Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 18, 2014, 15:23:12 PM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Installing Pardus
| | |-+  Pardus Install not detecting partitions
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Pardus Install not detecting partitions  (Read 2075 times)
Jagot
Newbie
*
Posts: 1


View Profile
« on: January 31, 2011, 23:42:45 PM »

Hi, I'm having problems install Pardus on my Samsung Q310.

When I reach the partitioning stage of the installer, when I select 'Create Custom Layout', I hit next and it takes it takes me to the next stage, where it hasn't detected my partitions correctly:



I also tried selecting 'Shrink Current System' and I get an error telling me there are no partitions to resize:



I have never had any problems before with Linux installers not being able to detect my partitions before.  I'm trying to install the x64 version, and have attempted it with both DVD and USB.  For reference, I have Ubuntu and Windows 7 currently installed.

Many thanks in advance if anyone can help.
Logged
la_monda
Newbie
*
Posts: 22


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2011, 07:51:58 AM »

Had the same problem with my desctop pc. I unpluged all the other drives and left only the installation drive in order to continue. When the other drives were on and i selected manual partitioning for anyone, the error was like the second image you posted.
Logged
John A
Guest
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2011, 08:11:04 AM »

Maybe this can be of some help?
http://www.linuxbsdos.com/2011/04/14/how-to-dual-boot-pardus-2011-and-windows-7/

This seems to be a problem if you want triple boot with Pardus.
It's a bug report here:
http://bugs.pardus.org.tr/show_bug.cgi?id=13148

Be free to add your comments there if you want.


And that problem was brought up at a review in the Swedish Datormagazin of version 2011.

This is not the full review (not avaible on internet only in the magazine) but the editors blog bring it up there to:
http://www.datormagazin.se/artiklar/bloggen/20110215/konsten-att-forstora-en-windowspartition



It seems that version 2011.1 have the same issue.

Hopefully they will come with a solution. Smiley
« Last Edit: July 27, 2011, 08:27:39 AM by John A » Logged
owiknowi
Guest
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2011, 09:16:23 AM »

just for information sake:
have both w7 _64, pardus kurumsal 2 _64, 2x pardus 2011.1 _64 and several other distros installed on a hp dv6.
i use gparted for partitioning or altering partitions (set disklabel, shrink, set flags, etc.)

one thing leapt to mind: what's your current partitioning scheme? probably nothing new, but: you can only have 4 primary partitions.
my current partitioning scheme looks like this:
sda1 (ntfs, w7, flag set to boot)
sda2 (4gb linux swap)
sda3 (ext4 pardus kurumsal 2)
sda4 (extended with sda5, sda6 and so on, for /home and test penguins)

and when installing i also remove all external drives, just like la_monda wrote.
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 27, 2011, 10:48:49 AM »

This is not the full review (not avaible on internet only in the magazine) but the editors blog bring it up there to:
http://www.datormagazin.se/artiklar/bloggen/20110215/konsten-att-forstora-en-windowspartition
This blog is from Publicerad 2011-02-15 10:24
It seems that version 2011.1 have the same issue.
And before writing this ^^^,  are you sure
Did you  Bug 16077 Comment 3- "Shrink Current System" option of P2011RC result in a non-bootable OS
Logged
John A
Guest
« Reply #5 on: July 27, 2011, 11:00:22 AM »

I only install one distribution at the time myself so I am no sure. But as you saw at the comments from the new users triple boot seems to be a Problem with Pardus 2011.1 to, why would they write about it if not? See the screenshots from one of them.
(I suppose they not install the old 2011)

But maybe they can fill in with more info to. Smiley
« Last Edit: July 27, 2011, 11:06:51 AM by John A » Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: July 27, 2011, 11:11:30 AM »

See the screenshots from one of them.
This ^^^ is from Januari 31.

...... seems to be a Problem with Pardus 2011.1
Was Pardus 2011.1 Dama dama used
Logged
John A
Guest
« Reply #7 on: July 27, 2011, 11:15:25 AM »

La_Mondas reply was posted today. Atleast he should have installed with 2011.1?
I don't realised until now that Jagost post was a old one from 31 january.

« Last Edit: July 27, 2011, 11:20:19 AM by John A » Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!