Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 23, 2014, 09:20:23 AM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Installing Pardus
| | |-+  Upgrade to 2008.2 still shows as 2008.1 in grub
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Upgrade to 2008.2 still shows as 2008.1 in grub  (Read 1180 times)
Aero9000
Newbie
*
Posts: 14


View Profile
« on: February 25, 2009, 09:57:49 AM »

I've been a Pardus user from 2007.0 as it was the only Linux distro I could possibly install and run on my laptop (an HP dv6361eu). (On a side note, I was able to install and run other Linuxes after I had completely wiped the disk, i.e. starting from sector 0. Must have been how HP setup the disk. However, by then Pardus had already won me over Smiley). Anyhow, when 2007.1 was released, I updated the 2007.0 via the Package Manager and sure enough in Grub an entry appeared Pardus 2007.1 and also the splash screen showed 2007.1. Later with Pardus 2007.2 the same thing happened. When 2008 was released, for various reasons I did a fresh reinstall. I think, but I am not 100% sure anymore that when 2008.1 was released and I upgraded via the Package Manager both Grub and the splash screen were updated. Then I upgraded my harddrive and once again had to a fresh reinstall (using a 2008.1 install CD).

So about 4 weeks ago 2008.2 was released and from what I read here on the forum, 2008.1 can be upgraded to 2008.2 via the Package Manager. But this time the splash screen and Grub continue to say 2008.1. What does this imply? Was the splash screen simply not updated or is the Package Manager doing something wrong? All updates since January 30th 2009 (the release date of 2008.2) have been processed and applied without error.

Here's my "uname -r" output
Code:
Linux music-pardus 2.6.25.20-114 #1 SMP Mon Jan 19 15:02:57 EET 2009 i686 Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 1.80GHz GNU/Linux

(Please note that I posted this from my desktop computer, hence the CPU-type does not match that of a dv6361eu -- but on this one, too, it still reads 2008.1 both in Grub and on the splash screen.)
Logged
azra
Pardus Master
***
Gender: Male
Posts: 189



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2009, 11:25:43 AM »

Hi Aero9000

Yes, do not worry, this is something which I think we all have. You should have 2008.2 on there, just do a sysinfo:/ on Konqueror, and at the bottom of the page it should read 2008.2.
It is just that the Grub entry was not modified. You can modify it manually if you want in Tasma.
« Last Edit: February 25, 2009, 12:01:02 PM by azra » Logged
Aero9000
Newbie
*
Posts: 14


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2009, 18:43:04 PM »

Thank you. I now that I am indeed on 2008.2. For the orange splash screen still saying 2008.1 I have filed a bug report.

Has anyone done a fresh install of 2008.2? What does the orange screen say?
Logged
BenimAdımKırmızı
Guest
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2009, 20:06:52 PM »

go to kmenu - go to programs - go to system -> choose Bootmanager and edit the entry of Parduskernel
make an 2 instead of 1 and voila....  Grin
Logged
waf
Guest
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2009, 22:37:14 PM »

Aero9000,

With a fresh install it appears correctly Pardus 2008.2 
« Last Edit: April 29, 2011, 10:23:26 AM by waf » Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!