Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 20, 2014, 12:55:12 PM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Configuring Pardus
| | |-+  Increasing Screen Resolution
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 3 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Increasing Screen Resolution  (Read 3672 times)
MusicLover
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 90


View Profile
« on: January 04, 2012, 11:53:43 AM »

The highest resolution I can get is 1024 x 768. I need 1280 x 1024 .

How can I 'add' more resolutions to choose from?

This is the same problem I had with Ubuntu and the only way to resolve was to edit a configuration file. Not easy!
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2012, 14:28:37 PM »

Which monitor are you using
The monitor should report it's properties to the computer.
And if it does this (the normal way), the resolutions should appear in:
System Settings >  Hardware > Display & Monitor > Size & Orientation > Size:
Logged
MusicLover
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 90


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2012, 14:48:35 PM »

I've included two snapshots of relevant information about my monitor.

The available resolutions drop-down shows:

Disabled
1024x768
800x600
848x480
640x480


* VGA1.png (68.57 KB, 687x495 - viewed 160 times.)

* VideoDriver.png (47.63 KB, 727x335 - viewed 145 times.)
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2012, 15:05:30 PM »

It's not important which driver is used.
It totally depends on reporting the properties by the monitor to the computer.
And thus:
Which monitor are you using
Logged
MusicLover
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 90


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2012, 15:10:11 PM »

I'm using a CTX LCD monitor. Model S961A. This worked with all resolutions in Windows.
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: January 04, 2012, 16:11:10 PM »

And maybe I have a solution for your problem.
Currently it's being
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: January 04, 2012, 16:45:26 PM »

I found this /etc/X11/xorg.conf file
Quote
Section "ServerFlags"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "VideoCard"
    Option  "Monitor-LVDS" "Monitor[LVDS]"
    Option  "Monitor-VGA" "Monitor[VGA]"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "Screen"
    Device  "VideoCard"
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier  "Layout"
    Screen  "Screen"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier  "Monitor[LVDS]"
    Option  "Enable" "true"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier  "Monitor[VGA]"
    Option  "PreferredMode" "1680x1050"
    Option  "Enable" "true"
EndSection
on my Asus 1001PXD after connecting a Philips 220CW9FB monitor to the VGA port.

And maybe a /etc/X11/xorg.conf file (can only be inserted with root privileges) with
Quote
Section "ServerFlags"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "VideoCard"
    Option  "Monitor-VGA" "Monitor[VGA]"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "Screen"
    Device  "VideoCard"
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier  "Layout"
    Screen  "Screen"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier  "Monitor[VGA]"
    Option  "PreferredMode" "1280x1024"
    Option  "Enable" "true"
EndSection
will do the trick after a Restart of the computer
Logged
MusicLover
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 90


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: January 04, 2012, 22:10:39 PM »

I'm just referring to my old Ubuntu notes on how to edit/create that file.

I'll be sure to let you know how I get on.

The fun really starts when I try and revive my old Nvidia dual-VGA card that worked when Windows was installed, but that's for later......
Logged
Anglo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 438



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: January 04, 2012, 23:19:11 PM »

Just to point out.........
On the initial boot screen (on mine ) there are function keys that you can ( I think f4 ) probe your computer's native settings...............labeled ( strangely ) probe..........
if you slect probe , THEN boot , it carries thru to after the login screen
Logged
MusicLover
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 90


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: January 05, 2012, 09:49:39 AM »

From my old Ubuntu notes, 'sudo gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf is what brings up the editing program containing the file but 'gedit' isn't recognised here. I replaced it with 'kwrite' but that didn't work either.

What's the syntax in Konsole for bringing up the editing program so I can create that file?
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: January 05, 2012, 10:22:31 AM »

Do you have a file /etc/X11/xorg.conf 
Is yes, in Dophin go to  /etc/X11/ and right-click file xorg.conf > Root Actions > Open as Text > ...
This ^^^ is how you can do this in Pardus. Wink
Logged
MusicLover
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 90


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: January 05, 2012, 10:42:12 AM »

Created the file and pasted:

Section "ServerFlags"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "VideoCard"
    Option  "Monitor-VGA" "Monitor[VGA]"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "Screen"
    Device  "VideoCard"
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier  "Layout"
    Screen  "Screen"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier  "Monitor[VGA]"
    Option  "PreferredMode" "1280x1024"
    Option  "Enable" "true"
EndSection


Restarted and nothing's changed. Still the same list of resolutions to choose from.
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #12 on: January 06, 2012, 17:55:20 PM »

And here is another /etc/X11/xorg.conf  (see attachment) to test Wink

* xorg.conf.zip (0.38 KB - downloaded 84 times.)
Logged
MusicLover
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 90


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: January 06, 2012, 20:35:16 PM »

And here is another /etc/X11/xorg.conf  (see attachment) to test Wink

No luck, I'm afraid. Drop-down menu still shows the original resolutions mentioned in my earlier posting.
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #14 on: January 06, 2012, 20:48:07 PM »

What is the entry in /boot/grub/menu.lst Huh?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!