Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 21, 2014, 16:45:37 PM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Pardus for beginners
| | |-+  Printer = Brother MFC 3240-c
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: 1 [2] 3 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Printer = Brother MFC 3240-c  (Read 4583 times)
robert
Newbie
*
Posts: 22


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: December 21, 2010, 18:28:41 PM »

My oh my, you have really made this so easy.    Thank you.

Things all went well but when I printed from Open Office I still get the error message but the file still prints.

'There was a problem processing the document 'untitled' (job XX)'.

In Systems Settings-Printer Configuration, I no longer get the test boxes.   

Are these iems a problem?
.
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #16 on: December 21, 2010, 18:36:37 PM »

And what is the result of
2. In Firefox goto http://localhost:631/printers/ and select Print Test Page.
and what is reported there

The first test if this driver is working correctly is the test in Firefox.
And the Open Office issue will come later, otherwise two different problems can influence each other.
 
« Last Edit: December 21, 2010, 19:04:55 PM by atolboo » Logged
robert
Newbie
*
Posts: 22


View Profile
« Reply #17 on: December 21, 2010, 20:08:14 PM »

MFC-3240C  (Default Printer)

Description: MFC-3240C
Location: robert-pardus
Printer Driver: Brother MFC-3240C CUPS v1.1
Printer State: idle, accepting jobs, published.
Device URI: usb://Brother/MFC-3240C
.
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #18 on: December 21, 2010, 20:18:40 PM »

Is the button "Print Test Page" in Firefox http://localhost:631/printers/ printing a page
I would like to see an answer YES or NO to this question.
« Last Edit: December 21, 2010, 20:22:27 PM by atolboo » Logged
robert
Newbie
*
Posts: 22


View Profile
« Reply #19 on: December 21, 2010, 20:29:41 PM »

'Print Test Page works in the local host 631.

So the answer is - YES.
.
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #20 on: December 21, 2010, 20:48:57 PM »

So the answer is - YES.
Thank you, finally I get the right and very positive answer.
This means I can include this driver in  http://pakete.pardususer.de/pardus-2009/  

And to confirm which version has been installed, could you post the result of:
Open a Konsole (Terminal) and enter the next command (the easiest way is to use select >right-click>copy and paste)
Code:
pisi info brother-mfc3240c | grep brother
« Last Edit: December 21, 2010, 20:57:28 PM by atolboo » Logged
robert
Newbie
*
Posts: 22


View Profile
« Reply #21 on: December 21, 2010, 21:19:49 PM »

robert@robert-pardus ~ $ pisi info brother-mfc3240c | grep brother
Name                : brother-mfc3240c, version: 1.0.2, release: 2, build 2
brother-mfc3240c package is not found in binary repositories
brother-mfc3240c package is not found in source repositories
robert@robert-pardus ~ $

Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #22 on: December 21, 2010, 21:44:24 PM »

Thanks for the needed information.
And now the next test.
Can you print from KWrite (Texteditor)
1. Start KWrite.
2. Enter some text (for instance '12345')
3 Activate File > Print...
Logged
robert
Newbie
*
Posts: 22


View Profile
« Reply #23 on: December 21, 2010, 21:59:23 PM »

Opened Kwrite and added some letters and numbers.

Clicked on File and Print

Blank page - none of what I wrote but did also got the usual error about Print Error as I have reported before.

Question about Activate file then print.    Did I misunderstand what you wanted me to do?

EDIT to add:    While the text did not print there was one long line, across, at the lower margin area.
« Last Edit: December 21, 2010, 22:04:56 PM by robert » Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #24 on: December 21, 2010, 22:10:16 PM »

Did I misunderstand what you wanted me to do?
No, I don't get the idea that you did misunderstand me.
Obviously the printer gets a command to print a page but the contents of the page isn't send to the printer.
I have to think   about a command (in console) that gives more and detailed information what's going on.

But right now it's about time to go to bed
« Last Edit: December 21, 2010, 22:12:51 PM by atolboo » Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #25 on: December 22, 2010, 13:48:12 PM »

The command in console is
Code:
lp -d printer_name any_filename
And with
MFC-3240C  (Default Printer)
as reference, this is (= the brown name in http://localhost:631/printers/)
Code:
lp -d mfc-3240c any_filename
(the printer_name is NOT case sensitive while any_filename is case sensitive)
And any_filename can be any file, also image files like .png or .jpeg or etc.
The easiest way to do this, is to go in Dolphin to the right directory (where the file is situated), open a console with F4 (< this a toggle switch) and enter the command
Code:
lp -d ........

And does the
2. In Firefox goto http://localhost:631/printers/ and select Print Test Page.
looks like this >Figure 6: The CUPS Printer Test Page<
« Last Edit: December 22, 2010, 17:39:03 PM by atolboo » Logged
robert
Newbie
*
Posts: 22


View Profile
« Reply #26 on: December 22, 2010, 20:07:46 PM »

I hope this is what you  wanted me to do.

robert@robert-pardus ~ $ cd /home/robert
robert@robert-pardus ~ $
robert@robert-pardus ~ $ cd /home/robert
robert@robert-pardus ~ $ lp -d MFC-3240c Grub now working.odt
lp: Error - unable to access "Grub" - No such file or directory
robert@robert-pardus ~ $ lp -d mfc-3240c Grub now working.odt
lp: Error - unable to access "Grub" - No such file or directory
robert@robert-pardus ~ $

file:///home/robert/Desktop
file:///home/robert/Documents
file:///home/robert/Downloads
file:///home/robert/Grub now%20 working.odt

This file appears as 'Grub now working.odt'     I have no idea where that %20  comes from when I copied.    Maybe that is the problem for the printer.    Maybe I should 'rename' and try again.    This is the only file I have in Pardus so far.

Yes, my test page  looks just like figure 6, but with CUPS v1.3.x

Off to the doctors now.     Will return to this later today.
.
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #27 on: December 22, 2010, 20:19:16 PM »

lp: Error - unable to access "Grub" - No such file or directory
This mans that this file is not accessible.
Why don't you try this with a file with a shorter (and simpler) filename.
And preferably a file with only text and not a .odt file.
This to make thing unnecessarily complicated.
And do a
Code:
ls
before entering the "lp -d ..." command.

This is the only file I have in Pardus so far.
My suggestion: Make a new simple text file with KWrite.

Yes, my test page  looks just like figure 6, but with CUPS v1.3.x
That's correct as Pardus has cups, version 1.3.11 Wink
And this means that the printer driver is working correctly and able to print images (= Color Wheel) and regular text (the bottom part).

« Last Edit: December 22, 2010, 20:48:04 PM by atolboo » Logged
robert
Newbie
*
Posts: 22


View Profile
« Reply #28 on: December 22, 2010, 22:15:50 PM »

Survived the doctor.    New  file created.

robert@robert-pardus ~ $ ls
Desktop  Documents  Downloads  Grub now  working.odt  Printertest
robert@robert-pardus ~ $ lp -d mfc-3240c Printertest
request id is mfc-3240c-21 (1 file(s))
robert@robert-pardus ~ $ lp -d mfc-3240c Printertest
request id is mfc-3240c-22 (1 file(s))
robert@robert-pardus ~ $

First print command I had  forgotten to connect the printer.    So I connected the priiter  and  got a typeical Print Error - There was a problem etc.    But the  file printed.

Tried the print command once again.   Same as above.   Print error message followed by a file print.
.
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #29 on: December 23, 2010, 00:02:11 AM »

Maybe you can find more information in the file /var/log/cups/error_log Huh?
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!