Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 19, 2014, 03:52:44 AM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Pardus Project
| | |-+  eeePardus
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Go Down Print
Author Topic: eeePardus  (Read 6739 times)
Willem
M.D.
Administrator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 1020



View Profile WWW
« on: July 23, 2008, 21:30:55 PM »

Am I the only one who is longing for Pardus on my eee?
I do not want to install it over the default installation, but would rather install it on a bootable SD card the way Breeezy does...
In this months Linux Format there was an article on installing Breeezy, and the way it looks, you just install an eee optimized image on an SD card.
Why not do this with Pardus, I know this would get Pardus lots of attention!

I included some of the article as example...


* eee page 1.jpg (118.6 KB, 638x877 - viewed 233 times.)

* eee page 2.jpg (114.62 KB, 638x877 - viewed 219 times.)

* eee page 3.jpg (114.73 KB, 638x877 - viewed 207 times.)
Logged

For freedom...
tuxedup
Pardus Developer
Pardus fellow craft
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 65



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2008, 14:01:57 PM »

On my Eee,I just used the simple method.  I bought an 8GB SD card and installed to the SD card leaving the internal storage intact.

I know it is not the most ideal method for the Eee, but it works.
Logged

azra
Guest
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2008, 14:24:35 PM »

What is the screen resolution for the eee and how do you make it fit Pardus?
is it just a quesiton of running Kaptan or do you have to tweak the xorg.conf?
Logged
Willem
M.D.
Administrator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 1020



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2008, 20:43:29 PM »

On my Eee,I just used the simple method.  I bought an 8GB SD card and installed to the SD card leaving the internal storage intact.

I know it is not the most ideal method for the Eee, but it works.

Could you make a backup of your sd card as zip? since we use the same hardware and all, I would like to have it so I can just unzip it on my SD card and enjoy! (read the article)
Logged

For freedom...
tuxedup
Pardus Developer
Pardus fellow craft
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 65



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 26, 2008, 03:25:34 AM »

What is the screen resolution for the eee and how do you make it fit Pardus?
is it just a quesiton of running Kaptan or do you have to tweak the xorg.conf?

The installation is a problem in 2008.  The installer is not designed for such small screens.  The problem is that the buttons along the bottom are not visable, so to navigate it takes a little patiance and trial.  I usualy press Tab a few times until I work out where the'next' button is.

After install the resolution is fine.  Pardus uses the correct resolution, no changes need to be made to xorg.conf.  It works fine out of the box.

A word of warning though.  If you intend for Pardus to be usable, do not install to the 4GB internal drive as it is useless, once you update the repositories it uses all space and kde will not even start.  I bought an 8GB SDHC card from Ebay for about £17.99.

Willem I will try to make a backup for you.  It will be big though as I have installed gcc etc.
Logged

Willem
M.D.
Administrator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 1020



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: July 26, 2008, 09:33:34 AM »

Maybe I should buy an external CD drive...
I want a blank fresh Pardus install image so I can put in on the site for people to download, just as they did with Breezy.
By the way do the FN bottons work (volume etc)?
Logged

For freedom...
tuxedup
Pardus Developer
Pardus fellow craft
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 65



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: July 26, 2008, 12:35:07 PM »

Maybe I should buy an external CD drive...
I want a blank fresh Pardus install image so I can put in on the site for people to download, just as they did with Breezy.
By the way do the FN bottons work (volume etc)?

Kind of.  The brightness keys work correctly.  As does the sleep button.  The voe  do not work, nor does the wireless key (although it worked in 2007 strange).  For the rest of the fn keys to work the custom Asus Eee acpi module must be compiled (it is not in the repos).  I am lazy and cannot be bothered, so I just mapped volume to ctrl+alt+down/up.

I bought my External cdrom drive from Ebay.  I pai £14.00, it is just a straight cdrom drive, not a dvdrom.
Logged

azra
Guest
« Reply #7 on: July 26, 2008, 16:01:05 PM »

great, thanks for that.
I am actually thinking of installing Paruds on and Aspire One, that is going to be something... But as long as the screen resolution works out ok, I will keep my fingers crossed.
Logged
Willem
M.D.
Administrator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 1020



View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: July 26, 2008, 16:31:50 PM »

How did you do it with Grub? Does grub give errors when you switch sd card?
Logged

For freedom...
tuxedup
Pardus Developer
Pardus fellow craft
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 65



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: July 27, 2008, 01:56:30 AM »

How did you d otuxedup it with Grub? Does grub give errors when you switch sd card?

I am not  entireley sure what you mean, sorry.  My exact setup is as follows,

Pardus installed to 8GB SD card using cdrom drive.
Pardus installed grub to SD card.
Built in SD I have reformated to ext3.  I use this as an extra /home/ space

You could keep xandros installed to to internal drive if you chose to and keep grub there.  But also have grub installed to Pardus SD card.  At boot press Esc and you are presented with a boot list.  If you want xandros let the machine boot normally.  If you want Pardus press Esc and select the SD card to boot.

In regards to grub I have no problems as I install grub to Pardus SD card.

Basically as long as you install grub to Pardus SD card you have absolutely no problems.

 m machine runs fine.  I am posting this from my eee right now.


* snapshot1.png (152.03 KB, 800x480 - viewed 273 times.)
Logged

Willem
M.D.
Administrator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 1020



View Profile WWW
« Reply #10 on: July 27, 2008, 14:32:12 PM »

Ok after this screenshot I had to buy an external CD romdrive. Can you upload the wallpaper you use? It looks great!!
Logged

For freedom...
Bahri16
Global Moderator
Pardus Master
*****
Posts: 208



View Profile
« Reply #11 on: July 27, 2008, 17:39:36 PM »

hi willem,

i had a expierience with a  installation on external usb drive.

i installed pardus 7.3 on external usb harddisk drive from a PC - and it runs   on a  laptop without errors. with padus 2008 it did not funktion.

if the eee is able to boot external usb drives maybe this can be a solution for you.
« Last Edit: July 27, 2008, 20:24:12 PM by Bahri16 » Logged

The world is not digital - the world is an analog swoosh
tuxedup
Pardus Developer
Pardus fellow craft
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 65



View Profile
« Reply #12 on: July 28, 2008, 10:46:03 AM »

Ok after this screenshot I had to buy an external CD romdrive. Can you upload the wallpaper you use? It looks great!!

it can be found here;

http://kde-look.org/content/show.php/Pardus+Linux+Stripe?content=85790

It is not identical though.  The archive includes the gimp fle, so you can edit to look the same.  For my eee I removed the bar accross the centre and added the Pardus text.  You may need to resize it.  If you cannot be bothered then I can upload the eee sized wallpaper Tongue

Michae.
Logged

Willem
M.D.
Administrator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 1020



View Profile WWW
« Reply #13 on: July 28, 2008, 11:08:43 AM »

I posted this bugreport:
http://bugs.pardus.org.tr/show_bug.cgi?id=7887
Logged

For freedom...
tuxedup
Pardus Developer
Pardus fellow craft
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 65



View Profile
« Reply #14 on: July 28, 2008, 11:27:27 AM »


to fix the grub issue;

 edit /boot/grub/menu.lst and change all vga=791 to vga=785
Logged

Pages: [1] 2 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!