Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 19, 2014, 14:10:29 PM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Laptop
| | |-+  wireless has stopped working....
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: wireless has stopped working....  (Read 2272 times)
MitraMai
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 89


View Profile
« on: November 06, 2008, 09:46:44 AM »

My wireless has stopped working on my laptop. Only way to make it work is to first activate it in windows, then reboot. Then it's working again. It might have something to do with the kernel- upgrade. The ethernet on my desktop also stopped working for a time. But then it worked again. Don't know if the two problems are related.

On the laptop I'm using the b43- and ssb- drivers (Broadcom Corporation BCM4306) and on the desktop the tulip- driver.

This is from the user- log:
Code:
Nov  6 09:07:52 localhost klogd: input: b43-phy0 as /devices/virtual/input/input10
Nov  6 09:07:52 localhost klogd: b43-phy0: Loading firmware version 410.2160 (2007-05-26 15:32:10)
Nov  6 09:07:52 localhost klogd: Registered led device: b43-phy0::tx
Nov  6 09:07:52 localhost klogd: Registered led device: b43-phy0::rx
Nov  6 09:07:52 localhost klogd: Registered led device: b43-phy0::radio
Nov  6 09:07:52 localhost klogd: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready

I know this doesn't say much but I don't know where to look.

Does anyone has a clue how to solve this?
Logged

HP nc4010, which I love dearly...
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2008, 10:28:06 AM »

My wireless has stopped working on my laptop. Only way to make it work is to first activate it in windows,
You have a dualboot system with Windows? Which Windows XP, Vista, etc?
....., then reboot. Then it's working again.
Do you have to repeat this procedure every time you switch on the laptop?
Does anyone has a clue how to solve this?
Is the problem solved when you remove the connection and then create a new connection in Tasma>Internet & network>Network manager?
The ethernet on my desktop also stopped working for a time. But then it worked again.
Does this mean that it isn't a problem anymore on the desktop?
Or is the problem in the router as both computers show a strange behavior?
Logged
MitraMai
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 89


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2008, 11:17:17 AM »

@atelboo:
Quote
You have a dualboot system with Windows? Which Windows XP, Vista, etc?
XP.
Quote
Do you have to repeat this procedure every time you switch on the laptop?
Yes, I do
Quote
Is the problem solved when you remove the connection and then create a new connection in Tasma>Internet & network>Network manager?
No, unfortunately not. Creating a new connection gives the same result: No networks found.
Quote
Does this mean that it isn't a problem anymore on the desktop?
Or is the problem in the router as both computers show a strange behavior?
I'll have to check the desktop again when I get home. I don't have a wireless network at home so it's not the router. The router works fine with the other computers in the household. It was just on the desktop with Pardus that the connection did'nt work.

Maybe I was a bit unclear, the wireless is found upon boot, I can create a new connection, but it does not return any networks upon
Code:
iwlist wlan0 scanning
.

Logged

HP nc4010, which I love dearly...
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2008, 12:33:02 PM »

....... It might have something to do with the kernel- upgrade. ......
Try Tasma>System>History manager to find out "something to do with the kernel- upgrade".
Logged
MitraMai
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 89


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 06, 2008, 13:23:40 PM »

Atolboo, how do you mean? Looking in the history- manager only reveals that the kernel has been updated along with a few other programs etc. It does not say anything about b43 or ssb.
Quote
* kernel is upgraded from 2.6.25.16-108-45 to 2.6.25.19-112-48.
I don't know if it has anything to do with the kernel- update. It was only an idea I had.
Logged

HP nc4010, which I love dearly...
MitraMai
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 89


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: November 06, 2008, 13:26:03 PM »

Atolboo: Ok, I think I understand. I should return to a point before the upgrade?! I test it later... And get back...
Logged

HP nc4010, which I love dearly...
Mhmrcs
Global Moderator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 346



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: November 06, 2008, 13:29:51 PM »

You can try searching the repositories for an alternative Network Manager.

(I'm not in a position to suggest any program to you at the moment, I'll take a better look in a few hours.)
Logged

atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: November 06, 2008, 16:39:37 PM »

Atolboo: Ok, I think I understand. I should return to a point before the upgrade?!
Yes.
Logged
Lisa
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 841



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: November 06, 2008, 16:50:42 PM »

You can try searching the repositories for an alternative Network Manager.


as a side comment, this is my hope.  I have never liked Network Manager as it never works for dial-up.  I would like to see an alternative, a choice for network managing in Linux.   

Lisa Marie
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!