Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 20, 2014, 20:32:22 PM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Laptop
| | |-+  [ABANDONED] Aspire One - Battery not recognised
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: 1 2 [3] Go Down Print
Author Topic: [ABANDONED] Aspire One - Battery not recognised  (Read 10712 times)
azra
Pardus Master
***
Gender: Male
Posts: 189



View Profile
« Reply #30 on: October 27, 2008, 19:00:59 PM »

I don't  Sad
I guess there would be no great performance difference, but it would be nice to know when your battery time runs out and to have the AA1 shut down properly: see my screenshots above, it all seems to be linked to acpi not working on the AA1-Pardus combo.
« Last Edit: October 27, 2008, 23:36:08 PM by azra » Logged
Mhmrcs
Global Moderator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 346



View Profile
« Reply #31 on: October 27, 2008, 19:28:11 PM »

I hope it gets fixed in 2008.2, have you filed a bug report?
Logged

azra
Pardus Master
***
Gender: Male
Posts: 189



View Profile
« Reply #32 on: October 27, 2008, 23:18:32 PM »

I hope it gets fixed in 2008.2, have you filed a bug report?

There is already a bug filed, but in Turkish, so not sure if exactly the same....

http://bugs.pardus.org.tr/show_bug.cgi?id=8343

Looks like it though.
Logged
Mhmrcs
Global Moderator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 346



View Profile
« Reply #33 on: October 27, 2008, 23:28:05 PM »

I think you're write Azra, only thing to do now is wait for it to be worked through by the developers...
Logged

Sertse
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 32


View Profile
« Reply #34 on: December 17, 2008, 15:39:04 PM »

I've been looking through the bug reports again, I noticed the the page linked to earlier now says "fixed".

Can you confirm azra?

http://bugs.pardus.org.tr/show_bug.cgi?id=8343

When I asked about it on IRC...

<patacute> Sertse it has been solved
<kobzeci> sertse it is about the kernel panic
<havan> Sertse: yes, last comment says that it works if he deletes the "quiet" parameter at boot time (in grub)


My rough understanding of the bug report was that he encountered a kernel panic problem when booting Pardus, which was solved by having a no acpi parameter. But this gives creates the Battery monitor error.

One of the comment said that if the quiet parameter is removed, it would be ok. Just removing the quiet parameter I think.

I posted in the bug report for a clarification. Hope the respond Smiley

Also from Pardus mailing list:

"[Pardus-devel] 2008-test ACK/NACK - Update Details"

= Package : alsa-driver  [Ozan Çağlayan <ozan_at_pardus.org.tr>]
======================================================================
* Ver.: 1.0.18a_20081203, Rel.: 38, Type: None
* Ozan Çağlayan <ozan_at_pardus.org.tr> [2008-12-03]

   Version bump to latest nightly snapshot which fixes some Dell laptop
regressions.

* Ver.: 1.0.18a, Rel.: 37, Type: None
* Ozan Çağlayan <ozan_at_pardus.org.tr> [2008-11-12]

   - Version bump to the latest stable 1.0.18,
   - Fixes eeepcs shutdown problem (Fixes #7989),
   - Fixes distortioned sound problem of Compaq Presario, (Fixes #8306).

Bug 7989 is http://bugs.pardus.org.tr/show_bug.cgi?id=7989 , it is about a sound problem, making the eeepc not shutdown completely. Ask Williem or tuxedup Wink , they were discussing it in http://worldforum.pardus-linux.nl/index.php?topic=1986.msg8934#msg8934

This sounds similar to yours with the AAO...don't know if is the same bug? However the eeepc shutdown fix is now in the test repo...
« Last Edit: December 17, 2008, 16:51:49 PM by Sertse » Logged
azra
Pardus Master
***
Gender: Male
Posts: 189



View Profile
« Reply #35 on: December 17, 2008, 20:17:30 PM »

Hey Sertse

Thank you for the follow up, but unfortunately deleting quiet makes no difference..... Unless the acpi needs to be changed to on?
Logged
Sertse
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 32


View Profile
« Reply #36 on: December 18, 2008, 23:46:50 PM »

See Onur's latest reply, explaining it in English

Quote
  ------- Comment  #7 From Onur Küçük  2008-12-17 21:06:32  [reply] -------

It is said that only removing the quiet parameter is necessary, as it fixes the
kernel bork, and that there is no need to do "noacpi" for Pardus.


Acpi being off is why the battery isn't being recognised. Removing quiet fixes the kernel panic problem, that you saw when acpi is on. So now you can turn on acpi, and then can see the battery, hopefully. 
« Last Edit: December 18, 2008, 23:48:28 PM by Sertse » Logged
azra
Pardus Master
***
Gender: Male
Posts: 189



View Profile
« Reply #37 on: December 19, 2008, 00:54:28 AM »

Sertse

You're a star!  Grin That works!

So the correct grub should have quiet deleted and acpi=on. Now the battery status is recognised and the AAO shuts down! Thank you ever so much!

Yipee!
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!