Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 20, 2014, 20:42:32 PM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Configuring Pardus
| | |-+  Increasing Screen Resolution
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: 1 [2] 3 Go Down Print
Author Topic: Increasing Screen Resolution  (Read 3673 times)
MusicLover
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 90


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: January 06, 2012, 20:52:04 PM »

What is the entry in /boot/grub/menu.lst Huh?

default 0
gfxmenu /boot/grub/message
timeout 2
background 10333C

title Pardus 2011.2 Cervus elaphus
uuid 7a6cf4bc-e3f3-4cf2-bb2d-585784193335
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.37.6 root=/dev/mapper/VolGroup-lv_root resume=/dev/mapper/VolGroup-lv_swap splash quiet
initrd /boot/initramfs-2.6.37.6
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #16 on: January 06, 2012, 21:20:13 PM »

I don't see anything wrong with the entry in Grub.
And does /var/log/Xorg.0.log show anything that points to the monitor Huh?
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #17 on: January 06, 2012, 21:33:07 PM »

And what video card are you using Huh?
Logged
MusicLover
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 90


View Profile
« Reply #18 on: January 06, 2012, 21:50:53 PM »

/var/log/Xorg.0.log

Lines 22, 23, 24, 148, 150, 151 Have references to the monitor

File attached.

Currently using the integral VGA port. Driver details in pic. previously posted

* file.txt (115.38 KB - downloaded 87 times.)
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #19 on: January 06, 2012, 22:03:47 PM »

And here is a new /etc/X11/xorg.conf to test.
This one is generated in P2009 > System Settings > Display > Devices > Outputs : > Edit-button > etc

Edit: Forgot the zip file Grin


* LCD1280x1024.png (47.65 KB, 567x370 - viewed 132 times.)
* xorg.conf-lcd1280x1024.zip (0.39 KB - downloaded 66 times.)
« Last Edit: January 06, 2012, 22:20:32 PM by atolboo » Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #20 on: January 06, 2012, 22:17:33 PM »

/var/log/Xorg.0.log

Lines 22, 23, 24, 148, 150, 151 Have references to the monitor

150 tells me that it can not detect the presents of the monitor at VGA1.
And then Pardus switches  to it's default (1024x768) monitor.
To make sure it is not damaging the electronics in the monitor.

Does the monitor have a detachable cable Huh?
On some (mainly older) monitors some of the wires in the cable are used for detection.
This is as far as my knowledge about monitors reaches Embarrassed
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #21 on: January 06, 2012, 22:21:46 PM »

Edit my post with the attachment Wink
Logged
MusicLover
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 90


View Profile
« Reply #22 on: January 06, 2012, 22:35:21 PM »

Still no luck.

I plugged my second monitor to see if it was the hardware and it's the same as the other monitor.

I'll have to register this as a bug.

Thanks for your help with this.

PS: This link will take you to the same problem I had with Ubuntu over a year ago!

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1612923&highlight=resolution
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #23 on: January 06, 2012, 22:44:41 PM »

Is it a  Dell Dimension 4700?
And what is strange about your /var/log/Xorg.0.log  is at line 1617
Quote
[ 20928.399] (II) intel(0): Printing probed modes for output LVDS1
Is there a monitor at this (digital) port?
Logged
MusicLover
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 90


View Profile
« Reply #24 on: January 06, 2012, 22:55:59 PM »

Is it a  Dell Dimension 4700?
And what is strange about your /var/log/Xorg.0.log  is at line 1617
Quote
[ 20928.399] (II) intel(0): Printing probed modes for output LVDS1
Is there a monitor at this (digital) port?

That was my old PC. I'm using a G41M-P28/P26 motherboard now.

http://uk.msi.com/product/mb/G41M-P28.html
Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #25 on: January 06, 2012, 23:15:38 PM »

What struck me is that both are equipped with the Intel(R) 945GM video chip.

And both report:
Output VGA1 disconnected
Output LVDS1 connected

This LVDS is normally mentioned in a note(net)book and is a digital interface.
Logged
MusicLover
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 90


View Profile
« Reply #26 on: January 06, 2012, 23:22:43 PM »

What struck me is that both are equipped with the Intel(R) 945GM video chip.

And both report:
Output VGA1 disconnected
Output LVDS1 connected

This LVDS is normally mentioned in a note(net)book and is a digital interface.

I've added as much info as I can to Bugzilla.
http://bugs.pardus.org.tr/show_bug.cgi?id=19619

Thankfully I have a spare pc and some spare hard disks. Temporarily back to using Windows Vista!
« Last Edit: January 06, 2012, 23:25:38 PM by MusicLover » Logged
atolboo
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 2317



View Profile
« Reply #27 on: January 07, 2012, 00:43:03 AM »

And the MSI G41M-P28 also has a PCI Express x16 slot for a video card.
Logged
Lisa
Pardus Guru
****
Posts: 841



View Profile
« Reply #28 on: January 09, 2012, 22:56:36 PM »

Hi,
From reading the ubuntu forum thread, you have an Advent K200 laptop that comes with a VGA1 port which you've hooked up the CTX S961A LCD monitor to?  I had to look up Advent as I've never heard of the company.   I too notice that VGA isn't showing it is connected in you xorg.log.  But it works in Windows. 

One coarse way to fix the problem is with your laptop in the default display, to pull the cable for the external monitor (don't use its on/off button) as this will force a memory reset.

You probably have read this, but just in case it helps, from the manual, "When working at your desk, connect your notebook to an external monitor and disable the internal display Fn + F4". 

In case anyone else wants to check, the specs
Logged
MusicLover
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 90


View Profile
« Reply #29 on: January 11, 2012, 15:53:11 PM »

Hello Lisa,

I'm actually moving between two machines!!

One is an old Advent Laptop - The company has its main offices in the UK

http://www.adventcomputers.co.uk/

The computer's specs are:

http://www.uktsupport.co.uk/advent/laptop/8115.htm

My new, desktop, pc is using this system board:

http://uk.msi.com/product/mb/G41M-P28.html

The desktop pc runs Windows Vista until I can get this monitor thing up and running. I use a spare hard disk that has Pardus installed where I can put to the test any help to get more screen resolutions.

I also have an Nvidia dual VGA card which will need configuring, but that's for later.....

Currently trying to get Knoppix running on CD, DVD or USB drive but the CDs/DVDs give 'burn/reading errors' on both machines and the USB version doesn't even get recognised. I'll try again on my sister's brand new Windows 7 laptop later. Surely nothing will go wrong with Windows!?!?!?!?

In my Ubuntu days I had an old Dell Dimension 4700 and yes, Ubuntu users also have the same issues with the lack of available screen resolutions.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2012, 16:08:27 PM by MusicLover » Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!