Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 16, 2014, 23:56:00 PM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Configuring Pardus
| | |-+  Not sure if this is a problem, but...
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Not sure if this is a problem, but...  (Read 1484 times)
Mourningdove
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 59



View Profile
« on: November 04, 2008, 04:15:11 AM »

I turned on my computer tonight and booted into Pardus, the new kernel that was in the updates.

I got the familiar orange screen, then at the time the screen goes blank and I await the login screen, I saw a terminal prompt and some error messages. They went away and the login screen came up as usual.

When I got in, I went to the command prompt and saw the following lines.

Code:
* Mounting local filesystems
NTFS signature is missing
Failed to mount /dev/sda1: invalid argument
The device /dev/sda1 doesn't have a valid NTFS.
Maybe you selected the wrong device? Or the whole disk instead of a partition (e.g. /dev/hda, not /dev/hda1)? Or the other way around?

Then it proceeded as if nothing were wrong:

Code:
*Activating swap.
*Setting clock to hardware clock.

And so forth.

/dev/sda1 is actually an Ubuntu installation. Pardus is on /dev/sda6, and there's a swap. That's all, just three partitions.

Is this a fluke, or something that might become troublesome down the road?

Thanks.
Logged
Ch00k
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 76



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2008, 07:46:50 AM »

Hi! Please post your /etc/fstab file here.
Logged
Mourningdove
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 59



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2008, 03:06:21 AM »

Hi ch00k, here's the fstab.

Code:
# See the manpage fstab(5) for more information.
#
#   <fs>             <mountpoint>     <type>    <opts>               <dump/pass>
LABEL=PARDUS_ROOT    /                ext3      defaults,user_xattr,noatime 0 0
/.swap               none             swap      sw                   0 0
proc                 /proc            proc      nosuid,noexec        0 0
sysfs                /sys             sysfs     defaults             0 0
debugfs              /sys/kernel/debug debugfs   defaults             0 0
tmpfs                /dev/shm         tmpfs     nodev,nosuid,noexec  0 0
/dev/sda1            /mnt/sda1        ntfs-3g   dmask=007,fmask=117,gid=6,locale=en_US.UTF-8 0 0

Yes, I see now, the last line refers to ntfs-3g. I wonder if that's a hangover from when that partition had Windows XP on it. I don't know why I would start getting error messages now, since Windows has been gone for a couple of months.

But I don't know if there's something else going on here.

Thanks!
Logged
Ch00k
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 76



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2008, 07:30:37 AM »

/dev/sda1 is ext3? If so you just need to correct the last string in fstab.
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2008, 10:38:06 AM »

Have a look in this topic about the Disc Manager missing in Pardus 2008.
And especially in Comment  #9 of the  bug report.
Maybe
Quote
if you want permanent solution, run "update-fstab" as root
will solve your problem?
But first make a backup of your /etc/fstab file.
I hope this will help......... Smiley
Logged
Mourningdove
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 59



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: December 06, 2008, 03:36:18 AM »

It took me a while to get back to this one, but here it is:

Changing ntfs-3g to ext3 in the line
Code:
/dev/sda1            /mnt/sda1        ntfs-3g   dmask=007,fmask=117,gid=6,locale=en_US.UTF-8 0 0

didn't work; I exchanged one error message for another. As I'd suspected, that dmask/fmask/&c. was probably a Windows leftover.

The command update-fstab didn't do anything, either, until I commented out the above line. Then I ran update-fstab again; it deleted the commented-out line and replaced it with the lovely

Code:
/dev/sda1            /mnt/sda1        ext3      noatime              0 0

And everything's cool.

This probably isn't earthshaking news, but it was an open, if minor, problem and I wanted to wrap it up.


Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!