Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 16, 2014, 09:27:47 AM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Installing Pardus
| | |-+  2 hard drives
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: 2 hard drives  (Read 2325 times)
jan37
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 47


View Profile
« on: February 26, 2009, 21:34:30 PM »

I have installed Pardus2008-2 on the second hard drive. There was nothing on this drive. On the first HD i have (had?) XP.
Everythig went smoothly and I updated all the pardus apps.
BUT I cannot access XP on the first drive.
I went into the bios and put hdd0 as the first selection but it had no effect
I keep XP as a back up for when I mess up my linux os
I hope this is the correct forum for this problem
Thanks

EDIT
no sound
« Last Edit: February 26, 2009, 23:16:40 PM by jan37 » Logged
PhiX
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 642



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2009, 22:24:28 PM »

Hello jan37,

From a terminal, copy/Paste here the return of the fdisk command :
Code:
su -
Enter the administrator's pasword
Code:
fdisk -l

And the return of this command :
Code:
less /boot/grub/grub.conf
Logged

Team Pardus-fr - French Pardus tools translator
n0n_0n
Newbie
*
Gender: Male
Posts: 19



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2009, 22:28:03 PM »

This update is from 2007 to 2008, 2008 to 2008.2 or?
Can you see the XP partiton from Pardus and can you enter it?
What is the content of your /etc/fstab)
for it run (not root):
Code:
#cat /etc/fstab
paste the content here.

¿are you using GRUB?
What is the content of your /boot/grub/menu.lst?
for it run (not root):
Code:
#cat /boot/grub/menu.lst
paste the content here.





« Last Edit: February 26, 2009, 22:31:05 PM by n0n_0n » Logged
jan37
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 47


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2009, 16:05:43 PM »

hello PhiX
Thanks for your quick reply
I followed your instructions and then used "print screen"to get a snapshot of the console.
But could not transfer the snapshots to this forum post
I was unable to highlight the snapshots and then use klipper to post them here.
Please tell me how to do this
thanks


nOn_On
this was a new install. I have never used Pardus before
The Tasma control center did not seem to be able to give me any sound on either the BBC videos or on the Sesame street videos (the visual part of the videos worked)



Logged
bubbel
Guest
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2009, 16:24:51 PM »


But could not transfer the snapshots to this forum post


Hello jan37,

with extended options below the text you can insert the snapshots.  Wink

Greetings
bubbel
Logged
n0n_0n
Newbie
*
Gender: Male
Posts: 19



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2009, 20:10:51 PM »

...
I followed your instructions and then used "print screen"to get a snapshot of the console.
...

You can copy the contents of a shell (konsole, xterm etc) by pressing the left mouse button while you select the text (as in any operating system, eg Windows XP).   
Once selected, go to where you want and copy it by pressing the middle button, copy the contents magically.
If you have no middle button or you want to do it the classic (long) way, once selected, press the right button and select the option copy  the marks, then you copy it anywhere you want, press the right button and paste.

This is the same as is done in a word processor.

if you open the system carpet on the Desktop, See you the XP partition?.
Then you can put the screenshot of System carpet  as you said bubbel.
Logged
jan37
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 47


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2009, 21:08:39 PM »

PhiX


Password:
jan-pardus ~ # fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 40.0 GB, 40020664320 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 4865 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xd23bd23b

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System

Disk /dev/sdb: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x052e052d

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdb1   *           1         738     5927953+  83  Linux
/dev/sdb2             739       19457   150360367+   5  Extended
/dev/sdb5             739         844      851413+  82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sdb6             845        3519    21486906   83  Linux
jan-pardus ~ #

default 0
gfxmenu /boot/grub/message
background 10333C
timeout 10

title Pardus 2008.2 Canis aureus
root (hd1,0)
kernel (hd1,0)/boot/kernel-2.6.25.20-114 root=LABEL=PARDUS_ROOT vga=791 splash=silent quiet resume=/dev/sdb5
initrd (hd1,0)/boot/initramfs-2.6.25.20-114
----------------------------------------
bubbel
please show me where yhis is located:
"with extended options below the text you can insert the snapshots"
----------------------------------------------
n0n_0n
for some reason I was unable to do what you suggested. I tried, as it is the normal way of working in linux. Shortly after trying my mouse died on me and I  had to pull the plug.
Both the mouse and Klipper worked this time.
There is no xp disk shown on the desk top
thanks to you all


Logged
n0n_0n
Newbie
*
Gender: Male
Posts: 19



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: February 28, 2009, 01:59:35 AM »

Code:
'Okay, Houston, we've had a problem here.'

Well, XP is gone.
There was possibly erased (only) the partition table on the first hard disk, but XP is still there.
       
There is a tool called http://www.cgsecurity.org/wiki/TestDisk_Step_By_StepTestDisk to recover partitions that can be missing, missing data etc if you have NOT formatted ...

It is very powerful but you should have some knowledge of computers, however, management is easy once you read the documentation. Windows is very "fussy" and once recovered the partition table you may have to recover the system from the Windows Recovery Console. (Another Houston problem...)

Pardus have the TestDisk package, so you can install with Pisi.

It is a very powerful tool that you must handle with care. Must run as root, so either read the wiki TestDisk...

If you can seethe partition table with TestDisk on Hard Disk at least you can recover and backup the data and almost certain that the entire system with a little patience.
Another problem is that you installed grub on the first disk and not can boot Pardus after the recovery, but it can also be fixed...

Welcome to the (home) world of forensic analysis!
« Last Edit: February 28, 2009, 02:04:00 AM by n0n_0n » Logged
bubbel
Guest
« Reply #8 on: February 28, 2009, 06:30:44 AM »


please show me where yhis is located:
"with extended options below the text you can insert the snapshots"


Look screenshot!


* SMF.png (160.32 KB, 1440x900 - viewed 95 times.)
Logged
PhiX
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 642



View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: February 28, 2009, 19:31:23 PM »

fdisk says you have no partition at all on the first hard drive. It looks as if you have formated (erased) your Windows XP Undecided

You can double-check by clicking on the "System" icon on your desktop. Do you see a Windows partition ?
Logged

Team Pardus-fr - French Pardus tools translator
jan37
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 47


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: March 04, 2009, 15:06:51 PM »

Many thanks to you all for your very quick replies.
I have decided to wait for the 2009 version of Pardus.
Thank you all
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!