Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 17, 2014, 02:51:53 AM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Hardware
| | |-+  [solved]Pardus 2008 sound-problem
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 3 Go Down Print
Author Topic: [solved]Pardus 2008 sound-problem  (Read 7462 times)
highenergy
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 134


View Profile
« on: June 28, 2008, 20:52:40 PM »

I think it is a bug. Sound doesn't work on my system. It was working well on 2007.3

lspci:
Code:
/usr/sbin/lspci
00:00.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP67 Memory Controller (rev a2)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP67 ISA Bridge (rev a2)
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP67 SMBus (rev a2)
00:01.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP67 Memory Controller (rev a2)
00:01.3 Co-processor: nVidia Corporation MCP67 Co-processor (rev a2)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP67 OHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev a2)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP67 EHCI USB 2.0 Controller (rev a2)
00:04.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP67 OHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev a2)
00:04.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP67 EHCI USB 2.0 Controller (rev a2)
00:06.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP67 IDE Controller (rev a1)
00:07.0 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP67 High Definition Audio (rev a1)
00:08.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP67 PCI Bridge (rev a2)
00:09.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP67 AHCI Controller (rev a2)
00:0a.0 Ethernet controller: nVidia Corporation MCP67 Ethernet (rev a2)
00:0b.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP67 PCI Express Bridge (rev a2)
00:0c.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP67 PCI Express Bridge (rev a2)
00:0d.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP67 PCI Express Bridge (rev a2)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:04.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Ricoh Co Ltd R5C832 IEEE 1394 Controller (rev 05)
01:04.1 SD Host controller: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C822 SD/SDIO/MMC/MS/MSPro Host Adapter (rev 22)
01:04.2 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C592 Memory Stick Bus Host Adapter (rev 12)
01:04.3 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd xD-Picture Card Controller (rev 12)
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation GeForce 8400M G (rev a1)
05:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR242x 802.11abg Wireless PCI Express Adapter (rev 01)
« Last Edit: July 27, 2008, 15:03:18 PM by Andreas » Logged

Acer Aspire 5520G-402G16, AMD Turion 64 x2 TL-58 1.9GHz, Nvidia Geforce 8400M G 128MB
Andreas
Guest
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2008, 20:56:30 PM »

I think it is a bug. Sound doesn't work on my system. It was working well on 2007.3


You can try it with alsaconf in Terminal as root.

If you think it is a Bug so please write a Bug to http://bugs.pardus.org.tr/

Greetings
Andreas
« Last Edit: July 06, 2008, 18:22:10 PM by Andreas » Logged
PhiX
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 642



View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2008, 22:28:00 PM »

Have you done a fresh install of Pardus 2008 or updated from RC2 ?
« Last Edit: July 06, 2008, 18:22:20 PM by Andreas » Logged

Team Pardus-fr - French Pardus tools translator
highenergy
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 134


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2008, 22:35:45 PM »

Have you done a fresh install of Pardus 2008 or updated from RC2 ?

it's as fresh as a fish
« Last Edit: July 06, 2008, 18:22:31 PM by Andreas » Logged

Acer Aspire 5520G-402G16, AMD Turion 64 x2 TL-58 1.9GHz, Nvidia Geforce 8400M G 128MB
furrito
Guest
« Reply #4 on: June 29, 2008, 01:50:24 AM »

I have the same issue, using Acer Aspire 5520 nvidia 7000M.  Everything is great, but no sound. I've had no problems with ALSA version 1.0.16 (stable) in the past, Pardus 2008 uses 1.0.17rc2, which is newer.

http://www.alsa-project.org/main/index.php/Main_Page

I might try the older version and see if that helps.  Other than the lack of sound, I think this is an excellent Linux distro!

« Last Edit: July 06, 2008, 18:22:40 PM by Andreas » Logged
LinuxFanatic
Pardus Master
***
Gender: Male
Posts: 177



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: June 30, 2008, 02:14:28 AM »

Hi, I've the same troubles too. Command "alsaconf" doesn't exists. Everything works well on Pardus 2008 (it's the final of 2008 - not any Beta or RC) but no sound Huh?

Are there any ideas, how I/we can get our sound cards working ? (it worked on on PRDS 2007.3 and other Distros as well, but not on PRDS 2008)

All alsa packages like alsa-driver, alsa-firmware, alsa-lib, alsa-plugins, alsa-tools and alsa-utils are installed - but command alsaconf is missing. This is very strange (!)



