Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 18, 2014, 07:52:57 AM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Configuring Pardus
| | |-+  Can't anymore into my Pardus due to KDEproblem
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 3 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Can't anymore into my Pardus due to KDEproblem  (Read 5126 times)
ERICK-PARDUS
Newbie
*
Gender: Male
Posts: 22


pardus for freedom


View Profile WWW
« on: February 06, 2009, 15:06:20 PM »

Hello,who can help me with my problem?
I am still using Pardus 2007.3
And when I tried to get into it , it failed.
I see GRUB and the three Kernelpossibilities, but after that the following mention came through:
PCI cannot allocate resource region 8 of bridge.
This mention was from the beginning of the installation of P. there, but after a while (and some blue and red and yellow kind of blocks) I could always log in.
But now the following mentions (2) displayed:
KDE could not read network connections
'tmp/1067296532/.DCOPsever_pardus_0
You have to control if the program"dcopsever" is working
'tmp/1067296532/.DCOPserver_pardus_0
And the other mention was:
It will not storage(the actual dutch word was OPSLAAN)the configurationelement
"/tmp/1067296532/.kde/share/config/kdmgreetrc"
is not writable.
Configurationelement(act. Dutch word =bestand)
"/tmp/1067296532/.kde/share/config/kdeglobals"
is not writable.
and then:
Contact your systemmanager (lol ..I thought I was the root!!)
I am pleading for some help here, because all my data and addresses and so on are there,where I can't come in....
In the future I have to buy a Dual Processor and more GB, and a NVidia graph. card for 3D purposes, I am still on a AMD Athlon 3800 (512 intern/80gdHD/dvd combo)
Please who is able to help me on this one?!
With Pardusgreetings.....

Logged


Nederlandse LINUX Gebruikers Groep Lidnr. 14067
BenimAdımKırmızı
Guest
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2009, 18:06:39 PM »

better upgrade via konsole to 2008 its worth a try or upgrade via cd
pardus2007 isnt supported anymore with packages....
Logged
PhiX
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 642



View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2009, 20:09:03 PM »

Hello ERICK-PARDUS,

1- First use the key combination Ctrl-Alt-F1 in order to go to console n°1. Then, log in as root (root, root password).
Delete the following files (they are recreated at every boot time) with the following command :
Code:
rm -RF ~/.DCOP* /tmp/* ~/.ICE-AUTH*
Type startkde
Press the ENTER key
KDE should start without errors.
Tell us how it goes.

2- As far as your PCI allocation problem is concerned, which I think is not related to your main problem, you can try passing this option at boot time (at GRUB stage) as a kernel option, by pressing 'e' :
acpi=noirq
« Last Edit: February 06, 2009, 20:17:19 PM by PhiX » Logged

Team Pardus-fr - French Pardus tools translator
ERICK-PARDUS
Newbie
*
Gender: Male
Posts: 22


pardus for freedom


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2009, 22:12:05 PM »

 Then, log in as root (root, root password). 
How?? Step by step ..please..!
rm-RF~/.DCOP*/tmp/*~?.ICE-AUTH*
In which console !?
I mean, I can't come into Pardus
Do you mean the console of the LIVE CD of SUSE !?
« Last Edit: February 06, 2009, 22:52:30 PM by ERICK-PARDUS » Logged


Nederlandse LINUX Gebruikers Groep Lidnr. 14067
BenimAdımKırmızı
Guest
« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2009, 00:02:22 AM »

boot pardus and then do what he wrote
1changing to console / terminal via strg+alt+f1
2enter your username and your password
3then enter su and your password
4then enter the code phix wrote
and enter it
5then start kde via service kdebase start
Logged
ERICK-PARDUS
Newbie
*
Gender: Male
Posts: 22


pardus for freedom


View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2009, 00:11:14 AM »

boot pardus and then do what he wrote
1changing to console / terminal via strg+alt+f1

5then start kde via service kdebase start
What do you mean by:
1.boot pardus ...(I can't come in Pardus!!)
2.What is strg !?
3.5then start kde via service kdebase start ( that is different from what phiX wrote!)
« Last Edit: February 07, 2009, 00:20:04 AM by ERICK-PARDUS » Logged


Nederlandse LINUX Gebruikers Groep Lidnr. 14067
MitraMai
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 89


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: February 07, 2009, 00:47:38 AM »

With strg I think he means ctrl   Wink
Logged

HP nc4010, which I love dearly...
ERICK-PARDUS
Newbie
*
Gender: Male
Posts: 22


pardus for freedom


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: February 07, 2009, 00:54:39 AM »

Thanx!! Wink

But how can I boot Pardus when I can't login  Pardus!?
I mean...Is there a possibility to get the Pardus Console without BEING in Pardus!?
Thank you for the help anyway....I am puzzled.. Shocked
Logged


Nederlandse LINUX Gebruikers Groep Lidnr. 14067
BenimAdımKırmızı
Guest
« Reply #8 on: February 07, 2009, 01:13:51 AM »

well your not able to boot pardus means that your not able to choose pardus'kernel? and boot from it?
if youre able to choose pardus'kernel than boot it as far it goes and do what we told you and i meant crtl
in german it is strg
Logged
ERICK-PARDUS
Newbie
*
Gender: Male
Posts: 22


pardus for freedom


View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: February 07, 2009, 01:25:39 AM »

