Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 17, 2014, 23:26:09 PM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Software
| | |-+  Grub error
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Grub error  (Read 1645 times)
terrannz
Newbie
*
Posts: 26


View Profile
« on: March 06, 2007, 21:36:38 PM »

I have just had a call from home and my wife cannot load windows (I installed pardus last night before bed).

I made windows xp the default selection in grub and never rebooted.  I'm told that upon selecting windows from the grub menu the screen it at first goes black and then

grub grub grub grub grub grub grub grub etc

I will be very tired when I get home so I would love to go home with a solution.

Pardus itself is so good I guess I just didn't want to touch windows yet
Logged
Willem
M.D.
Administrator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 1020



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2007, 21:54:25 PM »

There are two things you can do, easiest is pressing F11 when after bios and select to boot from your Windows partition.
The other is: once you get in Pardus (hope it still work), go to:
/boot/grub/
press F4, enter
Code:
sudo nano grub.conf
in the console
And try to correct the path to Windows, it should be something like:

Code:
title Microsoft Windows XP Pro
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
chainloader +1


or..
Code:
title Windows XP
  map (hd0) (hd1)
  map (hd1) (hd0)
  chainloader (hd1,0)+1


More tips on Grub can be found here:
http://www.geocities.com/epark/linux/grub-w2k-HOWTO.html
Logged

For freedom...
terrannz
Newbie
*
Posts: 26


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2007, 22:17:22 PM »

Thanks for the info

I installed grup to the MBR to erase the one Ubuntu installed.  Pardus still works fine.  I talked my wife through setting up a user account and she's using firefox in pardus 'till I get home.

I think this happened after updating the system which came with a new kernel and an extra entry in grub.
Logged
terrannz
Newbie
*
Posts: 26


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2007, 06:55:51 AM »

the first option you gave me worked  Smiley
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!