Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 19, 2014, 01:25:18 AM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Bugs
| | |-+  firefox crash
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: firefox crash  (Read 1981 times)
Kranthi
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 102



View Profile WWW
« on: January 30, 2011, 07:21:28 AM »

Firefox crashes immediately after loading a page from the Internet. This happens even in safe mode. This started happening after I installed gtalk plugin.
this is the error message:
(process:9837): GLib-CRITICAL **: g_slice_set_config: assertion `sys_page_size == 0' failed
NPP_GetValue()
NPP_GetValue()
Inconsistency detected by ld.so: dl-open.c: 612: _dl_open: Assertion `_dl_debug_initialize (0, args.nsid)->r_state == RT_CONSISTENT' failed!
i have reinstalled Firefox using package manager but the same problem persists even opening the add-on manager crashes Firefox

Troubleshooting Information


  Application Basics

        Name
        Firefox

        Version
        4.0b9

        User Agent
        Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux i686; rv:2.0b9) Gecko/20110115 Firefox/4.0b9

        Profile Directory

          Open Containing Folder

        Enabled Plugins

          about:plugins

        Build Configuration

          about:buildconfig

  Extensions

        Name

        Version

        Enabled

        ID

        Panda3D Game Engine Plug-In
        1.0.2
        true
        runtime@panda3d.org

        DownloadHelper
        4.8.2
        true
        {b9db16a4-6edc-47ec-a1f4-b86292ed211d}

  Modified Preferences

      Name

      Value

        browser.places.smartBookmarksVersion
        2

        extensions.lastAppVersion
        4.0b9

        network.cookie.prefsMigrated
        true

        places.history.expiration.transient_current_max_pages
        59272

        privacy.sanitize.migrateFx3Prefs
        true

  Graphics

      GPU Accelerated Windows
      0/1
Logged

The Cube
James T
Pardus Master
***
Posts: 155



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2011, 17:09:37 PM »

Given that you've reintalled firefox, and the fact that the problem isn't universal, I think the problem is somewhere else. Given the original error message, my next target would be glib. A useful command here could be:
Code:
pisi check glib2
(Or any other package you might suspect).
Logged
Kranthi
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 102



View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2011, 19:09:04 PM »

I tried this code
Code:
pisi check glib2
It did not work. glib2 is ok
please tell me which other libraries i should check
Logged

The Cube
mpie
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 133



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2011, 12:23:34 PM »

Quote
Kranthi said
this started after I installed gtalkplugin

if you uninstall the gtalk plugin?

does it work then?

Where did you get the gtalkplugin from?
« Last Edit: January 31, 2011, 12:28:08 PM by mpie » Logged
Kranthi
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 102



View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2011, 06:40:21 AM »

I got the plugin from google website
http://www.google.com/chat/video

how do I uninstall the plugin?
« Last Edit: February 01, 2011, 06:49:16 AM by Kranthi » Logged

The Cube
mpie
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 133



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2011, 07:12:59 AM »

depends how you installed.....
if installed as user (no request for password) it will be in .mozilla/firefox/plugins

if it asked for root password, it could be in a few different locations but there is usually an uninstaller too.
 /usr/lib/browser-plugins is pardus default

/usr/lib/firefox/plugins
/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins

are other places to look

Did you use the compiled plugin or make from source?
Logged
Kranthi
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 102



View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: February 01, 2011, 07:22:23 AM »

I used
rpm2targz google-talkplugin_current_i386.rpm
sudo tar xzvf google-talkplugin_current_i386.tar.gz -C /
It asked for password

The plugin is in
/usr/lib/firefox/plugins
/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins
Logged

The Cube
mpie
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 133



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: February 01, 2011, 08:43:49 AM »

extract tarball tar xvf google-talkplugin_current_i386.tar.gz
or right click extract, then browse  to see the structure.

then sudo rm the file the ff work again, the dangers of precompiled software Smiley
Logged
Kranthi
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 102



View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: February 01, 2011, 10:05:09 AM »

Thanks now firefox is working fine again  Grin  Grin
But is there any way to make it work with google talk plugin?
Logged

The Cube
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!