Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 21, 2014, 04:48:10 AM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Pardus for beginners
| | |-+  (Solved) how do i cd to location in konsole
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: (Solved) how do i cd to location in konsole  (Read 1614 times)
Northernfrog
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 38



View Profile
« on: October 26, 2008, 23:20:31 PM »

Hi all , i'm trying to install virtualbox and in konsole how do i cd to location of app to install . Please Help ...............Northernfrog
« Last Edit: December 02, 2008, 00:31:26 AM by Northernfrog » Logged
Mhmrcs
Global Moderator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 346



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2008, 23:44:03 PM »

http://en.pardus-wiki.org/HOWTO:VirtualBox

I hope this helps, it would appear Virtual Box has a GUI, i.e. you don't need konsole.
Logged

Northernfrog
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 38



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2008, 00:01:13 AM »

I'm following the instructions on How tO iNSTALL vERTUALbOX but after i download it , i need to use konsole to install . It tells me to CD to location to enter command . Problem is i can't seem to cd in konsole to location of where i have app . Still needing help . Unless there is another method to install . All i need is to cd to a location in konsole . When in konsole i enter the command " cd /home
" but tells me no such directory "  What am i doing wrong
Logged
Mhmrcs
Global Moderator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 346



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2008, 00:11:12 AM »

"cd /home" seems right to me, try putting it on the Desktop, and try "cd Desktop", (then if you put it inside a folder in the Desktop "cd [foldername]").
Logged

Northernfrog
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 38



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 27, 2008, 00:29:38 AM »

Thank You , I'll try and get back .
Logged
rusev_ivo
Guest
« Reply #5 on: October 27, 2008, 01:03:12 AM »

Browse to the directory where you have downloaded the file and choose "Open terminal" from the "Tools" menu of Konqueror(or just press F4). The console will open and automatically go into the directory.
 
« Last Edit: October 27, 2008, 01:06:02 AM by rusev_ivo » Logged
PhiX
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 642



View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: October 27, 2008, 03:17:18 AM »

Here is a few commands to browse your files in a terminal (konsole) :

Code:
pwd
prints working directory, thus show where you are.

Code:
ls
lists files and directory of the working directory. Directory names are written in blue.

Code:
cd
changes the working directory. For example, if you open a konsole and  type cd Desktop, then press the ENTER key, you have changed the working directory from your home to your desktop.

Code:
man name_of_a_command
Show the manual page of the command.

Additionnal tip :
Press the TAB key to auto-complete a name of an existing directory or file. For example, cd De <TAB press> automatically writes cd Desktop.
« Last Edit: October 27, 2008, 03:25:30 AM by PhiX » Logged

Team Pardus-fr - French Pardus tools translator
Northernfrog
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 38



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: October 27, 2008, 03:32:20 AM »

I finally got cd to Desktop . Thanks all .  Still can't cd to anywhere else , but will try all suggested . Again THANKS  ......Northernfrog
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: October 27, 2008, 09:42:51 AM »

Browse to the directory where you have downloaded the file and choose "Open terminal" from the "Tools" menu of Konqueror(or just press F4). The console will open and automatically go into the directory.
With the addition:
Enter in the terminal the command
Quote
su
and give the administrator password.
An then enter the command
Quote
sh VirtualBox-1.6.4-Linux_x86.run

......... When in konsole i enter the command " cd /home " but tells me no such directory "  What am i doing wrong
My cd /home output:
Quote
Wachtwoord:
asrock-pardus ~ # cd /home
asrock-pardus home # ls
atolboo  duits  engels  kmouth  lost+found  plaatje  samba
asrock-pardus home #
« Last Edit: October 27, 2008, 09:49:18 AM by atolboo » Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!