Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 16, 2014, 16:40:10 PM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Configuring Pardus
| | |-+  pisi vs package manager (Solved)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 Go Down Print
Author Topic: pisi vs package manager (Solved)  (Read 9127 times)
stux
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 77


View Profile
« on: January 17, 2007, 13:43:13 PM »

I have installed Pardus and everything is running okay except for Package Manager. Strangely I can update and install using
Code:
pisi up
or
Code:
pisi it mysql-server
but when I try to update or install using Package Manager it tells me that I should check my network connection  :oops:

Internet woks, pisi works, I can ping etc but Package Manager just wont run. Does it require me to edit something somewhere Huh? The only editable option I see is the repository.  :roll:  :roll:  :roll:
« Last Edit: May 11, 2007, 11:12:10 AM by globalCitizen » Logged
stux
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 77


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2007, 10:21:20 AM »

Quote
Just a thought


Does Package Manager need to be run as root and if so how?
Logged
Jan Gnodde
Global Moderator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 397


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2007, 12:44:02 PM »

Quote from: "globalCitizen"
Does Package Manager need to be run as root and if so how?

No, but a user has to be member of the wheel-group.

Jan.
Logged
stux
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 77


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2007, 14:50:55 PM »

A-ah wheel-group? Maybe that's why I was getting a "network error" message  :?
Logged
stux
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 77


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2007, 09:42:10 AM »

I have added myself to the wheel group and I still cannot upgrade using Package Manager  :oops:

Is there a file that needs editting somewhere?
Logged
Jan Gnodde
Global Moderator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 397


View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2007, 12:53:55 PM »

The system-wide package-manager files can be found in /usr/kde/3.5/share/apps/package-manager and the (personal) config-files in /home/"username"/.kde3.5/share/config/package-manager and /home/"username"/.kde3.5/share/config/session/package-manager_"session number"
Maybe you can find something there.

Jan.
Logged
stux
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 77


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: February 15, 2007, 13:21:52 PM »

This is the exact message I am getting
Quote
Please check your network connections and try again. (Name or service not known)


I have checked the files and I don't see anything network related  Sad
Logged
stux
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 77


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: February 20, 2007, 07:48:04 AM »

I have reinstalled Pardus and I am getting the same message.

Is there some post installation setup I have to do? Maybe it's something too obvious which is why I am missing it.

Could it be linked to my setting up of Pardus offline then connecting it to the network after installation( I ran both setups at home where I have no network connection). Maybe there could be some pointers there?
Logged
stux
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 77


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: February 20, 2007, 12:58:19 PM »

My resolv.conf file looks like this:
Code:
nameserver 192.168.1.1
nameserver 193.140.100.210
nameserver 193.140.100.220
nameserver 192.168.1.1

I deleted the first 3 lines but they keep coming back, is this normal  :?
Logged
jnmbk
Pardus Developer
Pardus Master
*****
Posts: 174


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: February 21, 2007, 09:18:02 AM »

Quote from: "globalCitizen"
My resolv.conf file looks like this:
Code:
nameserver 192.168.1.1
nameserver 193.140.100.210
nameserver 193.140.100.220
nameserver 192.168.1.1

I deleted the first 3 lines but they keep coming back, is this normal  :?

You can configure these DNS adresses using network-manager in TASMA.
Logged
stux
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 77


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: March 20, 2007, 10:43:55 AM »

I have installed for the 3rd time and I noticed that if a package is already in /var/cache/pisi/packages/ Package Manager can install the package but if I need to update the database or the package has to be downloaded Package Manager fails.

On the CL things work flawless.
Logged
stux
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 77


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: March 26, 2007, 12:12:34 PM »

I have updated to 2007.1 and still no change  Sad
Logged
roverrat
Pardus Master
***
Posts: 236



View Profile
« Reply #12 on: March 30, 2007, 17:27:18 PM »

Are you by any chance behind a proxy?

I have a similar problem: pisi on the command line works when invoking the command as root (after setting the environment variable http_proxy). Package-Manager and pisi when started as an ordinary user however keep complaining about a network error:

roverrat@pardus ~ $ sudo pisi up
Password:
Updating repositories
* Updating repository: pardus-2007
Program Terminated.
Please check your network connections and try again. (Connection refused)
Logged
stux
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 77


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: April 05, 2007, 08:32:13 AM »

Quote from: "roverrat"
Are you by any chance behind a proxy?

Yep I am, could that be the problem?
Logged
roverrat
Pardus Master
***
Posts: 236



View Profile
« Reply #14 on: April 05, 2007, 21:43:40 PM »

If you entered the name and port number of the proxy in Tasma under Internet & Network --> Proxy then I suppose it should work...

Perhaps one of the developers could shed some light on this?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!