Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 18, 2014, 15:36:09 PM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Software
| | |-+  [solved] 'gmic-gimp' plug-in not working.
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: [solved] 'gmic-gimp' plug-in not working.  (Read 1913 times)
Jagdeesh
Newbie
*
Gender: Male
Posts: 28



View Profile
« on: August 17, 2011, 20:00:55 PM »

Downloaded 'gmic_gimp_linux32.zip' dated 2011-08-06( version 1.5.0) from  http://sourceforge.net/projects/gmic/files/
and as per 'readme' extracted to
'$HOME/.gimp-2.x/plug-ins/' (for local installation),
or 'usr/lib/gimp/2.0/plug-ins/' (for global installation).

But in both cases it is not working.
The file permissions are same as that of other plugins at 'usr/lib/gimp/2.0/plug-ins/'
At last ,doubting the healthiness of the downloaded file,copied the properly working plugin from my mint9 partition to '$HOME/.gimp-2.6/plug-ins/' directory,but in vain.
Actually it should appear at the bottom of the 'filters' list and enabled if some image is open in gimp.
I never had such a problem earlier.
Has anybody faced this situation? Is there any solution?

-Jagdeesh.
« Last Edit: August 19, 2011, 14:56:55 PM by Jagdeesh » Logged
airtight
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 65


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2011, 22:34:03 PM »

Downloaded 'gmic_gimp_linux32.zip' dated 2011-08-06( version 1.5.0) from  http://sourceforge.net/projects/gmic/files/
and as per 'readme' extracted to
'$HOME/.gimp-2.x/plug-ins/' (for local installation),
or 'usr/lib/gimp/2.0/plug-ins/' (for global installation).

But in both cases it is not working.
The file permissions are same as that of other plugins at 'usr/lib/gimp/2.0/plug-ins/'
At last ,doubting the healthiness of the downloaded file,copied the properly working plugin from my mint9 partition to '$HOME/.gimp-2.6/plug-ins/' directory,but in vain.
Actually it should appear at the bottom of the 'filters' list and enabled if some image is open in gimp.
I never had such a problem earlier.
Has anybody faced this situation? Is there any solution?

-Jagdeesh.


Just tried this. Put it in the gimp plugin folder in home dir and it appeared at the bottom of the "filters" list when I restarted gimp. Pardus 2009.2.
Logged
SW
Guest
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2011, 01:40:54 AM »

Also working here (P2011 32bit).

I copied the filter only into home folder /home/user/........

Logged
owiknowi
Guest
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2011, 08:28:56 AM »

just for testing purposes, i've tried it with pardus kurumsal 2 _64.
copied gmic_gimp to /home/.gimp-2.6/plug-ins and it works with this version.
Logged
SW
Guest
« Reply #4 on: August 18, 2011, 09:45:09 AM »

I also tried now    'usr/lib/gimp/2.0/plug-ins/' (for global installation)    and it is also working!  Cool
Logged
Jagdeesh
Newbie
*
Gender: Male
Posts: 28



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: August 18, 2011, 18:58:32 PM »

Hi,
I am using Pardus 2011.1,32 bit ,updated.
Nice to see your success,but no luck here till now. Sad
Not even in xbuntu virtual box machine run through pardus.
Don't know what is wrong this time Huh?......getting exhausted....
shall leave it as it is for some days and see later in a fresh mood.
Thanks for your replies.
Regards.
-Jagdeeh.
« Last Edit: August 18, 2011, 19:10:46 PM by Jagdeesh » Logged
a.palius
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 132


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: August 18, 2011, 19:18:26 PM »

I've prepared build files for gimp-gmic-plugin package and it should appears in pardususer.de repo soon.
Logged
Jagdeesh
Newbie
*
Gender: Male
Posts: 28



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: August 18, 2011, 19:52:44 PM »

I've prepared build files for gimp-gmic-plugin package and it should appears in pardususer.de repo soon.

Thanks a lot!
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: August 19, 2011, 12:48:50 PM »

I've prepared build files for gimp-gmic-plugin package and it should appears in pardususer.de repo soon.
and now available from 2. Additional (non-official) package source: pardususer.de
With the following recommendation (from a.palius):
Quote
When gimp-gmic-plugin will be available in pardususer.de repository, seems to be good idea write about that in this topic with the additional information that it is recomended to first remove the manual installation of this plugin.

And a Blue Gene/P supercomputer is recommended to build this PiSi package.
With my Asus P5QLD PRO + Intel E6700 @ 3.2GHz + 2GB Ram + 8.5 GB Swap it takes 38 minutes using 100% CPU / 100% Ram / 22% Swap to the package.
Logged
Jagdeesh
Newbie
*
Gender: Male
Posts: 28



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: August 19, 2011, 14:55:01 PM »

Installed successfully! Smiley
First confirmed that earlier copied 'gmic_gimp' is deleted from both the places and then installed.
It installed a dependency 'baselayout'
Now working nicely.
Thanks to all the concerned,the Pardus team.
Marked [solved]
-Jagdeesh.
« Last Edit: August 19, 2011, 14:57:36 PM by Jagdeesh » Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!