Auf Deutsch heiszt es doch:
Kontrolieren??!! Wink
Logged


Nederlandse LINUX Gebruikers Groep Lidnr. 14067
BenimAdımKırmızı
Guest
« Reply #10 on: February 07, 2009, 02:09:12 AM »

well right, so how is your progress? you might join the irc-channel on freenode #pardus-en
maybe someone is able to help via ssh or something else...
Logged
tuxedup
Pardus Developer
Pardus fellow craft
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 65



View Profile
« Reply #11 on: February 07, 2009, 03:38:13 AM »

Before you do anything else, boot from a live cd and backup all of your home directory including all hidden files, along with /etc/

I reccomend this as a precaution if something should go very wrong.

Assuming you have the media to backup your /home and /etc/ I would reccomend a complete reinstallation to 2008.  Then restore everything backed up.

I myself can never be bothered with trying to fix things like this situation.  It is simply easier for me to back everything up from live cd to usb drive and then reinstall.

Am I correct in assuming that Pardus never really starts?  Does X fail to load?  Are you given a login prompt?  Or does the boot simply hang with error messages?

Tuxedup.
Logged

ERICK-PARDUS
Newbie
*
Gender: Male
Posts: 22


pardus for freedom


View Profile WWW
« Reply #12 on: February 07, 2009, 16:59:04 PM »

Before you do anything else, boot from a live cd and backup all of your home directory including all hidden files, along with /etc/
I only have but one pc, Tuxedup!!
I reccomend this as a precaution if something should go very wrong.
I know, but that is precisely the problem!
Assuming you have the media to backup your /home and /etc/ I would reccomend a complete reinstallation to 2008.  Then restore everything backed up.
That is what I want!!
I myself can never be bothered with trying to fix things like this situation.  It is simply easier for me to back everything up from live cd to usb drive and then reinstall.
I only have the PARDUS 2008 install CD

Am I correct in assuming that Pardus never really starts?  Does X fail to load?  Are you given a login prompt?  Or does the boot simply hang with error messages?
Only once, I became the login situation at the beginning!
It ends after the GRUB  with the Leopard head, and the three Kernel possibilities, and I just can't direct him in the two somewhat later possibilities of the kernel..


Thank you for your answer, Tuxedup!!!
NO ...I can't login..!
After trying for a .....times, I only got the login page twice
And when I login with my username and psswd, I've got the little (big and hollow) x
And it's hangin' there....for hrs....

P.s. I think it is merely a KDE problem, isn't it!?
Because of the mention I became (just once or twice)
KDE could not read network connections
'tmp/1067296532/.DCOPserver_pardus_0
I had to control if the program "dcopserver" is/was running!
and then in a black screen ...:
PCI cannot allocate resource region 8 of bridge..
and after that it stays hanging....
« Last Edit: February 08, 2009, 18:02:50 PM by ERICK-PARDUS » Logged


Nederlandse LINUX Gebruikers Groep Lidnr. 14067
ERICK-PARDUS
Newbie
*
Gender: Male
Posts: 22


pardus for freedom


View Profile WWW
« Reply #13 on: February 08, 2009, 18:08:54 PM »

But in a nutshell...
These are two problems..!
The latest mention of:
"PCI cannot allocate resource region 8 of bridge"
I've got from the beginning of installing PARDUS 2007
After a while it went, and then the xorg started, and I could login with my username
So, I never bothered that anymore..
The real problem is the failure of login in....P.
Logged


Nederlandse LINUX Gebruikers Groep Lidnr. 14067
PhiX
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 642



View Profile WWW
« Reply #14 on: February 08, 2009, 20:28:13 PM »

Here are the steps to follow to enter your failed system:

1. Boot your PC with the install CD, as if you were going to reinstall Pardus

2. When you reach the license agreement stage, type Ctrl-Alt-F1 in order to go to console mode.
You are now logged in as root on the liveCD filesystem.
 
3. Create the necessary directories and subdirectories :
Code:
mkdir -p /MyPardus/{boot,proc}

4. Use cfdisk to find out what is the name of the PARDUS_ROOT disk partition. This name is /dev/sdax, where x={1, or 2, or 3, etc.}
Code:
cfdisk
Once you got it, exit cfdisk (use the left/right arrow keys to navigate in the cfdisk's menu).

5. Mount your Pardus system (replace x by the value you found earlier) :
Code:
mount /dev/sdax /MyPardus/boot

6. Mount the /proc subsystem :
Code:
mount -o bind /proc /MyPardus/proc

7. Change the root and execute your usual shell :
Code:
chroot /MyPardus/boot/ /bin/bash

8. You are now logged in as root in your Pardus system. So you can make the following changes :
Code:
rm -Rf ~/.DCOP* /tmp/* ~/.ICE-AUTH*

9. Reboot your PC
Code:
reboot
« Last Edit: February 08, 2009, 22:55:22 PM by PhiX » Logged

Team Pardus-fr - French Pardus tools translator
Pages: [1] 2 3 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!