Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 24, 2014, 10:39:22 AM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Configuring Pardus
| | |-+  pardus 2011.1, ati and hdmi drivers?
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 3 Go Down Print
Author Topic: pardus 2011.1, ati and hdmi drivers?  (Read 4521 times)
owiknowi
Guest
« on: July 17, 2011, 14:56:54 PM »

pardus 2011.1 on hp dv6-3185ed seems to work pretty well, out of the box.
1. how do i get the ati radeon hd5600 to work? it looks like the intel video chipset is only detected/used.
2. hooked up the hp through a hdmi cable to my tv, but nothing seems to happen. do i perhaps need an extra driver?

ad 1: in ubuntu the proprietary ati drivers causes the system to freeze completely.
ad 2: looked in a.m.o. 'configuration settings/display' but could not find any hdmi related settings.

as always, any advise is much appreciated.
Logged
John A
Guest
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2011, 15:32:42 PM »

It some about ati drivers here:
http://en.pardus-wiki.org/Atidrivers

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AMD_Catalyst#Linux
Logged
owiknowi
Guest
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2011, 15:56:14 PM »

thanks john a for you reply.
the installation refers to the pardus 2007 test repo, but they can be used for 2011 as well i reckon?

and interesting wiki.
« Last Edit: July 17, 2011, 15:58:23 PM by owiknowi » Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2011, 16:02:55 PM »

but they can be used for 2011 as well i reckon?
Definitely NOT !!!!!!
Further reply will come
Logged
owiknowi
Guest
« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2011, 16:16:47 PM »

ouch... good thing the hp is used for watching the tour de france at the moment!
our radio tower fell down two days ago, so now watching it on internet  Grin

thanks again and _O_

see it all come down: http://nos.nl/video/256514-zendmast-hoogersmilde-stort-in.html
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2011, 16:25:33 PM »

1. how do i get the ati radeon hd5600 to work?
1. Have a in System Settings > Desktop Effects > Is there a green mark at "Desktop effects are active" Huh?
2. Have a in System Settings > Display and Monitor > Size & Orientation > ........

My ATI Radeon HD5450 + open source driver (X.Org Gallium 0.4 on AMD CEDAR 2.1 Mesa 7.10.3) has all the features plus a separate HDMI-0, DVI-0 and VGA-0 section in Size & Orientation.

This can be different from your ati radeon hd5600.
Goto System Settings > Display and Monitor > Video Driver > and select "Use the proprietary driver" and a script will be started which will detect your video card and the best driver to install.
If you want to do this in konsole, have a in this >panda-helper - Grafikkartentreiber in der Konsole auswählen <
Logged
owiknowi
Guest
« Reply #6 on: July 17, 2011, 16:37:41 PM »

@atolboo:
1. had them disabled but just switched them to enable.
2. found that on the pardus forum this morning but there's no option to install drivers available, alas  Shocked
can set lvds1, vga1 is greyed out and at the bottom can set some primary output, identify outputs (only lvds1( and save as default.

there's no option in 'video driver' to install a driver, will try the console way.

btw. pretty descent job they've done with pardus 2011.1, despite kde 4, it is very usable to my surprise. Smiley

« Last Edit: July 17, 2011, 16:39:32 PM by owiknowi » Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: July 17, 2011, 16:41:36 PM »

.... the hp is used for watching the tour de france at the moment!
When the TV isn't supplying it's ID+features  over the HDMI interface, Pardus (and any other OS) can't detect them and  set the best options.
If this is the case, you can always look in the TV manual and set them manually in Pardus.
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: July 17, 2011, 16:48:00 PM »

there's no option in 'video driver' to install a driver, will try the console way.
A NL picture


* Panda-GUI-NL.png (97.75 KB, 809x537 - viewed 162 times.)
Logged
owiknowi
Guest
« Reply #9 on: July 17, 2011, 16:51:54 PM »

should have been more precise: the option to 'install proprietary driver provided by the manufacturer', is greyed out too...
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: July 17, 2011, 17:37:36 PM »

And the result of
Code:
/usr/libexec/panda-helper check
is Huh?
Logged
owiknowi
Guest
« Reply #11 on: July 17, 2011, 17:46:38 PM »

ran it in konsole but there was no output given...
Logged
owiknowi
Guest
« Reply #12 on: July 17, 2011, 18:53:12 PM »

@atolboo:
attached the output of several panda commands as seen on the german website.
to me it's  Huh? and how come people like you know all these things Shocked
 Grin

* Panda-helper.txt (0.83 KB - downloaded 82 times.)
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #13 on: July 17, 2011, 20:53:52 PM »

ran it in konsole but there was no output given...
May be there is something missing/wrong with your panda files.
Do a
Code:
sudo pisi it panda-kde panda --reinstall -y
to see if there is a change.

attached the output of several panda commands as seen on the german website.
Quote
/usr/libexec/panda-helper up vebdor
isn't a valid command.

to me it's  Huh?
You can also there:
Quote
Denn dieser helfer wechselt nur die Treiber einstellungen. Die jeweilige paketen werden nicht installiert.
and
Quote
Ich empfehle jeden Panda-kde unter Einstellungen zu benutzen.

and how come people like you know all these things Shocked
Fatih is one of the software developers at Pardus.
Logged
owiknowi
Guest
« Reply #14 on: July 18, 2011, 08:49:30 AM »

@atolboo;
thanks again for your answers!

did as you've suggested (see attached file). as far as i can see there's not much changed though?
changed vebdor to vendor, output also included.

on the  Huh? : das habe ich schon begriffen, viel einfacher ist es "Ich empfehle jeden Panda-kde unter Einstellungen zu benutzen."  Grin

zum abschluß: clicked on 'faith' and ended up with a log in screen, so still  Shocked

* panda_install18-7.txt (1.26 KB - downloaded 88 times.)
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!