Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 23, 2014, 16:45:08 PM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Laptop
| | |-+  How to activate Eject CD button on MacbookPro
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Go Down Print
Author Topic: How to activate Eject CD button on MacbookPro  (Read 6153 times)
DShad
Newbie
*
Posts: 5


View Profile
« on: October 30, 2008, 16:42:21 PM »

Everything works flawlessly on my MacbookPro (I am VERY impressed by Pardus 2008), except the Eject button.

Need so help to have my notebook work 100% with Pardus.

Marc
Logged
rusev_ivo
Guest
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2008, 16:47:23 PM »

Everything works flawlessly on my MacbookPro (I am VERY impressed by Pardus 2008), except the Eject button.

Need so help to have my notebook work 100% with Pardus.

Marc

Go to your Desktop, there should be an icon of your cd/dvd device. Right-click it and press "eject". Does it work?
Logged
DShad
Newbie
*
Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2008, 17:14:27 PM »

Yes this method works, but I'd like to be able to use the eject button and managed to make it work with different linux distros before switching to Pardus.

Any idea?
Logged
waterfietser
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 48


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2008, 13:45:25 PM »

I never had a Mookbook in my hands, but did you try Lineakd?

Look in the wiki:
http://en.pardus-wiki.org/HOWTO:Lineakd
Logged
Mhmrcs
Global Moderator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 346



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2008, 17:34:08 PM »

I'm the same as waterfietser, does your MacBook have a stop button (i.e. a square)? Many distros allocate this button for ejecting CD/DVDs.
Logged

tuxedup
Pardus Developer
Pardus fellow craft
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 65



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: November 05, 2008, 18:16:29 PM »

Have you tried using the xbindkeys I packaged in contrib?

With xbingkeys you can set a command to a key or key combination e.g. ctrl + alt + e

so you could set the eject command to a partiular key.
Logged

DShad
Newbie
*
Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: November 05, 2008, 23:13:39 PM »

No the keyboard doesn't have a "stop" button...  Only "eject" button, located right from the "F-12" button.

With other distros, when I select "MacBook Pro Keyboard" as my keyboard, the "F-" bindings are automatically set up for volume, brightness, mute, etc...  Only the Eject button is missing.

Will try the suggested from contrib repo, but it's a bummer that key is not configured right away...

Marc
Logged
Mhmrcs
Global Moderator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 346



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: November 06, 2008, 13:21:46 PM »

Is it not possible to assign a shortcut through TASMA by pressing the eject button? (Is the eject button recognised?)
Logged

DShad
Newbie
*
Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: November 07, 2008, 21:21:05 PM »

I guess it would be possible to assign a command when the "eject" button is pressed...  but I would need you help on that.

I know where to access that on Tasma, but then what are the steps in order to "learn" the eject command?

Logged
Mhmrcs
Global Moderator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 346



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: November 08, 2008, 00:38:07 AM »

At the moment I couldn't tell you, I'm experimenting with Fedora 10. Using TASMA>(Hardware?)>Keyboard Shortcuts, there are three tabs (If I recall), one of them will contain hardware functions, find the binding which controls the "eject" function, reassign the key by pressing your eject button, if nothing appears (i.e. a series of numbers and letters since it isn't a labelled button), then your button is defunct using Pardus, otherwise, apply the changes.
Logged

atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: November 08, 2008, 12:42:51 PM »

The command is:
Quote
eject device name
and 'device name' has the form /dev/sr0 or /dev/sr1
Have a look  Pardus > Programs > System > KinfoCenter > CD-ROM information
or  Pardus > Programs > Mutimedia > K3b > Settings > Configure K3b > Devices.
Also try a Google with "man eject".  Wink
Logged
PhiX
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 642



View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: November 08, 2008, 12:45:32 PM »

Quote
Also try a Google with "man eject".
Why googling for documentation you already have on your machine ?
Code:
man eject
works in a terminal Smiley
Logged

Team Pardus-fr - French Pardus tools translator
DShad
Newbie
*
Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: November 13, 2008, 21:11:54 PM »

Thank you!

With your help, I managed to configure the Eject button correctly, and I'm happy now Smiley

Marc
Logged
PhiX
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 642



View Profile WWW
« Reply #13 on: November 13, 2008, 21:26:26 PM »

You may think about creating a wiki page about your findings on http://pardus-wiki.org .
You are the Pardus MacBook expert now Wink
Logged

Team Pardus-fr - French Pardus tools translator
Michiel
Administrator
Pardus Guru
*****
Posts: 799



View Profile
« Reply #14 on: November 13, 2008, 21:32:53 PM »

The ONE AND ONLY so far , a specialist !
Logged

Former Pardus user, now on OpenSUSE 12.2 (KDE)
Pages: [1] 2 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!