Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 20, 2014, 15:50:42 PM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Pardus for beginners
| | |-+  Installing Pardus
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Installing Pardus  (Read 2913 times)
Mailman
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 61


View Profile
« on: March 14, 2007, 01:09:49 AM »

Hi there,

First of all I'd like to state that I am a total noob when it comes to Linux.

Nevertheless, I want to try Pardus

I downloaded Pardus and burned the ISO on a DVD.

When I insert the DVD into player, all I see is the Pardus release notes.

Am I missing something?

How can I proceed to install Pardus?

Your help is appreciated.

Thanks,

MM
Logged
Willem
M.D.
Administrator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 1020



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2007, 06:54:15 AM »

Hi MM,
welcome! You can burn the Pardus iso on a CD-rom, and I would advise you to do this on a low speed (2x).
After the burning, insert the CD and then boot up your computer!
Logged

For freedom...
Mailman
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 61


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2007, 11:01:44 AM »

Ok Thanks.

So burning the ISO on a cd is mandatory and DVD is not possible?

Thanks,

MM
Logged
Mailman
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 61


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2007, 18:13:48 PM »

Anybody?

Thanks,

MM
Logged
Jan Gnodde
Global Moderator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 397


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2007, 18:43:50 PM »

The Pardus .iso-image is a CD-image, so has to burned to a CD, not a DVD.

Jan.
Logged
CaptainCookie
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 93


View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: March 14, 2007, 19:22:48 PM »

It may be a stupid question, but are you trying to install it via Windows? That won't work. You have to insert the cd, and let your computer boot via the cd (mostly default, otherwise check bios settings). Then the setup will start.
Logged

Mailman
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 61


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: March 14, 2007, 20:10:41 PM »

Ok I'll try again tonight.

@ CaptainCookie

I actually tried to install it via Windows indeed.
I'll burn it to a CD and try what you recommend.

Thanks all.

MM
Logged
Bahri16
Global Moderator
Pardus Master
*****
Posts: 208



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: March 14, 2007, 20:18:52 PM »

hmm i think you dont know what a iso image is.

let me explain in a simple way. an iso image is "one file"  made from "one whole CD". so you can copy the whole cd structure to a file.
you need a special programm to make this.

to write a bootable CD from a iso-image you need a special option in your burning-software.

you can not put the iso image as data on a cd or dvd to get a "bootable" Cd.

the spezial option mostly is "burn iso image" or anything like this.

..look at your burner -software.
Logged

The world is not digital - the world is an analog swoosh
Mailman
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 61


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: March 14, 2007, 20:55:29 PM »

@ Bahri16

I think the burning went fine, because in my burning program
I had the option to burn ISO

But appearantly, I should have used a normal CD.

So after burning the cd I can insert the cd reboot the computer?

Thanks,

MM
Logged
CaptainCookie
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 93


View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: March 14, 2007, 21:00:14 PM »

Yes. On most computer is boots from cd on default.

But if your computer doesn't boot from the cd, you have to go in the bios (press del or f2, depending on your bios, on post-screen). Then go to boot device, and change 1st boot device to your dvd-player. Then save and reboot your computer.

Note that the steps above are different for every bios, but i'm sure you'll find it.
Logged

Bahri16
Global Moderator
Pardus Master
*****
Posts: 208



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: March 14, 2007, 21:17:59 PM »

.. you can use a  CD-R or  CD-RW, no matter.

no DVD.

the burner software will not accept to burn the iso on dvd- cause the "iso" depense on "CD".

.. then follow the instructions from "captain cookie".

some questions:

for installation please use "kurulan2007" - this is stable.

not "calisan2007" - this is not installable live-cd.

 and not "kurulan2007.1" - this is stable in a few days.

you can online update from 2007 to 2007.1 - so do not matter to have a "4 month old" release.
Logged

The world is not digital - the world is an analog swoosh
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!