Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 20, 2014, 02:44:24 AM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Configuring Pardus
| | |-+  Samba wont start
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Samba wont start  (Read 3295 times)
Cnaeus
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 54


View Profile
« on: June 14, 2011, 16:33:33 PM »

Ok, so I wanted to make a PC to PC LAN connection between a Pardus 2011 and a Win XP machine, but the Samba service required for that operation simply refuses to start - without any error messages.

what could be the problem?

thanks
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2011, 17:36:28 PM »

What is the result in konsole of
Code:
service samba status
and after a
Code:
service samba on
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2011, 12:16:04 PM »

See also >Bug 15492-Comment 31 - Samba service does not run on start< :'(
Now we can only wait for things to come.
And it has Importance: P5 high
Logged
Cnaeus
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 54


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2011, 16:27:12 PM »

it terminal it says samba is on, in system settings service manager says its off... I will se if it's working...
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: June 15, 2011, 17:06:40 PM »

it terminal it says samba is on, in system settings service manager says its off.
This is very strange Huh?
Are you getting (from service samba status):
Quote
samba   | running |    yes    | SMB Network Sharing
Logged
Cnaeus
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 54


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: June 17, 2011, 14:53:19 PM »

it actually says:
samba   |        |    yes    | SMB Network Sharing
 Huh?
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: June 17, 2011, 23:42:10 PM »

This means "Bug 15492 - Samba service does not run on start" is also valid for you. Angry
Logged
Cnaeus
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 54


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: June 21, 2011, 22:12:41 PM »

Well, I dond't know how these bugs work, but samba started to work for me, maybe after an update, I'm not sure why... anyway, konsole and service manager are both saying that it runs! That's ok, but when I wanted to make an  ethernet connection to an XP machine, it dind't work. I set the workgroup name the same on both computers, I assigned IP addresses to both, both said they was connected to the network, yet they failed to detect each other completely. I thought it is possible to connect two computers via a simple ethernet connection, you know, just with a so called crossover cable, but, is it? And, how can I do that if it is?
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: June 21, 2011, 22:49:00 PM »

...... but samba started to work for me,
Which version of samba do you have installed Huh?
Copy/Paste the output of
Code:
pisi info samba
in this topic.
This to make sure we use the same version of samba.

Tomorrow I will test this with a crossover cable and report the result here.
Until this moment I only tried this via a router.
Logged
DavidD
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 73



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: June 23, 2011, 03:24:43 AM »

For what it's worth, I can confirm the same result from

Code:
service samba status

The only thing that may possibly be buggy is the lack of the word "running" in the command output after issuing

Code:
service samba on

Samba version 3.5.8 is working perfectly on my rig. I can see and change files and folders on my server from the Pardus machine.


David
Logged

"The most tragic pathologies we've experienced in human history result from the catastrophic way we deal with otherness." - D. Gordis
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: June 23, 2011, 08:42:11 AM »

...... is the lack of the word "running" ....
This ^^^ is just where the problem is about.

Samba version 3.5.8 is working perfectly on my rig.
Also the build and release number are very interesting to know, as these numbers vary between a Samba with and without problems.
I expect the version to be the same.
Logged
DavidD
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 73



View Profile
« Reply #11 on: June 24, 2011, 06:09:47 AM »

Quote
Also the build and release number are very interesting to know, as these numbers vary between a Samba with and without problems. I expect the version to be the same.

Here you go:

Code:
# pisi info samba
Installed package:
Name                : samba, version: 3.5.8, release: 66
Logged

"The most tragic pathologies we've experienced in human history result from the catastrophic way we deal with otherness." - D. Gordis
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #12 on: June 24, 2011, 13:12:23 PM »

My current result (after a re-start):
Quote
service samba status
Service | Status | Autostart | Description
---------------------------------------------------------------
samba  |           |    yes         | SMB Network Sharing

pisi info samba
Installed package:
Name                : samba, version: 3.5.8, release: 66

And I don't understand
Name                : samba, version: 3.5.8, release: 66
and
The only thing that may possibly be buggy is the lack of the word "running" in the command output
and
Samba version 3.5.8 is working perfectly on my rig. I can see and change files and folders on my server from the Pardus machine.
do not go together.
Maybe you are using another protocol (ssh or ftp or ?) to connect to "my server" Huh?

And the command to start the samba service is
Code:
service samba start
Wink
Logged
DavidD
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 73



View Profile
« Reply #13 on: June 24, 2011, 14:20:57 PM »

Explanation (no ssh or ftp):

I could not use Pardus if samba were not working, since I must have access to files from the server mounted on the local machine at boot. Here is a brief explanation of my system:

I have a server running FreeNAS. It is home to working files for my wife and me. (She used Windows until about 4 months ago, when I put Mint 10 on her machine.)

On this "client machine" running Pardus 2011.1 Beta, my workgroup is identified in /etc/samba/smb.conf (the only modification of smb.conf), and I have /etc/fstab statements to mount files residing on the server on this Pardus machine and my wife's Mint machine at boot. Those statements are modeled after this:

Code:
//serverIP/folder /mnt/folder cifs user=%,uid=1000,gid=1000 0 0

There are a couple of laptops here, one a MacBook Pro. The server files get mounted on all machines at boot.

Logged

"The most tragic pathologies we've experienced in human history result from the catastrophic way we deal with otherness." - D. Gordis
Cnaeus
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 54


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: June 25, 2011, 11:55:14 AM »

Looks like we've got the same ver. of samba:
Code:
Name                 : samba, version: 3.5.8, release: 66
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!