Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 18, 2014, 20:24:27 PM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  General
| |-+  General topics
| | |-+  A Mandriva user write little about Pardus 2011 RC
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: A Mandriva user write little about Pardus 2011 RC  (Read 2927 times)
John A
Guest
« on: January 11, 2011, 17:27:10 PM »

http://www.tuxmachines.org/node/50159
Logged
jan37
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 47


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2011, 19:25:15 PM »

The author of the review notes, at the end, that installing Pardus prevented him from accessing his mandriva os.

http://mandrivachronicles.blogspot.com/2011/01/pardus-2011-impressions-from-common.html
<quote>
Only one word of advise for Mandriva Linux beginners (like myself): if you have a dual boot (Mandriva-Windows) and you install Pardus, you lose your access to Mandriva because the Pardus grub won't let you see Mandriva. Likewise, after I restored the Mandriva grub, I couln't find Pardus. I'm sure there must be a way to triple boot, but that is right now beyond my limited knowledge.<end quote>

I hope that the developers can overcome this.
There are many posts on many forums about "booting".
Unfortunately they seem too complex(to me)
I would really like someone to point me to an article that explains in very great detail, but lucidly, how "chain loading" overcomes this.
Logged
SpecialEd
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 30



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2011, 19:37:24 PM »

I don't know anything about chainloading and I am far from a linux guru, but all I do when installing a another distro on a separate partition is install its grub in its partition, copy the entry from that grub into the my boot grub.  If that makes sense. LOL  Keeps any additional grubs overwriting what's working and potentially messing things up.

Ed
Logged

Alienware m17x R1
Intel Core2 Extreme x9000 x86-64
4gigs of ram
Dual 9800m GT's

Win7
Pardus 2011
Sabayon 5.5
Kubuntu 10.10
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2011, 21:12:56 PM »

I'm sure there must be a way to triple boot, but that is right now beyond my limited knowledge.
There is a way to do this and depends on which version of GRUB the other OS is using.
Grub legacy (used by Pardus and ...?) or Grub 2 (used by Ubuntu and ...?)

And there is>this post< about the subject and >this Wiki-page< and >this Wiki-page<.
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2011, 13:03:59 PM »

Referring to this [Pardus-users] Problem with dualbooting Pardus 2011.
Can you get a copy of the review and post it here.
If it's in the Swedish language, I hope http://translate.google.com/ can be of any help.
Without further information I can't comment on his problems.
Logged
John A
Guest
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2011, 15:15:40 PM »

The problem are that you can not read that review at internet. But I have a copy of that magazine at home and can write it down later.
2 people have bring up this issue in the Swedish pardus.nu:

Comment one:

Hej jag har just installerat pardus på min dator, allt fungerade vid en hastig titt,men Grub visade bara Windows i listan där borde även ubuntu remix och Ubuntu 10-10 finnas. Kan man återställa Grub? Mvh

Comment two:

Hej på er, allesamman.
 Precis det som Gert tar upp, det hände mig härhemma, för någon vecka sedan.
 Allt övrigt Linux försvann. Enbart MS-win7 och Pardus var kvar i bootuppstarten.
 
Mycket trist!
 
Jag har tidigare varit en användare av Pardus. Ett par, tre år sedan. Från tiden när Pardus var nytt. Både jag och frugan var mycket nöjda med Pardus redan då. Även om vi, i grunden, var Ubuntu-freak. Jag återgick till Ubuntu, mer pga vana, men frugan höll länge envist kvar vid Pardus.
 
Nu ville jag ge Pardus ännu ett försök, för någon vecka sedan, med samma resultat för mig, som för Gert.

Sådant, gillar jag inte.
 
I ett slag försvann Ubuntu, både 32- och 64bits. Kubuntu, LinuxMint, LinuxDebian samt SnowLinux. De var bara som bortsopade.
 
Pardus kan mer, kan bättre, än så här.
 Problemet synes föreligga i Pardus och inte i någon annan dist.
 
Någon, någonstans, i Pardus mer aktiva led, bör undersöka saken och få det till att bli åtgärdat. Pardus i sig, förtjänar det.
 
Nu är Pardus tillfälligt borttaget hos mig. Men, så snart som jag läser att någon har funnit ett fel, fått det till att bli korrigerat, så vill jag än en gång installera det, för att få känna på Pardus möjligheter.
 
Administrationen här, har min mailadress. Snälla, håll mig informerad om, när denna bugg är avhjälpt. Det finns plats för Pardus här och vi (frugan och jag), vill gärna testa det ännu en gång samt, ha det, bland övriga Linuxdistar som vi uppskattar.
 
Hälsningar och en tillönskan om att lycka till med buggen,
 
Leffe


One of the reviews comment this to (not from the Datormagazin):

Only one word of advise for Mandriva Linux beginners (like myself): if you have a dual boot (Mandriva-Windows) and you install Pardus, you lose your access to Mandriva because the Pardus grub won't let you see Mandriva. Likewise, after I restored the Mandriva grub, I couln't find Pardus. I'm sure there must be a way to triple boot, but that is right now beyond my limited knowledge
« Last Edit: March 16, 2011, 15:50:28 PM by John A » Logged
John A
Guest
« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2011, 15:45:51 PM »

Its in short problems with triple boots (not realy with dual booting). And that was the review in datormagazin write to.
Maybe it can be of some help. Smiley
« Last Edit: March 16, 2011, 15:52:44 PM by John A » Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: March 16, 2011, 17:16:28 PM »

2 people have bring up this issue in the Swedish pardus.nu:
Translated by http://translate.google.com/
Quote
Comment one:
Hi I have just installed Pardus on my computer, everything worked at a quick look, but Grub showed only Windows in the list which should also ubuntu remix and Ubuntu be 10-10. Can I restore Grub? Sincerely

Comment two:
Hello, every one.
 Just what Gert takes up, it happened to me here at home, a week ago.
 All other Linux disappeared. Only MS-win7 and Pardus was left in bootuppstarten.
 