EDIT:
Sound works only with OSS (Open Sound System) drivers - but OSS ist not as good as ALSA. Man can't use OSS on production system, quality of OSS sound drivers are very bad  Embarrassed. But I must use OSS until we solved this issue ....
« Last Edit: July 06, 2008, 18:22:51 PM by Andreas » Logged


German Pardus Linux Communtiy --> www.PardusUser.de
william5
Newbie
*
Posts: 28


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: June 30, 2008, 02:14:55 AM »

Hi,

I installed Pardus 2008 on a Medion MD96340 laptop. It is my first experience with Pardus. So far, I am impressed, but there is a problem with the sound. My card is an nVidia MCP51 High Def. Audio. It is correctly shown in lspci, but there is no sound in any multimedia program. I have recently tried more than 10 other Lunix distros on this laptop (I am not exaggerating!) and none of them had a problem with this card, so it cannot be a very unusual one. I cannot imagine that Pardus does not have the driver for it.

Any suggestions?

Thanks - william5   
Logged
Andreas
Guest
« Reply #7 on: June 30, 2008, 06:16:05 AM »

Hello,

before new posts please look here

Here is the same problem.

Greetings
Andreas
« Last Edit: July 06, 2008, 19:13:02 PM by Andreas » Logged
Andreas
Guest
« Reply #8 on: June 30, 2008, 06:32:50 AM »

Hello,

then I would recommend to notify the Bug-Team over this.  Wink

http://bugs.pardus.org.tr/

Greetings
Andreas
« Last Edit: July 06, 2008, 18:23:16 PM by Andreas » Logged
Andreas
Guest
« Reply #9 on: June 30, 2008, 07:09:34 AM »

Hello,

I wrote to the Bug-Team.  Wink

Bug

Greetings
Andreas
« Last Edit: July 06, 2008, 18:23:25 PM by Andreas » Logged
LinuxFanatic
Pardus Master
***
Gender: Male
Posts: 177



View Profile WWW
« Reply #10 on: June 30, 2008, 08:21:25 AM »

Hi alltogether,

@Andreas
Thanks for the bug-report - but I'm using Pardus 2008 final, not RC (see attachment).


Yesterday I detect that Pardus 2008 uses ALSA 1.7 RC2 Shocked
RC's (=Release Candidates) are not for production systems and Pardus 2008 Final - I think should be for production using ...  - or maybe is it still "Pardus 2008 RC 3" ?  Huh?

I hope the Pardus 2008 developers will publish updates and bug-fixes for ALSA soon !!!


* screenshot.JPG (90.97 KB, 792x856 - viewed 55 times.)
« Last Edit: July 06, 2008, 18:23:34 PM by Andreas » Logged


German Pardus Linux Communtiy --> www.PardusUser.de
LinuxFanatic
Pardus Master
***
Gender: Male
Posts: 177



View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: June 30, 2008, 09:34:33 AM »

Hi, i sent a bug-report too:
http://bugs.pardus.org.tr/show_bug.cgi?id=7623

Hope that two bug-reports will help to solve this issue as soon as possible.
« Last Edit: July 06, 2008, 18:23:44 PM by Andreas » Logged


German Pardus Linux Communtiy --> www.PardusUser.de
Andreas
Guest
« Reply #12 on: June 30, 2008, 09:49:07 AM »



@Andreas
Thanks for the bug-report - but I'm using Pardus 2008 final, not RC (see attachment).


I wrote the Bug for Pardus 2008 Final and not RC2 and your Bug is a duplicate of my Bug.  Wink

Greetings
Andreas


* Bug.png (43.6 KB, 1006x594 - viewed 63 times.)
« Last Edit: July 06, 2008, 18:23:56 PM by Andreas » Logged
william5
Newbie
*
Posts: 28


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: June 30, 2008, 18:48:02 PM »

Before new posts please look here

Here is the same problem.

Greetings
Andreas

Andreas,

I did that but did not see much that could help me. All I read in the thread is that it seems to be a bug. I wonder if this problem affects all sound cards or only some?

william5
« Last Edit: July 06, 2008, 19:13:38 PM by Andreas » Logged
Andreas
Guest
« Reply #14 on: June 30, 2008, 18:56:38 PM »


I wonder if this problem affects all sound cards or only some?


Hello William5,

I think, that is a general problem an therefore I wrote a Bug.  Wink

Greetings
Andreas
« Last Edit: July 06, 2008, 19:11:04 PM by Andreas » Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!