Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 20, 2014, 02:42:14 AM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Hardware
| | |-+  Newby Problem with SoundCard (Pardus 2007.1 RC1)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Newby Problem with SoundCard (Pardus 2007.1 RC1)  (Read 2720 times)
Daedalus
Newbie
*
Posts: 4


View Profile
« on: March 12, 2007, 23:02:33 PM »

Basically a newb on Linux so some help would be nice.

Sound is not working at al.

Directly after boot:
Sound server informational message:
Error while initializing the sound driver
device: default can't be opened for playback (No such file or directory)
The sound server will continue, using the null output device.

Seen this before in other topics but no answers

In KinfoCenter the onboard sound is recognized as
ALC650F   (its a Realtek ac97)
and it's configurable in Kmix
But no sound whatsoever.

There are a zillion buttons in Kmix that kan be missused so a problem may be there as well

Rest of Pardus 2007.1 RC1 is working well exept for de minimal install a had to use otherwise i got a hang during first bootup. Don;t know it there are any limmitations

Only probem is that turnig of computer results in hanging system that me be a linux thing i have get to get used to.

Thanks in advance
Logged
Daedalus
Newbie
*
Posts: 4


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2007, 23:06:13 PM »

And please no flamming by Site Admin Willem
Or I'll whoop it's ass when i see him in the morning...

(credo: be nice to the noob!)
  :lol:
Logged
erdinc
Pardus Developer
Newbie
*****
Posts: 13


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2007, 23:27:18 PM »

in console type "alsaconf" as root, tool will guide you what to do. After all you'll have sound Smiley
Logged

oo early seen unknown and known too late...

Ali Erdinç Köroğlu < erdinc € pardus.org.tr >
http://cekirdek.pardus.org.tr/~erdinc
Willem
M.D.
Administrator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 1020



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2007, 06:56:07 AM »

So go to Pardus > System > Konsole
Type: SU
Enter your administrator password

Type 'alsaconf' this will set up the Advanced Linux Sound Architecture driver.

For more info on Kmix you can take a look at:
http://docs.kde.org/stable/en/kdemultimedia/kmix/index.html
Or for dutch:
http://docs.kde.org/stable/nl/kdemultimedia/kmix/index.html
Logged

For freedom...
stefan1975
Newbie
*
Posts: 15


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2007, 09:26:36 AM »

I too had this problem, albeit on another pc with another soundcard. It was indeed solved by messing with kmix and running alsaconf.

But why is pardus the only distro that goes about this in the really strange manner? On all other kde based (and gnome for that matter) distros sound "just works", like mepis, kubuntu, opensuse, etc. I never even new of the existence of alsaconf let alone messing with the defaults in kmix.

this is no pardus bashing because in other ways i prefer pardus to the others, i just think this is really strange, especially when I plug in my usb webcam as well, then pardus thinks it is a new (primary) sounddevice and sound will be broken again (and my webcam will be always on).

stefan
Logged
Willem
M.D.
Administrator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 1020



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2007, 09:42:43 AM »

At my desktop and laptop the audio just worked out of the box.
This is something which should be fixed, as it is in other distro's.
What did you change in KMix?
Logged

For freedom...
Daedalus
Newbie
*
Posts: 4


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2007, 22:00:50 PM »

After an hour of tweaking finaly sound. I'll probably never know what realy worked the eror at startuo is still there but now i can say never show again.

Killed my onboard modem that might have done the trick, so the speaker in the webcam hint might have done the trick. Not going to try to turn the modem on for now. Keep you updated with extra's

Thanx everyone
Logged
xva
Newbie
*
Posts: 19



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: March 13, 2007, 23:59:53 PM »

I had the same problem on my hp pavillon.
just installed pardus 2007 stable and everything went perfectly out of the box  Cheesy
Logged
Willem
M.D.
Administrator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 1020



View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: March 14, 2007, 06:55:25 AM »

So this might be a new bug, which was not in the 2007 release? Thats strange!
Logged

For freedom...
xva
Newbie
*
Posts: 19



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: March 14, 2007, 07:21:24 AM »

I think it is a little bug. even typing "alsaconf" command did not solve the problem
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!