Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 21, 2014, 01:30:55 AM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Pardus for beginners
| | |-+  LiveDVD
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Go Down Print
Author Topic: LiveDVD  (Read 1711 times)
Dean
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 139



View Profile
« on: March 11, 2011, 06:19:11 AM »

Neither the Pardus 2011 32 or 64 bit Live DVD will work for me.  After selecting "English" and "Live Session", I end up with a cursor and the welcome sound, but a checkerboard screen of light and dark rectangles.
Logged
Craig
Guest
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2011, 15:18:43 PM »

With the install DVD, this is what worked for me: After selecting English as the system language, I typed this parameter into the "Boot Options" line:
Code:
xorg=safe
It should work with the Live DVD.

From this thread: http://worldforum.pardus-linux.nl/index.php?topic=3582.0
Logged
Dean
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 139



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2011, 15:57:33 PM »

Thanks, Craig.

Using F4 on the start menu and selecting "Failsafe" mode got me past that problem.  It came up 1024x768.  I am using the Live DVD right now.

Does this do the same thing you mentioned?
Logged
Craig
Guest
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2011, 16:13:32 PM »

Yup.
Logged
Dean
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 139



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2011, 16:30:39 PM »

I have used Live CD/DVDs umteen times with many distros and never had this problem. 

What is going on here?

Am I going to be locked into 1024x768?
Logged
Craig
Guest
« Reply #5 on: March 11, 2011, 16:55:14 PM »

If you choose to install, you'll be given a choice to install proprietary drivers. Choose yes and the NVIDIA proprietary driver will be installed and you'll be fine.

It's a problem with the default free video driver. I don't know why that is but it's a known bug. I'm sure they're working on it.
Logged
Dean
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 139



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: March 11, 2011, 17:27:30 PM »

The "big green one" that came out yesterday has the same problem.  Next month, the "brown now purple one" comes out.  This has got to be one giant headache for all involved.
Logged
Craig
Guest
« Reply #7 on: March 11, 2011, 18:32:17 PM »

Uhhh... I have no idea what you're talking about . The big green one? LOL!

Yes, it doesn't look good to new users. I don't know why the free drivers do that on Pardus but are okay on other distros. Until they figure it out, they should set the proprietary driver as default.
Logged
Dean
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 139



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: March 11, 2011, 19:01:15 PM »

The green one with the lizard and the funny name that comes out every 8 months from over there in Europe.  It did me the same way.
Logged
Craig
Guest
« Reply #9 on: March 11, 2011, 19:23:07 PM »

Ohhhh! I see.  Grin So it's not just Pardus then. Pardus 2009 was okay. Maybe they should just revert to an older driver then.
Logged
Dean
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 139



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: March 11, 2011, 20:41:24 PM »

OK.

Thanks again for your help, Craig.

See ya!
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #11 on: March 11, 2011, 21:13:42 PM »

I don't think this has to do which driver is used.
But with the fact that the ID and properties can not be read from your monitor.
This data is read through pin 11/15 (VGA) or pin 20/21/23/24 (HDMI) connector .
If this is the case, it's independent of the used OS.
Logged
Craig
Guest
« Reply #12 on: March 11, 2011, 22:49:14 PM »

I'm almost certain it has to do with the driver and not the monitor.

I just got a new (to me) computer from my brother. I have the same monitor but I now have an ATI graphics card. I had no problem seeing the screen while installing Pardus.

I had the blocks on my old one with the NVIDIA card until I chose to install the proprietary drivers After restarting, all was fine.  Also, the 2009 DVD worked with no issues on my old machine.

I'm pretty sure it has to do with the NVIDIA drivers... or the nouvaeu free drivers. Everyone in this thread http://worldforum.pardus-linux.nl/index.php?topic=3582.0 seems to have an NVIDIA card.





Logged
Dean
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 139



View Profile
« Reply #13 on: March 11, 2011, 23:42:31 PM »

I have a NVIDIA GeForce 7050PV / nForce 630a.
Logged
Craig
Guest
« Reply #14 on: March 12, 2011, 00:13:12 AM »

I have a NVIDIA GeForce 7050PV / nForce 630a.

Thanks. That info will help.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!