Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 17, 2014, 23:40:16 PM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Software
| | |-+  No GUI autostart
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Go Down Print
Author Topic: No GUI autostart  (Read 2284 times)
kanwar.plaha
Newbie
*
Gender: Male
Posts: 15



View Profile
« on: August 25, 2009, 21:45:22 PM »


I have noticed that Pardus has stopped booting into GUI automatically. In fact, KDM does not start at all. I have to login to console and do 'startx'.

What is the service name that autostarts the gui and how can I get it back?
Logged
bubbel
Guest
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2009, 06:07:11 AM »


What is the service name that autostarts the gui and how can I get it back?

Hello,

please look in Tasma > System > Boot-Manager if you can change it there or Tasma > Desktop > Auto-Start-Manager

If you can t see Auto-Start-Manager you must install the package autostart  Wink

Greetings
bubbel
Logged
trixon
Guest
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2009, 07:06:42 AM »


What is the service name that autostarts the gui and how can I get it back?

I think the service is xdm,
Code:
sudo service xdm on

Code:
service help
Logged
PhiX
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 642



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2009, 13:35:27 PM »

It's bug number 10034. You can add as a comment that you are among those experiencing it. Hopefully the increasing number of people suffering from it will trigger the developpers' attention.

A workaround is to install and use GDM instead of KDM.
« Last Edit: August 26, 2009, 13:46:16 PM by PhiX » Logged

Team Pardus-fr - French Pardus tools translator
Michiel
Administrator
Pardus Guru
*****
Posts: 799



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 26, 2009, 13:37:33 PM »

IA workaround is to install and use GDM instead of KDM.

That's also my initial thought, for a howto you might take a look in the threads Pardus 2009 with GNOME / XFCE.
Logged

Former Pardus user, now on OpenSUSE 12.2 (KDE)
kanwar.plaha
Newbie
*
Gender: Male
Posts: 15



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: August 26, 2009, 21:32:44 PM »

Thanks for all replies. I tried each solution but it appears to be a bug, as said by PhiX. So, i installed GDM and it works. However, its not a solution, only a workaround.
I will update the bug page as well.
Logged
Michiel
Administrator
Pardus Guru
*****
Posts: 799



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: August 26, 2009, 22:26:24 PM »

It is a pity that unlike GDM or XDM the KDM display Manager apparently is integrated very heavily/tightly  in the KDE environment.
I guess that is why bugs that cause serious GUI login troubles are bothering us lately since the move from KDE3 tot KDE4.

I was also unable to move from 2009RC2 to 2009 and had to do a fresh install of 2009 to get into GUI.

Perhaps I should have waited for a migration module from 2008 to 2009, however remarkably the moves from 2008 to 2009 beta and 2009 RC1 and RC2 did not give any problems on this for me, it was the final move to 2009 that broke my KDM/GUI login.
Logged

Former Pardus user, now on OpenSUSE 12.2 (KDE)
azra
Pardus Master
***
Gender: Male
Posts: 189



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: September 03, 2009, 20:11:10 PM »

I seem to have the same problem.
Once GDM is installed from PISI, how do I select it instead of KDM?
I am assuming that I do not need any other Gnome packages, I just need the GDM package and dependencies from PISI?
Logged
Michiel
Administrator
Pardus Guru
*****
Posts: 799



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: September 03, 2009, 20:28:48 PM »

Isn't that just like described in the topics Pardus 2009 with XFCE/GNOME?

===============================================
first, open ‘/etc/conf.d/xdm’ in an text editor with admin privilages. you should change

Code:
‘#DISPLAY_MANAGER=”xdm”‘ to ‘DISPLAY_MANAGER=”gdm”‘,
and save of course

===========================================
Logged

Former Pardus user, now on OpenSUSE 12.2 (KDE)
azra
Pardus Master
***
Gender: Male
Posts: 189



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: September 03, 2009, 20:39:25 PM »

Thanks Michiel, this is what I thought, but even this does not work for me  Huh?
I still have to log in and start x manually.
Thank you for the help though.
Logged
azra
Pardus Master
***
Gender: Male
Posts: 189



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: September 03, 2009, 20:49:15 PM »

I seem to have solved it by using the last suggestion on the bug.

Code:
sudo rm -f /etc/X11/kdm/kdmrc

and then

Code:
sudo pisi it --reins kdm
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #11 on: October 01, 2009, 22:04:56 PM »

I think this is a real bug for P2009 as you can read here.
I think everybody will meet this bug sooner or later. 
Logged
PhiX
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 642



View Profile WWW
« Reply #12 on: October 02, 2009, 23:15:56 PM »

I agree, this is a major and critical bug.
Logged

Team Pardus-fr - French Pardus tools translator
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #13 on: October 02, 2009, 23:37:09 PM »

See also my conclusion at Comment #27.
And the status is still
Quote
RESOLVED WORKSFORME
and I can not change this. :'(
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #14 on: October 03, 2009, 10:38:53 AM »

Look here. That is all I can do.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!