Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 18, 2014, 20:24:07 PM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Configuring Pardus
| | |-+  [solved] problem with GeForce 8500GT
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: [solved] problem with GeForce 8500GT  (Read 1702 times)
paul.roberts20
Newbie
*
Posts: 28


View Profile
« on: September 16, 2008, 01:09:26 AM »

Just found out about Pardus, and I have to say, I love it!

The installer was great, found my wireless card straight away (I have a broadcom 4318)
and detected my graphics card.  Grin

The only problem is, when I install the nvidia new driver and reboot, after the bootsplash,
my display is all messed up, the colours are all wrong and X doesn't load properly

I tried using the nv driver, but that didn't work either, does anyone know what I can do?
I've downloaded the driver from the nvidia website, but I have no idea how to install it..
« Last Edit: September 23, 2008, 13:07:05 PM by paul.roberts20 » Logged
PhiX
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 642



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2008, 01:15:31 AM »

Hello,

The first thing to try to configure your videocard is : Tasma > System > Display manager
Logged

Team Pardus-fr - French Pardus tools translator
Bandito
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 50


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2008, 07:25:11 AM »

I've downloaded the driver from the nvidia website, but I have no idea how to install it..

This might help click

p.s. In versions newer than 2007.3 changing to root is done by using the su- commnad.
Logged
Andreas
Guest
« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2008, 08:27:59 AM »


I've downloaded the driver from the nvidia website, but I have no idea how to install it..

Hello,

you must not do it, because the pisi-packages of nvidia-drivers-new works perfect. Wink

Configure the card by Display-Manager, how "PhiX" wrote it.

Greetings
Andreas
« Last Edit: September 16, 2008, 08:29:33 AM by Andreas » Logged
paul.roberts20
Newbie
*
Posts: 28


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2008, 09:51:07 AM »

Thanks for all the help  Smiley

Using the display manager, I managed to get my screen set to 1024x768, using the VESA driver,
but every time I try the nvidia-new driver, I keep getting the same problem.
Logged
Andreas
Guest
« Reply #5 on: September 16, 2008, 10:26:10 AM »

Using the display manager, I managed to get my screen set to 1024x768, using the VESA driver,
but every time I try the nvidia-new driver, I keep getting the same problem.

Hello,

I wrote a Bug  Wink

Greetings
Andreas
Logged
paul.roberts20
Newbie
*
Posts: 28


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: September 16, 2008, 10:46:41 AM »

Thanks
Logged
Andreas
Guest
« Reply #7 on: September 16, 2008, 10:48:48 AM »

Thanks

No problem and perhaps you find the solution in this Thread  Wink

Greetings
Andreas
Logged
paul.roberts20
Newbie
*
Posts: 28


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: September 18, 2008, 17:03:40 PM »

Still having problems..
Can get the res I want (1024x768) using the VESA driver, but the nvidia (new) driver still won't work for me.
I've ordered a GeForce 7300 (GT, I think) so I hope that will work better
Logged
atolboo
Guest
« Reply #9 on: September 18, 2008, 22:04:22 PM »

Still having problems..
What happens when you use the nv driver?
Logged
paul.roberts20
Newbie
*
Posts: 28


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: September 19, 2008, 00:25:08 AM »

When I try using the nv driver, everything is in black and white rectangles..
Logged
lashni
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 53


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: September 22, 2008, 05:09:36 AM »

I'm using a GeForce 8500GT as well, haven't experienced any display problems like you describe.

If you can, post your /etc/X11/xorg.conf and /var/log/Xorg.0.log (after trying to start x with the nvidia driver) via pastebin.com. I'll see if I can duplicate the problem at all.
Logged
paul.roberts20
Newbie
*
Posts: 28


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: September 23, 2008, 10:54:13 AM »

Thanks for you help.

I have no idea why, but when I set the nvidia driver and rebooted, it was fine.
I even got compiz to half work.

No idea what I did different, so i'm stumped..
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!