Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 18, 2014, 12:42:28 PM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Pardus for beginners
| | |-+  ( Thanks , Moved on) Kaffeine , audio ok but black screen for video
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: ( Thanks , Moved on) Kaffeine , audio ok but black screen for video  (Read 2120 times)
Northernfrog
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 38



View Profile
« on: November 10, 2008, 02:19:19 AM »

Not sure what happened but kaffeine borked somehow . Worked before and not sure what caused it . I tried to uninstall including hidden folder in home /kde . Reinstalled but still black screen . Other players play video ok . I thought maybe compiz but still same with compiz off .   Thanks.....Northernfrog...
« Last Edit: December 02, 2008, 00:28:58 AM by Northernfrog » Logged
PhiX
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 642



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2008, 13:27:32 PM »

Hi Northernfrog,

In order to get some errors messages, you can run kaffeine from a terminal :

Code:
kaffeine yourMultimediaFile
Logged

Team Pardus-fr - French Pardus tools translator
Lisa
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 841



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2008, 17:21:51 PM »

Hello Northern Frog,

what multimedia format are you trying to play?  Does it matter if it is DVD, AVI, Divx?

Try a different xine engine in Kaffene:

xine engine paremeters>video> and change "auto" to some of the other selections to see if it works. 

Still, it shouldn't just stop showing video for you if it worked previously.   Oftentimes updates will mess up video.  What is your video card specs?

You can also play in MPlayer that will usually give good information output.  I think VLC does this too, to use as a diagnostic tool of this particular medium you are trying to play. 

Lisa Marie
Logged
frisil
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 75


Linux rules!


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2008, 10:23:45 AM »

As Northern Frog stated in another recent thread that he installed compiz and tried to get the nvidia settings to work, I think it's the infamous nvidia black windows bug. I had the same problem on another machine, strangely enough rebooting helped. It could only play videos if uptime wasn't too high, once I started memory intensive programs like firefox or open office, I had to reboot before I could watch videos. I think it's a memory leak problem that can happen with some nvidia cards and drivers, especially when running compiz.

My advice is to do away with compiz, I did the same. Compiz looks nice but causes too many problems and uses up far too many cpu cycles. Re-encoding an xvid video with avidemux takes about 3 times as long when compiz is running. Sadly enough, compiz is just resource-hungry eye candy that shouldn't be used on a productive system.
« Last Edit: November 11, 2008, 10:30:04 AM by frisil » Logged

The most merciful thing in the world is the inability of the human mind to correlate all its contents. (Lovecraft)
Northernfrog
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 38



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2008, 00:27:27 AM »

Thank's for all your help guy's . I never did figure it out and borked my x.org by running to many things while doing updates . Anyways none of my client's have incountered my problem so i'll move on this issue as my error somewhere . Again thanks for all your help................Northernfrog
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!