ $


I am not experienced enough to know what to do, but I have the feeling this did not work out quit well!

You have any idea what to do next?


Thanks!

Paul
Logged
roverrat
Pardus Master
***
Posts: 236



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2008, 10:04:33 AM »

Hmm, apart from reinstalling KDE I don't really know what to suggest...
If I understand correctly the system worked OK untill you did the update?

By the way: have you tried the Dutch pardus forums? They are quite an active bunch and might be able to help you.
Logged
Paulus!
Newbie
*
Posts: 7


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2008, 18:08:39 PM »

Roverrat,

I never started/tried sysinfo before the updates, as I updated inmediately after installation had finished. I think it never would had worked before, as it did not work either with the Pardus Live CD.

I started to try the Dutch Pardus forum, and I also put this subject there, but thus far it did not bring a solution.

But thank you for your suggestions!

I will we patient and waite... :'(

Kind regards,


Paul
Logged
roverrat
Pardus Master
***
Posts: 236



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: April 23, 2008, 19:01:38 PM »

I hope you get it working Paul. If I find something relating to this issue I'll get back to you.
Should you find a solution throught the Dutch forum please post it here so that we can learn from it ;-)

Cheers,
roverrat
Logged
Paulus!
Newbie
*
Posts: 7


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: April 23, 2008, 20:17:31 PM »

Roverrat,

Thank you very much for your kind attempts! You have been very helpful! The fact that you could not find a solution does not effect this in any way!

The fact that Pardus IS a real nice distro, and that it has many advantages over other distros, e.g. kubuntu, makes me to continue to use it. Of course it would be nice if sysinfo would work, but I can live without, because of so many special features of this real great Parus distro!

Of course I will post here any solution that will reach me in some way.

Again: thank you, Roverrat!


Cheers,


Paul
Logged
rfpa
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 34


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: April 26, 2008, 01:05:22 AM »

It works here. Do you have the command sysinfo:/ in konqueror?
Logged
Paulus!
Newbie
*
Posts: 7


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: April 26, 2008, 15:15:20 PM »

This was my first message:

Hi,

If I press System on the desktop, Konqueror appears with the remark:


An error was made during loading of sysinfo:/:
The process of the protocoll sysinfo halted unexpectedly. (Something like this: I translated it out of Dutch!)

Friday I installed Pardus 2007.3, and yesterday I updated everything.

How do I get System to work properly?

Many thanks in advance!


Regards,


Paul


As you noticed the sysinfo:/ command does not do its job: this quote is the answer after giving this command!

I still waite for any solution.

Cheers,

Paul
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!