Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 19, 2014, 01:20:07 AM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Pardus for beginners
| | |-+  [Solved] Root Account ?
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: [Solved] Root Account ?  (Read 842 times)
obnascar
Newbie
*
Posts: 20


View Profile
« on: January 31, 2010, 14:11:14 PM »

I am new to Pardus but not Linux. I have 6 years of Linux experience, I am booting 8 Linux distros on my computer. I know about the risk of security and system damage that is possible running as root. I have always had a root account on all distros that I have ever used except for when I was a newbie.

I have spent the last two days doing google searches, I also have looked in the most obvious places in the Pardus forums, and have done forum searches with no results of what the secret is of creating a root account in Pardus. So that is why I am here today.....how do I create a root account in Pardus. I know this subject can be a touchy subject in some Linux forums.

cheers,
obnascar
« Last Edit: February 02, 2010, 18:37:26 PM by obnascar » Logged
trixon
Guest
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2010, 14:29:53 PM »

Hi, and welcome
I have a root account, it was created during installation.
http://en.pardus-wiki.org/Pardus:Installation2009#Administrator_.28super_user_or_root.29_password

Are you sure that you don't have one?

Code:
# whoami
root
« Last Edit: January 31, 2010, 14:32:06 PM by trixon » Logged
obnascar
Newbie
*
Posts: 20


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2010, 14:36:24 PM »

I did enter my administration password at install time but I am not able to login as root from the login screen. Thank you for the fast reply trixon.......

whoami of course give me my user name.
« Last Edit: January 31, 2010, 14:44:44 PM by obnascar » Logged
Andreas
Guest
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2010, 14:57:08 PM »

I am not able to login as root from the login screen.


Hello and welcome obnascar,

I mean to know, that this possibility does not exist for Pardus.  Wink

Greetings
Andreas
« Last Edit: January 31, 2010, 15:35:09 PM by Andreas » Logged
trixon
Guest
« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2010, 15:00:15 PM »

Open
Quote
/etc/X11/kdm/kdmrc
and change
Quote
AllowRootLogin=false
to
Quote
AllowRootLogin=true
« Last Edit: January 31, 2010, 15:07:29 PM by trixon » Logged
obnascar
Newbie
*
Posts: 20


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2010, 15:03:55 PM »

Andreas

Aaaaah, that is unusual, I guess I will have to do a reinstall and check the box for no password then, but won't I still be a user and not root. Pardus is different, I just have to learn its personality.
Logged
obnascar
Newbie
*
Posts: 20


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: January 31, 2010, 15:08:58 PM »

Open
Quote
etc/X11/kdm/kdmrc
and change
Quote
AllowRootLogin=false
to
Quote
AllowRootLogin=true

Thanks.....I tried exactly this but I had the path wrong to kdmrc, I should have done a search....me bad ! Of course I am very familar with the kdmrc file.

Case closed,
Thanks much !
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!