Very sad!
 
I've been a user of Pardus. A couple, three years ago. From the time when Pardus was new. Both me and my wife were very happy with Pardus even then. Although we, basically, was Ubuntu-freak. I went back to Ubuntu, more because of habit, but my wife was far stubbornly at Pardus.
 
Now I wanted to give Pardus a try yet, a week ago, with the same result for me, as for Gert.

Such, I do not like.
 
In a battle lost Ubuntu, both 32 - and 64-bit. Kubuntu, LinuxMint, linux debian linux and snow. They were just as swept away.
 
Pardus is more, can be better than this.
 The problem seems to exist in Pardus and not in some other districts.
 
Someone, somewhere, in Pardus more active part, should look into it and get it to be fixed. Pardus, in itself, deserves it.
 
Now Pardus temporarily removed from me. But, as soon as I read that someone has found a bug, got it to be corrected, and I will once again install it, to get to know the Pardus opportunities.
 
The administration here, has my address. Please keep me informed of when this bug is fixed. There is space for Pardus here and we (my wife and I) would like to try it again and, having, among other Linuxdistar which we appreciate.
 
Greetings and to wish for good luck with the bug,
 
Leffe
And with no more information than this, I cannot do anything Wink
« Last Edit: March 16, 2011, 20:44:29 PM by atolboo » Logged
John A
Guest
« Reply #8 on: March 16, 2011, 17:20:25 PM »

I have no Windows 7 so I can not test a triple booting. I only run one operating system at the time. But maybe thoose who got problem can fill in a bug report themselves.
Logged
Lisa
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 841



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: March 16, 2011, 20:34:06 PM »

I am currently running XP on my first hard drive and Pardus plus three other Linux distros on my second hard drive with no problem.  No experience with Mandriva, though.  The four Linux distros each have separate /home and / (root) partitions.   The only thing I had to do was use atolboo's wiki how-to that he posted above to add Kanotix, which uses Debian based Grub2.  One of the  distros uses Debian Grub legacy and another uses Ubuntu specific Grub 2 type grub.   Pardus found the later two, plus XP. 

Yes, not enough information there to find out if it really is a bug.  I read this:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=9258418
and wondered if there was something similar in the commenter's setup? 
I remember when I tried opensuse a year ago, you had to install /boot one one small ext3 partition and / on a second ext4 partition.
Lisa
Logged
BellaPup
Guest
« Reply #10 on: March 16, 2011, 21:05:49 PM »

In the past I have had each OS install it's boot loader in it's own root partition and used GAG to boot the OS I wanted.

http://gag.sourceforge.net/
« Last Edit: March 16, 2011, 21:09:11 PM by BellaPup » Logged
BellaPup
Guest
« Reply #11 on: March 16, 2011, 21:23:22 PM »

I should say that now I have a Windoze / Linux box that has Win 7 as the primary OS and I also have XP and Pardus on it. I left the loader for Win 7 in place and use a program call EasyBSD to add XP and Pardus to the Win 7 boot menu, thereby leaving the Win 7 loader as it is.

http://neosmart.net/dl.php?id=1

Works for my case and was painless, as was GAG earlier.
Logged
John A
Guest
« Reply #12 on: March 16, 2011, 21:41:03 PM »

I have read this. Maybe some similar problems to:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1680125

http://www.howtolinuxhelp.com/dual-booting-ubuntu-and-pardus-with-grub2-pardus-no-show.html

And its a old bug reports here to:
http://bugs.pardus.org.tr/show_bug.cgi?id=13148
http://bugs.pardus.org.tr/show_bug.cgi?id=13838

Many is in Turkish that I not understand:
http://bugs.pardus.org.tr/buglist.cgi?quicksearch=grub

So I guess its something that not work properly if you use triple booting etc..
« Last Edit: March 16, 2011, 21:59:04 PM by John A » Logged
komboy
Newbie
*
Posts: 17


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: April 02, 2011, 10:38:52 AM »

Agree with BellaPup.

Windows7 is pretty pain in the S when it comes to its bootloader (about same way as Grub2 if you want a balanced perspective).
But I find Neosmart EasyBCD is very helpful. So Google that and download it. They got a good support forum as well.
Logged
tippekanu
Newbie
*
Posts: 8


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: May 08, 2011, 02:34:20 AM »

I have been using a setup that works well for me. This is what I would recommend:

If you need to use Windows, it is best to install it on the first primary partition.

Then I install legacy GRUB on a small second primary partition.

The next OS can then be installed on the third primary partition, and install its
GRUB bootloader in that partition, NOT the Master Boot Record MBR at the
beginning of the disk.

The next partition can be made as an extended partition, with logical partitions
under it. Most linux versions will install fine on a logical partition. Make sure
the GRUB bootloaders on each OS are installed in its own partition.

The main GRUB in the second partition has the menu.lst file that will detail each
OS and which partitions they reside on.

PLease see this site for all the details:

How to install over 100 distributions including Linux, BSDs, Windows, on one machine using GRUB

http://www.justlinux.com/forum/showthread.php?t=143973
« Last Edit: May 08, 2011, 22:36:45 PM by tippekanu » Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!