Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 24, 2014, 01:09:28 AM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Software
| | |-+  Ksensors and hddtemp
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Ksensors and hddtemp  (Read 2020 times)
MitraMai
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 89


View Profile
« on: October 24, 2008, 10:46:38 AM »

I'm trying to get ksensors to display the hardrive temperature from hddtemp. But I need to set the SUID on hddtemp. But how do I do that?
Code:
chown martin:users /usr/sbin/hddtemp
does not seem to work, so there must be another command or?
Logged

HP nc4010, which I love dearly...
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2008, 10:51:06 AM »

Maybe http://en.pardus-wiki.org/HOWTO:Gkrellm_and_lm_sensors will help ? Smiley
Logged
MitraMai
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 89


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2008, 13:28:47 PM »

I have already set up lm-sensors, what I need is help on how to set the SUID on hddtemp so that ksensors can display that information
Logged

HP nc4010, which I love dearly...
Mhmrcs
Global Moderator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 346



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2008, 13:33:51 PM »

To set the SUID of a hddtemp file:
Run: Konsole
Type: "chmod +s hddtemp"

Or you can try running "dpkg-reconfigure hddtemp"
Logged

MitraMai
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 89


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 24, 2008, 15:17:12 PM »

I think
Code:
dpkg-reconfigure hddtemp
can only be used debian- based systems.
I'll try the chmod- code later.
Logged

HP nc4010, which I love dearly...
Mhmrcs
Global Moderator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 346



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2008, 15:25:00 PM »

Lol, sorry, I used Ubuntu before Pardus, its probable that the command is Debian based.
Logged

Bahri16
Global Moderator
Pardus Master
*****
Posts: 208



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: November 08, 2008, 18:53:15 PM »

you can edit /etc/sudoers and allow execution of this programs without password:

%wheel        ALL=(ALL)       NOPASSWD: /usr/sbin/hddtemp

than the command sudo hddtemp will be executes as root without password confimation.
Logged

The world is not digital - the world is an analog swoosh
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!