Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 18, 2014, 05:13:06 AM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Pardus for beginners
| | |-+  bug in tasma? samba users lost!
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: bug in tasma? samba users lost!  (Read 1303 times)
frisil
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 75


Linux rules!


View Profile
« on: October 26, 2008, 02:35:36 AM »

I'm still trying to configure samba. When I use the samba module in Tasma (as root), I can add samba users and assign passwords. However, if I exit the module and load it again, these settings seem to be lost and the users list is empty again. Does anyone know what this is about? 
Logged

The most merciful thing in the world is the inability of the human mind to correlate all its contents. (Lovecraft)
lashni
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 53


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2008, 05:03:25 AM »

I don't know what the cause is but I can duplicate the problem you describe. Might be worthwhile filing a bug report.
Logged
frisil
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 75


Linux rules!


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2008, 10:54:46 AM »

I wrote a bug report here:

http://bugs.pardus.org.tr/show_bug.cgi?id=8506
Logged

The most merciful thing in the world is the inability of the human mind to correlate all its contents. (Lovecraft)
Michiel
Administrator
Pardus Guru
*****
Posts: 799



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2008, 20:22:30 PM »

I encounter another Samba bug.

On my Pardus PC Samba works fine (for already a long time), on my new Pardus install on my laptop however I get error messages when I want to set workgroup, NetBIOS name and server string, those bars are all greyed out, also when (of course) entering administrator modus.

In both modi a pop-up when moving the pointer over this bars says that "option workgroup (NetBIOS, server string respectively) is not supported in this version of Samba"  Huh? Huh?
Logged

Former Pardus user, now on OpenSUSE 12.2 (KDE)
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 29, 2008, 22:30:55 PM »

Samba seems to be working. Smiley
I can make contact and read/write with the remote side with:
Quote
smb:// IP.address.of.the.remote.site
Try it.
I guess that the problem is in Tasma > Internet & Network > Samba
I think the communication between Samba and /etc/samba/smb.conf is the problem.  Angry
Logged
MitraMai
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 89


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: November 29, 2008, 23:28:25 PM »

I can confirm the bug that Michiel mentioned. I have the same problem on a fresh install of PArdus 2008.1
Is there a around it?
Logged

HP nc4010, which I love dearly...
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: November 30, 2008, 10:07:30 AM »

The problem is in Samba.
After downgrading to samba-3.0.31-35-4.pisi the problem is gone.  Grin
It is time for a bug report.
The protocol to transfer files is still working.
Only the part to change settings has a problem.
« Last Edit: November 30, 2008, 10:30:24 AM by atolboo » Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: November 30, 2008, 13:48:28 PM »

It is time for a bug report.
Look here.
And I made a modification to the wiki.

Edit: Also look here and here.
« Last Edit: November 30, 2008, 14:45:49 PM by atolboo » Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!