Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 19, 2014, 03:57:46 AM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Configuring Pardus
| | |-+  [solved]DBus not starting
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: [solved]DBus not starting  (Read 2515 times)
azra
Guest
« on: June 27, 2008, 23:31:48 PM »

I have installed Pardus 2008, I wish I had waited until all is working ok.  Embarrassed
No kooldock, no taskbar2, not a lot of things work.... Not very happy for installing it so quickly. I could have done with keeping 2007.
Anyway, my biggest problem is the fact that I have correctly kept my user account, but Pisi is not starting on login. Apparently, DBus is not connecting.
When I installed, I created a new account also with privileges and I can reach Pisi this way, but not through my usual account.
What would be the solutions?
« Last Edit: July 02, 2008, 12:28:23 PM by Andreas » Logged
PhiX
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 642



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2008, 09:26:05 AM »

It looks like the bug I reported in RC2, does it ?

http://bugs.pardus.org.tr/show_bug.cgi?id=7541
Logged

Team Pardus-fr - French Pardus tools translator
miltonjohn2
Guest
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2008, 11:30:59 AM »

i got it too, the dbus problem but i cant get internet-working by console.... ;(
Logged
azra
Guest
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2008, 16:02:15 PM »

the way I got around this was to reinstall and create a fresh new user, but not the best...
Logged
miltonjohn2
Guest
« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2008, 16:55:06 PM »

thank you i will try that way too   :'(
Logged
azra
Guest
« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2008, 18:00:29 PM »

make sure you give the new user admin rights
Logged
PhiX
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 642



View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2008, 21:42:36 PM »

There is a workaround :

  • Open a terminal (Alt-F2 konsole)
  • type
Code:
cp /etc/skel/.bashrc .
  • Type
Code:
y
  • Press the Enter key
  • Reboot your computer
Logged

Team Pardus-fr - French Pardus tools translator
highenergy
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 134


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: June 28, 2008, 21:53:17 PM »

I got the same error. But I solved it in a different way. When I install 2008 on my machine keeping home directory intact couses Dbus problem. Then I decided to create a fresh home directory and selected to format it during installation. That has solved my problem. So the bug is related not to good handling of home directory and the config files within it. you better hormat home directory also.
Logged

Acer Aspire 5520G-402G16, AMD Turion 64 x2 TL-58 1.9GHz, Nvidia Geforce 8400M G 128MB
Michiel
Administrator
Pardus Guru
*****
Posts: 799



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: June 28, 2008, 22:02:42 PM »

I had exactly the same and installed 2008 on 2nd occasion also by choosing to format the (assigned as) home-partition as well, just like posted in the previous messages above.
Logged

Former Pardus user, now on OpenSUSE 12.2 (KDE)
PhiX
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 642



View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: June 28, 2008, 22:06:27 PM »

Of course, formatting /home doesn't keep your old .bashrc file, but you don't need to format your /home partition at all, you just have to change your .basrc file as I indicated.
Logged

Team Pardus-fr - French Pardus tools translator
azra
Guest
« Reply #10 on: June 30, 2008, 20:11:51 PM »

PhiX
Merci, t'es excellent!
Logged
atolboo
Guest
« Reply #11 on: July 02, 2008, 12:25:04 PM »

Thank Phix  Smiley
I put it in http://en.pardus-wiki.org/Pardus:Upgrading/2007-2008
And "Onur" added "rm -rf .dbus-session"
I do not know if that is essential.
« Last Edit: July 02, 2008, 12:27:26 PM by Andreas » Logged
Eren.Turkay
Global Moderator
Pardus Master
*****
Posts: 262



View Profile WWW
« Reply #12 on: July 02, 2008, 12:40:14 PM »

Yes it's necessary. On 2008, the default bashrc is different from that of 2007, so it should be deleted so that dbus can be started correctly.
Logged
atolboo
Guest
« Reply #13 on: July 02, 2008, 12:44:39 PM »

Thanks for the explanation.  Smiley
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!