Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 17, 2014, 00:04:45 AM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Pardus for beginners
| | |-+  Problem updating VMware (Solved)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Problem updating VMware (Solved)  (Read 4487 times)
John
blackpig
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 44



View Profile
« on: August 24, 2010, 17:25:45 PM »

Ran the update which seemed to go OK.
Went to restart and got this message:-

Failed to open device "/dev/vmci": No such file or directory
Please make sure that the kernel module 'vmci' is loaded.
Module DevicePowerOn power on failed.

How do I correct this please
« Last Edit: August 25, 2010, 21:14:15 PM by John » Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2010, 00:07:06 AM »

Ran the update ......
Which update .... Huh? Could you give more info.
And is this about VMware Player?
Logged
John
blackpig
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 44



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2010, 00:19:47 AM »

Yes using VMWare Player . Previous version 3.1 now 3.1.1 build-282343
I updated as I got a message when I started it new version available and the upgrade was automatic.
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2010, 08:47:52 AM »

Try if
Quote
su
and
Quote
echo vmci>>/etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6
in a konsole + restart of the computer will be the solution. Wink
« Last Edit: August 25, 2010, 17:41:34 PM by atolboo » Logged
John
blackpig
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 44



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2010, 11:35:10 AM »

When I put this "echo vmci>>/etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6" into terminal nothing happens :'(
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2010, 12:46:05 PM »

I am working on the problem with the new VMware Player version 3.1.1.
After some modifications, I have it running again with the remaining problem that XP inside VMware Player doesn't have a working LAN interface yet.
Have some patient  while I am trying to solve this last (I hope) problem.
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: August 25, 2010, 17:38:22 PM »

Have some patient  ................... while I am trying to solve this last (I hope) problem.
The solution is rather simple and easy to do........
As this is a new version of VMware Player, the the only required aditional action is:
Apply  >Required modification of VMware-Player executable file< from the Wiki manual.
This solves the problem for me. Wink

And to remove this vmci do:
Alt+F2 and enter
Code:
kdesu kwrite /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6
and remove vmci + Save + Close + restart computer.
« Last Edit: August 25, 2010, 17:48:03 PM by atolboo » Logged
John
blackpig
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 44



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: August 25, 2010, 19:08:32 PM »

Thanks - will give it a go when I've got time - will post the result.
Logged
John
blackpig
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 44



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: August 25, 2010, 19:46:02 PM »


And to remove this vmci do:
Alt+F2 and enter
Code:
kdesu kwrite /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6
and remove vmci + Save + Close + restart computer.
[/quote]

Sorry, not sure about this bit, when I go into the above I get

# /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6:  kernel modules to load when system boots.
#
# Note that this file is for 2.6 kernels.
#
# Add the names of modules that you'd like to load when the system
# starts into this file, one per line.  Comments begin with # and
# are ignored.  Read man modules.autoload for additional details.

# For example:
# 3c59x
vmci
vmci
vmci
vmci
vmci
vmci
 
So- which vmci do I remove?
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: August 25, 2010, 21:00:05 PM »

So- which vmci do I remove?
All Wink
Logged
John
blackpig
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 44



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: August 25, 2010, 21:13:25 PM »

You Sir are a genius -  Wink Wink Cheesy
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #11 on: August 25, 2010, 21:23:06 PM »

No, I am only   
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!