Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 21, 2014, 14:27:27 PM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Pardus for beginners
| | |-+  kdesu in KDE4?
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: kdesu in KDE4?  (Read 4172 times)
frisil
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 75


Linux rules!


View Profile
« on: November 30, 2008, 12:04:15 PM »

Hi,
I just upgraded to Linux Vista (=KDE4 Cheesy) but a major problem is that kdesu does not seem to work for file browsing applications, neither "kdesu konqueror" nor "kdesu dolphin" works.

How do I run dolphin or konqueror in root mode with kde4?
Logged

The most merciful thing in the world is the inability of the human mind to correlate all its contents. (Lovecraft)
PhiX
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 642



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2008, 18:32:51 PM »

You can run it from a terminal with :
Code:
su
konqueror
Logged

Team Pardus-fr - French Pardus tools translator
gyan000
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 46



View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2008, 23:03:56 PM »

Very strange.
I use KDE 4 beta 1 and kdesu works fine.
Logged

---
gyan000 - plus-qu'en-retard
frisil
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 75


Linux rules!


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2008, 01:57:55 AM »

You can run it from a terminal with :
Code:
su
konqueror

This was my second idea I already tried, but it does not work either. I get :

bash: konqueror: command not found.

Konqueror IS installed and I can start it from a terminal as normal user, but not as root! Same goes for dolphin.
Logged

The most merciful thing in the world is the inability of the human mind to correlate all its contents. (Lovecraft)
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2008, 14:34:33 PM »

Here is my solution if you want a file manager with administrator privileges in KDE4.
In KDE3 I installed Krusader.
After this I switched to KDE4 with CTRL+ALT+F1 and
Quote
........  login: root
Wachtwoord:
.....-pardus ~# service kdebase off
Dienst 'kdebase' zal niet automatische worden gestart.
.....-pardus ~# service kdebase4_workspace on
Dienst 'kdebase4_workspace' wordt automatische gestart.
.....-pardus ~# servcie kdebase4_workspace start
Starting kdebase4_workspace...
.....-pardus ~# reboot
(sorry it's in Dutch)

In KDE4  ALT+F2  krusader +<enter>
In Krusader > Gereedschap (Tools) > Krusader in root modus starten.
And you can do the same as in dolphin or konqueror in root mode.  Grin
Logged
PhiX
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 642



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2008, 19:57:55 PM »

You can run it from a terminal with :
Code:
su
konqueror

This was my second idea I already tried, but it does not work either. I get :

bash: konqueror: command not found.

Konqueror IS installed and I can start it from a terminal as normal user, but not as root! Same goes for dolphin.

What about this :
Code:
su -
konqueror
?
Logged

Team Pardus-fr - French Pardus tools translator
frisil
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 75


Linux rules!


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: January 15, 2009, 14:57:55 PM »


What about this :
Code:
su -
konqueror
?

Oops, I just saw I never replied to this one to say "thank you!". How impolite of me!

Well, better late than never, so here goes: Thanks!

"su -" actually works (for any program), but it's more a workarround than a solution, because you have to open a konsole and keep it open until done. So no easy Alt+f2+"kdesu dolphin"....

But still, I can use KDE4 now!
Logged

The most merciful thing in the world is the inability of the human mind to correlate all its contents. (Lovecraft)
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!