Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 24, 2014, 23:01:53 PM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Pardus for beginners
| | |-+  Can I use window based progrms?
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Can I use window based progrms?  (Read 698 times)
Joy
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


View Profile
« on: January 04, 2010, 09:17:36 AM »

Hello,
I read review of Paradus 2009 in distrowatch and I liked it a lot. I would like to install and used Paradus as my OS. Can I use in it Meta Stock a window based progrm?
Awaiting guidence.
Regards.
Joy
Logged
trixon
Guest
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2010, 11:10:03 AM »

Hi Joy, and welcome!

In order to run windows program you need a tool called wine.
You can see the status of meta stock here
http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?sClass=application&iId=5013
and read more about wine here
http://www.winehq.org/about/
Logged
PhiX
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 642



View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2010, 15:47:38 PM »

Another solution is to use virtualbox to run Windows and all of its applications inside the Pardus desktop.
Logged

Team Pardus-fr - French Pardus tools translator
Joy
Newbie
*
Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2010, 18:07:42 PM »

Thanks Trixon and Phix I will go throu it. and come back if I have any problem.
Regards.
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!