Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 23, 2014, 16:27:35 PM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Configuring Pardus
| | |-+  pisi vs package manager (Solved)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 Go Down Print
Author Topic: pisi vs package manager (Solved)  (Read 9185 times)
Talisien
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 55



View Profile
« Reply #30 on: May 10, 2007, 07:03:27 AM »

Hi,

could it be that there was not any misstake? Last week I could not get any update connection with pisi. I just had internet connection via proxy everything worked but pisi did not.

What happend? ....... The update web site "http://paketler.pardus.org.tr" was not avivible. Sometimes such things happen. Pisi always said "Proof networkconnection" .... Connection was not wrong. Some days later everything funktioned.

Greatings
Wolfgang
Logged
Willem
M.D.
Administrator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 1020



View Profile WWW
« Reply #31 on: May 10, 2007, 07:26:48 AM »

The Pisi servers were newly installed with Pardus 2007.1, there was still an older Pardus version on them.
So from this moment on the Pisi servers are even more stable!
Logged

For freedom...
roverrat
Pardus Master
***
Posts: 236



View Profile
« Reply #32 on: May 11, 2007, 10:39:21 AM »

Marty, globalCitizen,

I just checked and after making the entries in the pisi configuration file /etc/pisi/pisi.conf that I mentioned in my previous post both pisi AND package manager are able to connect to the internet and download packages.

I don't even need to set the proxy up through Tasma for this to work, although that of course makes sense for other apps like Konqueror that need to access the internet through the proxy.

Here's the appropriate section in my pisi.conf:

[general]
# autoclean = False
# destinationdirectory = /
# distribution = Pardus
# distribution_release = 2007
ftp_proxy = http://proxy.mycompany.com:8080
http_proxy = http://proxy.mycompany.com:8080
https_proxy = http://proxy.mycompany.com:8080
Logged
stux
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 77


View Profile
« Reply #33 on: May 11, 2007, 11:07:12 AM »

 Shocked All I had to do was remove the #'s  Shocked

The comment here made me think the entries were being read  Undecided

Thanks, it's now working  Wink
Logged
roverrat
Pardus Master
***
Posts: 236



View Profile
« Reply #34 on: May 11, 2007, 11:20:06 AM »

Yes, the proxy lines are already in the file. You just have to remove the comment sign (#) and add the appropriate proxy name (the entries default to "None").
Logged
stux
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 77


View Profile
« Reply #35 on: May 11, 2007, 11:31:14 AM »

I have just installed Tuxpaint using Package Manager  Grin
Logged
msullivan
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 54


View Profile
« Reply #36 on: May 15, 2007, 00:08:54 AM »

roverrat,

Thanks!  I found and edited the pisi.conf file and Package Manager works perfectly!  Thanks a lot!

Marty
Logged
purnendu
Newbie
*
Posts: 7


View Profile
« Reply #37 on: February 08, 2009, 15:54:37 PM »

Hi,
I am a beginer in the linux world and my computer also works behind a proxy network.So I was unable to update  through package manager. Now, what roverrt has suggested I tried to follow but I was unable to edit either of the two files /etc/bashrc and/or /etc/profile. the message was that I don't have permission for editing. So, plz help me out regarding this matter. While installing I made one user with administrative privilege.
Logged
PhiX
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 642



View Profile WWW
« Reply #38 on: February 08, 2009, 16:29:10 PM »

Hello and welcome purnendu,

Type Alt-F2
type kdesu kwrite
click Run button
Enter the administrator's password
Open any configuration file you want to edit.


Logged

Team Pardus-fr - French Pardus tools translator
purnendu
Newbie
*
Posts: 7


View Profile
« Reply #39 on: February 08, 2009, 17:08:21 PM »

thnx a lot PhiX for the quick and helpful reply. However I am confused in one more thing that is I am unable to determine what I should write in place of mycomapny.com. I have proxy server whose ip address suppose be 172.19.4.254 and the port value is 700. Then should I write the command as http://proxy.172.19.4.154.com:700
or it should be something else.
Logged
PhiX
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 642



View Profile WWW
« Reply #40 on: February 08, 2009, 17:17:55 PM »

Try :
http://172.19.4.154:700
Logged

Team Pardus-fr - French Pardus tools translator
purnendu
Newbie
*
Posts: 7


View Profile
« Reply #41 on: February 10, 2009, 11:40:03 AM »

I have tried whatever you people suggested but I am still unable to update either thorugh pisi or through update manager. It still says check your network connection but I can perfectly serach internet by giving proxy settings in mozilla. Please help, I faced the same problem while I installed ubuntu also. I guess I have to be satisfied with windows only!
Logged
roverrat
Pardus Master
***
Posts: 236



View Profile
« Reply #42 on: February 10, 2009, 12:28:29 PM »

 purnendu,

where exactly did you put your proxy information? In the pisi configuration file /etc/pisi/pisi.conf?
Could you please post the contents of the file here? Perhaps that will make it easier for us to help you.

