Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 17, 2014, 18:29:35 PM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Laptop
| | |-+  Which laptop to buy?
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Which laptop to buy?  (Read 24498 times)
rusev_ivo
Guest
« Reply #30 on: October 27, 2008, 18:12:23 PM »

I would recommend you Toshiba Satellite L305. I bought it a week ago.
http://explore.toshiba.com/laptops/satellite/L300/L305-S5883

http://en.pardus-wiki.org/Toshiba_Satellite_L305
Logged
Mhmrcs
Global Moderator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 346



View Profile
« Reply #31 on: October 27, 2008, 18:34:46 PM »

rusev_ivo, your laptop looks pretty good, thanks for contributing to PardusWiki Smiley
Logged

Ch00k
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 76



View Profile
« Reply #32 on: October 30, 2008, 19:55:21 PM »

I have Asus A7M. The only thing that does not work is the WebCam. As I do not need it - it's not so important.
Logged
pivica
Newbie
*
Posts: 10


View Profile
« Reply #33 on: October 30, 2008, 21:13:21 PM »

Toshiba Satellite A135. Pardus 2007, 2008 and even live 2008 with KDE 4 works very well with this laptop - wireless, card reader, power management... everything works. I only have problem with external audio out connector - microphone is working ok but audio out is not working - but I don't need this so I didn't bother to check where is the problem.

Thanks for great distro Smiley
Logged
tuxedup
Pardus Developer
Pardus fellow craft
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 65



View Profile
« Reply #34 on: October 31, 2008, 18:57:25 PM »

I have an Asus Eee 701 and Lenovo 300 C200.

2008 works fantastic on Eee.  It works well on lenovo, however I cannot use cpufreq as it causes the machine to lock up (for a couple of secconds).  SO I have to keep it on performance.

For me it does not mater as the lenovo stays at home in my room, so it is always next to a plug socket.

I have no desktop machine.
Logged

Michiel
Administrator
Pardus Guru
*****
Posts: 799



View Profile
« Reply #35 on: November 03, 2008, 21:40:35 PM »

I have an Asus Eee 701 and Lenovo 300 C200.

2008 works fantastic on Eee.

Let me help Willem  Grin by asking you to describe exactly how you managed to get Pardus up-and-running on your Asus eee device?

I do not have a netbook (yet?), but I would like to know how Pardus users could wrap the OS on netbooks that don't have Pardus preinstalled.

Could you comment?
Logged

Former Pardus user, now on OpenSUSE 12.2 (KDE)
Willem
M.D.
Administrator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 1020



View Profile WWW
« Reply #36 on: November 03, 2008, 22:07:29 PM »

I just installed it, and most things worked out of the box. I bought an external CD burner, but you can also use UNetbootin to make a bootable USB stick
it is a little bit difficult that the menus in Yast are to big for the screen, but with a bit of a gamble you should succeed in this.
Logged

For freedom...
tuxedup
Pardus Developer
Pardus fellow craft
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 65



View Profile
« Reply #37 on: November 03, 2008, 22:19:53 PM »

haha it takes a lot and I mean a lot of guess work.  You have to sit and count how many times you press tab before you land on next.

It was easu with 2007 because each screen had the same number of button, but with 2008 each screen has a different number.  As a result I can install, but I cannot use my own custom partioning.

Apart form these problems Pardus runs great
Logged

Michiel
Administrator
Pardus Guru
*****
Posts: 799



View Profile
« Reply #38 on: November 03, 2008, 22:56:07 PM »

haha it takes a lot and I mean a lot of guess work.  You have to sit and count how many times you press tab before you land on next.

now put THAT in the wiki  Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin Cheesy
Logged

Former Pardus user, now on OpenSUSE 12.2 (KDE)
azra
Pardus Master
***
Gender: Male
Posts: 189



View Profile
« Reply #39 on: November 03, 2008, 22:59:05 PM »

you can also use UNetbootin to make a bootable USB stick

Willem
You managed to get Pardus on UNetbootin? Last time I tried (two months ago), it did not work and I think there was a bug open to the devs of UNetbootin...
I would be interested to know if it's been solved!
Logged
Pepello
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 45



View Profile
« Reply #40 on: December 26, 2008, 12:28:30 PM »

Hi! I'm using an Acer Aspire 5220 and Pardus works perfectly! Even the volume wheel's working without any issue (and no other distro i tried had done this)! To me, it's a good choice ;-)
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #41 on: December 26, 2008, 22:53:42 PM »

........... by asking you to describe exactly how you managed to get Pardus up-and-running on your Asus eee device?
I am making a wiki page on how I installed Pardus on my MSI Wind Netbook  U90X-037EU without having a CD-reader with USB-interface.
I am using a USB-stick to to this.
Be patient......... it will come in the next few days.
Logged
sheilaandandrew
Newbie
*
Gender: Male
Posts: 28


View Profile
« Reply #42 on: February 24, 2009, 01:51:21 AM »

Pardus 2008.2 (non working wireless in 2008.1)

works a dream out-of-the-box on my HP 2133 - very impressed  Grin

have already tested:

  • minbuntu - chrome drivers & wireless working (Gnome Desktop)
  • mandriva 2009 - chrome drivers but ndiswrapper for wireless (usr keeps running out of space)


Logged
MitraMai
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 89


View Profile
« Reply #43 on: February 24, 2009, 10:43:15 AM »

I have an HP nc4010 which works just fine with Pardus. Only the SD- reader does not work, but as I have understood it, it does not exist any drivers for that chipset at all in Linux.
Only thing that bothers me is that I have undervolted the laptop, and in order to get it to work I have to manually start the undervolting after boot. This is because Mudur starts /etc/conf.d/local.start before the acpi-modules are loaded. Hopefully they'll change that in Pardus 2009.
Logged

HP nc4010, which I love dearly...
n0n_0n
Newbie
*
Gender: Male
Posts: 19



View Profile
« Reply #44 on: February 25, 2009, 00:02:58 AM »

I am working with HP Compaq 6720s very well and fast.

The SD-reader work fine for me, it is OK.
Only problems witht  no-static Central Regulatory Domain Agent (ES) with some wifi cards, dont see the 12 and 13 channels on my country (spain).

I download a never iw version (on pardus is old) and download and compile the latest CRDA code.
Then is working well.

Quote

Code:
#iw reg set ES
and i can see the 12-13 channels.

This is my kernel
Code:
# uname -a
Linux webs-pardus 2.6.28-114 #1 SMP Wed Jan 14 14:57:35 EET 2009
i686 Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T7250  @ 2.00GHz GNU/Linux
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!