Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 19, 2014, 04:00:52 AM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Laptop
| | |-+  [solved}Brightness change on Pardus 2007.3
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Go Down Print
Author Topic: [solved}Brightness change on Pardus 2007.3  (Read 4444 times)
rfpa
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 34


View Profile
« on: April 25, 2008, 21:32:54 PM »

Hi everyone!

First of all, I would like to pay my sincere congratulations to everyone at Pardus. They have done an excellent work! Smiley

This distro is the first one to recognize the laptop's sound wheel. Great! Smiley But it is also the first distro that doesn't allow me to change the monitor brightness... Undecided

These are my display specs:

Display Info
Vendor:  Intel Corporation
  Model:   Mobile 945GM/GMS, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller
  Driver:   None (3D Support)

How can I fix this?

Thank you all and keep the good work! Smiley

« Last Edit: July 09, 2008, 21:19:32 PM by Andreas » Logged
Michiel
Administrator
Pardus Guru
*****
Posts: 799



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2008, 21:37:24 PM »

I do not know which type of laptop you own but have you tried pressing the combinations Fn and arrow up or arrow down keys simultaneously on your keyboard?

At least for my Dell Inspirion this key combination works for the brightness of my screen in both windows and linux OS....
Logged

Former Pardus user, now on OpenSUSE 12.2 (KDE)
rfpa
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 34


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2008, 21:41:10 PM »

Thank you for your quick reply. Smiley

Yes, I did but the issue here is that the system doesn't allow me to change the brightness, as you can see in the snapshot shown above.
Logged
rfpa
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 34


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2008, 20:05:44 PM »

Anyone? I would really like to stick with Pardus but if can't reduce the brightness of my laptop monitor I will have to call for a substitute. Having the brightness this way is hurting my eyes... :'(
« Last Edit: April 27, 2008, 20:18:59 PM by rfpa » Logged
Willem
M.D.
Administrator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 1020



View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 27, 2008, 20:53:33 PM »

I dunno, but am eager to know if there will be a solution for you problem. And if it exists in another distro, it can be implanted in Pardus as well.

Please file it as a bugreport at: http://bugs.pardus.org.tr
Logged

For freedom...
rfpa
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 34


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: April 27, 2008, 21:10:32 PM »

I never had a similar problem on other distros...I'm sad...I really like Pardus...
Logged
Willem
M.D.
Administrator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 1020



View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: April 27, 2008, 22:51:55 PM »

As I said, dont be said, just fill out a bugreport and your problem might me fixed in a future release, or a workaround will be offered.  Grin
Logged

For freedom...
Michiel
Administrator
Pardus Guru
*****
Posts: 799



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: April 27, 2008, 23:08:05 PM »

What happens BTW when you UNcheck the box before "bightness" in your atttached image?
Logged

Former Pardus user, now on OpenSUSE 12.2 (KDE)
rfpa
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 34


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: April 28, 2008, 00:01:40 AM »

Willem, I can manage to fill a bug report...That's turkish? Uouuu!!!

Michiel: It says the same...I tried every possibility...I will await for Pardus 2008 to see if this is fixed..
« Last Edit: April 28, 2008, 00:08:35 AM by rfpa » Logged
Willem
M.D.
Administrator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 1020



View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: April 28, 2008, 18:42:45 PM »

What you can't read, you can't do wrong. It is jut partely Turkish, most important information is in English. I would rather advise you to mention this as a bug, so you wont be disapointed when it is not fixed in Pardus 2008
Logged

For freedom...
LinuxFanatic
Pardus Master
***
Gender: Male
Posts: 177



View Profile WWW
« Reply #10 on: May 06, 2008, 00:06:44 AM »

Hi @all,

I allready sent a bug report for my HP Pavilion Notebook, with same troubles:
http://bugs.pardus.org.tr/show_bug.cgi?id=7171



Greetings
Gürkan
« Last Edit: May 06, 2008, 00:08:24 AM by LinuxFanatic » Logged


German Pardus Linux Communtiy --> www.PardusUser.de
LinuxFanatic
Pardus Master
***
Gender: Male
Posts: 177



View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: May 06, 2008, 00:22:00 AM »

Temporally I change the brightness of the notebook  display with this way:

First step 1.) (for all these commands you need root privileges)
Look with:
Code:
cat /proc/acpi/video/VGA/LCD/brightness
for the available steps for your Display.

You should get an output like this:
Code:
grki-prds grki # cat /proc/acpi/video/VGA/LCD/brightness
levels:  95 43 20 24 28 32 37 43 50 59 69 81 95
current: 0

From "current: 0" you can see the actual value for the brightness.
And from "levels:  95 ........" you can see the possible/compatible values.


Second Step 2.)
Now you should test any value with this command:
Code:
echo "n" > /proc/acpi/video/VGA/LCD/brightness

The letter n stands for the value, in example with the number 69 :
Code:
echo "69" > /proc/acpi/video/VGA/LCD/brightness



With this way you can control the brightness of HP Pavilion notebooks of dv6000 series. I think it should also work with other notebooks too Smiley



Greetings
Gürkan



________
EDIT:


This method works, but of course, it's not a permanent solution: reboot and it goes away.

Currently I'm "coding" for an elegant solution with a shell script in combination with "KlcdDimmer". (-> it is a KDE kicker applet, you can install "KlcdDimmer" with the package manager)  Roll Eyes  Wink

« Last Edit: May 06, 2008, 01:47:44 AM by LinuxFanatic » Logged


German Pardus Linux Communtiy --> www.PardusUser.de
rfpa
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 34


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: May 09, 2008, 12:52:00 PM »

Thanks very much LinuxFanatic. Smiley
Logged
CaptainCookie
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 93


View Profile WWW
« Reply #13 on: July 09, 2008, 20:25:05 PM »

For me, this has been fixed since the 2008 release Smiley
Logged

LinuxFanatic
Pardus Master
***
Gender: Male
Posts: 177



View Profile WWW
« Reply #14 on: July 10, 2008, 23:45:33 PM »

For me, this has been fixed since the 2008 release Smiley

Yeah - I can confirm that too. Pardus 2008 supports whole hardware of our HP Pavilion dv6010ea and HP Pavilion dv6650eg laptops. All working well  Smiley
Logged


German Pardus Linux Communtiy --> www.PardusUser.de
Pages: [1] 2 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!