Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 18, 2014, 18:32:51 PM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Configuring Pardus
| | |-+  network connection from pardus to pardus
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: network connection from pardus to pardus  (Read 1967 times)
Bahri16
Global Moderator
Pardus Master
*****
Posts: 208



View Profile
« on: November 08, 2008, 20:08:34 PM »


hi,

i have a desktop and a laptom and a router.
the desktop is connected with wlan and the laptop is connected with ethernet to the router.
how can i connect this two computers together. is this possible with a router or do i need a network hub.
i do not want use samba - i have only pardus OS.

can anybody give me some advise to configure network, please?
Logged

The world is not digital - the world is an analog swoosh
Michiel
Administrator
Pardus Guru
*****
Posts: 799



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2008, 20:16:29 PM »

Could the wiki page on Pardus-WinXP network perhaps help you on the way?

http://en.pardus-wiki.org/HOWTO:SambaNetwork
Logged

Former Pardus user, now on OpenSUSE 12.2 (KDE)
Bahri16
Global Moderator
Pardus Master
*****
Posts: 208



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2008, 20:31:16 PM »


sorry i dont want to use samba as i know it is only for filesharing - i do not use Windows.
e.g with real network i can start a aplikation which is installed on desktop on the desktop and the cpu is used from the desktop, but the visualisation is on laptop.

i dontknow  if this is possible with samba.
Logged

The world is not digital - the world is an analog swoosh
Michiel
Administrator
Pardus Guru
*****
Posts: 799



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2008, 21:23:16 PM »

Do you mean some sort of remote control facility that let's you start applications on the other network PC or laptop?
Logged

Former Pardus user, now on OpenSUSE 12.2 (KDE)
Bahri16
Global Moderator
Pardus Master
*****
Posts: 208



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2008, 21:40:55 PM »

no i want to login to an other computer with rlogin or ssh.
 
i connected both comps to router nad ping gives this message:

From 192.168.0.2 icmp_seq=3 Dest Unreachable, Bad Code: 10

what have i to do to configure network??
Logged

The world is not digital - the world is an analog swoosh
Bahri16
Global Moderator
Pardus Master
*****
Posts: 208



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: November 08, 2008, 22:01:17 PM »

.. the stand is that i can come from the comp to the router - but when i give a ping from the router to the comp i get:

ing statistics for 192.168.0.2:
   Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4(100 %),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
   Minimum = 3000ms, Maximum = 3000ms, Average = 3000ms
Logged

The world is not digital - the world is an analog swoosh
Michiel
Administrator
Pardus Guru
*****
Posts: 799



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: November 08, 2008, 22:07:05 PM »

I am sorry that's too difficult for me, could it be that IP fowarding plays a role and/or you just have to adjust some settings in the router itself (by menas of a webbrowser interface or so)?

I guess someone else has to jump in here to help you further I am sorry.
Logged

Former Pardus user, now on OpenSUSE 12.2 (KDE)
Bahri16
Global Moderator
Pardus Master
*****
Posts: 208



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: November 08, 2008, 22:30:53 PM »

@ michiel  no matter thanks anyway

.. i am one step further.
after disabling firewall i can now ping between both comps  Grin

but ssh login does not function and rlogin does not exist.

who can help??
Logged

The world is not digital - the world is an analog swoosh
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: November 09, 2008, 10:12:24 AM »

I think that VNC "Virtual Network Computing" is something you are looking for?
As this is a whole new item for me, this is all I can report about it for this moment.
I will start working on this one and maybe with some help from other people it will end in a Wiki page.
Who knows what the future will bring !  Wink
« Last Edit: November 09, 2008, 10:19:36 AM by atolboo » Logged
Bahri16
Global Moderator
Pardus Master
*****
Posts: 208



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: November 09, 2008, 21:16:02 PM »


@atolboo.  no atolboo vnc is not what i am looking for.

@the_rest_of_the_forum.  i want to configure my network. some tips for the first step???

i dont need a complete training. only first steps!!!
Logged

The world is not digital - the world is an analog swoosh
Mhmrcs
Global Moderator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 346



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: November 09, 2008, 21:27:11 PM »

Network configuration between computers which run KDE (i.e. Pardus):
http://docs.kde.org/stable/en/kdeadmin/knetworkconf/knetworkconf.pdf

Hope this helps... It probably won't. Are you referring to remote computer access? (I think it would satisfy your intentions, i.e. if they are to run applications interchangeably on either computer.)
Logged

Bahri16
Global Moderator
Pardus Master
*****
Posts: 208



View Profile
« Reply #11 on: November 09, 2008, 22:05:01 PM »

no it did not help me - too less specific for pardus.
i edited hosts. i googled often something like "edit init.d" but this file does not exist on pardus.

status is:

i CAN ping sucsesfully between two computers.

i CAN NOT start ssh or rlogin - thats my problem now.

forum solve it or you are blamed.
« Last Edit: November 09, 2008, 22:07:40 PM by Bahri16 » Logged

The world is not digital - the world is an analog swoosh
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #12 on: November 09, 2008, 22:10:25 PM »

Sorry, I can not help you.
I have never done a ssh or a rlogin connection.
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!