Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 16, 2014, 18:05:16 PM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Configuring Pardus
| | |-+  3 screens with 2 videocards
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: 3 screens with 2 videocards  (Read 1015 times)
brononi
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


View Profile
« on: August 07, 2008, 09:27:53 AM »

Hey,

When i was using Windows, i used 3 screens, and of course, under Pardus i would like to have the same. Wink

The 2 videocards i'm using are:
- Dualhead Video Radeon 9200 (AGP) -> Screen 1 + Screen 2
- GF MX4000 (PCI) -> Screen 3

What's happening?
The pc is booting on screen 3 (the PCI card).
To log in, the pc swaps to Screen 1 and Screen 2. It took a while, but now it's working in dual screen, before it was an exact copy.

But i can't get screen 3 to join into.
Any idea?

This is my xorg.conf:
Code:
Section "Device"
    Identifier  "VideoCard"
    Driver  "radeon"
    VendorName  "ATI Technologies Inc"
    BoardName   "RV280 [Radeon 9200]"
    BusId   "PCI:1:0:0"
    Option  "Monitor-DVI-0" "Monitor[DVI-0]"
    Option  "Monitor-VGA-0" "Monitor[VGA-0]"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier      "VideoCard2"
    Driver          "nvidia"
    VendorName      "nVidia Corporation"
    BoardName       "NV18 [GeForce4 MX 4000]"
    BusId           "PCI:0:11:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "Screen1"
    Device  "VideoCard"
    Monitor "Monitor[VGA-0]"
    DefaultDepth    24
    SubSection "Display"
        Depth   24
        Virtual 2560 1024
        Modes   "1280x1024" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "Screen2"
    Device  "VideoCard"
    Monitor "Monitor[DVI-0]"
    DefaultDepth    24
    SubSection "Display"
        Depth   24
        Virtual 2560 1024
        Modes   "1280x1024" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "Screen3"
    Device  "VideoCard2"
    Monitor "Monitor3"
    DefaultDepth    24
    SubSection "Display"
        Depth   24
        Virtual 2560 1024
        Modes   "1280x1024" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier  "Layout"
    Screen  "Screen1"
    Screen  "Screen2"
    Screen  "Screen3"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier  "Monitor[VGA-0]"
    VendorName  "Dell"
    ModelName   "DELL E207WFP"
    HorizSync   30.0-83.0
    VertRefresh 56.0-75.0
    Option  "PreferredMode" "1280x1024"
    Option  "Enable" "true"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier  "Monitor[DVI-0]"
    VendorName  "Dell"
    ModelName   "DELL E207WFP"
    HorizSync   30.0-83.0
    VertRefresh 56.0-75.0
    Option  "PreferredMode" "1280x1024"
    Option  "Enable" "true"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier  "Monitor3"
    VendorName  "Dell"
    ModelName   "DELL E207WFP"
    HorizSync   30.0-83.0
    VertRefresh 56.0-75.0
    Option  "PreferredMode" "1280x1024"
    Option  "Enable" "true"
EndSection
Logged
PhiX
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 642



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2008, 09:58:56 AM »

Have you tried the display manager (in Tasma > System) ?
Logged

Team Pardus-fr - French Pardus tools translator
brononi
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2008, 10:16:31 AM »

Yes,

But in there, i can't see the second card. Only the Dualhead card...
If i remove the Dualhead card (on hardware level), the third screen works perfect.
It seems that the 2 cards won't work together.
Logged
CaptainCookie
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 93


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2008, 15:52:02 PM »

Since when do an ATI and an NVidia card work together?
Logged

brononi
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2008, 18:20:29 PM »

Since when do an ATI and an NVidia card work together?

How do you mean?
In windows (sorry) this works without any prob. So i can't understand why it should work under linux.  Huh?
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!