Cheers,
Alex, aka roverrat
Logged
purnendu
Newbie
*
Posts: 7


View Profile
« Reply #43 on: February 10, 2009, 13:14:03 PM »

Thnx Alex. I am posting the contents of pisi.conf and bashrc of my lalaptop. I hope this will make things clear.

pisi.conf: -

build]
# buildhelper = None
buildno = False
cflags = -mtune=i686 -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer
compressionlevel = 7
cxxflags = -mtune=i686 -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer
fallback = http://ftp://ftp.pardus.org.tr/pub/pisi/source
generatedebug = False
host = i686-pc-linux-gnu
jobs = -j1
# ldflags =

[directories]
archives_dir = /var/cache/pisi/archives
compiled_packages_dir = /var/cache/pisi/packages
db_dir = /var/db/pisi
index_dir = /var/lib/pisi/index
kde_dir = /usr/kde/3.5
lib_dir = /var/lib/pisi
log_dir = /var/log
packages_dir = /var/cache/pisi/packages
qt_dir = /usr/qt/3
tmp_dir = /var/pisi

[general]
autoclean = False
destinationdirectory = /
distribution = Pardus
distribution_release = 2007
# ftp_proxy = http://172.16.1.254:800
# http_proxy = http://172.16.1.254:800
# https_proxy = http://172.16.1.254:800

And bashrc:-

# /etc/bash/bashrc
#
# This file is sourced by all *interactive* bash shells on startup,
# including some apparently interactive shells such as scp and rcp
# that can't tolerate any output.  So make sure this doesn't display
# anything or bad things will happen !


# Test for an interactive shell.  There is no need to set anything
# past this point for scp and rcp, and it's important to refrain from
# outputting anything in those cases.
if [[ $- != *i* ]] ; then
   # Shell is non-interactive.  Be done now!
   return
fi

# Bash won't get SIGWINCH if another process is in the foreground.
# Enable checkwinsize so that bash will check the terminal size when
# it regains control.  #65623
# http://cnswww.cns.cwru.edu/~chet/bash/FAQ (E11)
shopt -s checkwinsize

# Minor errors in the spelling of a directory component in a cd command
# will be corrected.
shopt -s cdspell

# Set colorful PS1 only on colorful terminals.
# dircolors --print-database uses its own built-in database
# instead of using /etc/DIR_COLORS.  Try to use the external file
# first to take advantage of user additions.
use_color=false
safe_term=${TERM//[^[:alnum:]]/.}   # sanitize TERM

if [[ -f /etc/DIR_COLORS ]] ; then
   grep -q "^TERM ${safe_term}" /etc/DIR_COLORS && use_color=true
elif type -p dircolors >/dev/null ; then
   if dircolors --print-database | grep -q "^TERM ${safe_term}" ; then
      use_color=true
   fi
fi

if ${use_color} ; then
   if [ "$EUID" = 0 ] || [ "`/bin/whoami`" == 'root' ]; then
      export PS1='\[\033[1;31m\]\h \[\033[1;34m\]\W \$ \[\033[00m\]'
   else
      export PS1='\[\033[1m\]\u@\h \[\033[0;31m\]\W \$ \[\033[00m\]'
   fi
else
   PS1='\u@\h: \W \$ '
fi

# Try to keep environment pollution down, EPA loves us.
unset use_color safe_term
http_proxy=http://sandeep:godfather@172.16.1.254:800
export http_proxy

Logged
PhiX
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 642



View Profile WWW
« Reply #44 on: February 10, 2009, 13:29:28 PM »

In the general section of pisi.conf, you have to remove the '#' characters in front of the proxy lines, so that it looks like this :
Code:
[general]
autoclean = False
destinationdirectory = /
distribution = Pardus
distribution_release = 2007
ftp_proxy = http://172.16.1.254:800
http_proxy = http://172.16.1.254:800
https_proxy = http://172.16.1.254:800
Logged

Team Pardus-fr - French Pardus tools translator
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!