Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 17, 2014, 00:01:06 AM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Installing Pardus
| | |-+  [solved]Installation doesn't start.
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: [solved]Installation doesn't start.  (Read 3404 times)
CaptainCookie
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 93


View Profile WWW
« on: March 14, 2007, 20:57:04 PM »

Hello everybody.

I tried to install Pardus 2007, but I didn't succeed. I booted from the cd, and the green screen came up. I selected my language (Dutch) and moved on. I selected 'Pardus 2007' from the list. After that the splash screen came up. And that's all. After the splashscreen I only get a black screen. Nothing more. No mather how long I wait. I tried already 3 cd's (burned on 48x, 32x and 2x). I also tried 2 dvd-players, but it didn't work. Can anyone help me?
« Last Edit: July 11, 2008, 06:17:13 AM by Andreas » Logged

Bahri16
Global Moderator
Pardus Master
*****
Posts: 208



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2007, 21:26:26 PM »

-try some boot options e.g. failsave, ACPI off ........

-try other language to look if the probleme still is there.

-try in bios powermanagment "off"
Logged

The world is not digital - the world is an analog swoosh
CaptainCookie
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 93


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2007, 21:29:49 PM »

Thx, i'll try that. I will post here if I succeed (or not)

But I though you couldn't choose failsave or acpi off (or is it in the 'simple mode'?)
Logged

Bahri16
Global Moderator
Pardus Master
*****
Posts: 208



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2007, 21:33:29 PM »

i dont know my installation was 4 month ago and without problems.

somtimes very strange things happens on computers.

you can try to disable in bios some things you dont need.

the strangest thing which happens to me was:

my computer hangs on booting when the room was less than 15° celsius.
Logged

The world is not digital - the world is an analog swoosh
CaptainCookie
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 93


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2007, 21:48:27 PM »

Quote from: "Bahri16"

my computer hangs on booting when the room was less than 15° celsius.


Haha  Cheesy

But I already disabled my second hard drive, and I need everything else (1 dvd-player and 1 hdd)

Or is there anything else I can disable?
Logged

joske
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 49


View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: March 14, 2007, 21:54:46 PM »

With other linux distributions I have had problems with the screen resolution: this was by default set to a value that my screen could not apply so I got a black screen and could not do anything.
 
Maybe it is something like that? That Pardus is not able to choose a proper screen resolution for your screen?
Logged
Bahri16
Global Moderator
Pardus Master
*****
Posts: 208



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: March 14, 2007, 22:00:57 PM »

Bahri16 wrote:
my computer hangs on booting when the room was less than 15° celsius.
Haha Very Happy

yes its true and you can imagine that i get close to  madness by  searching the mistake.

... you can disable/enable in bios

-powermanagment
-ACPI
-floppy, LPT, COM ... (ok this are shity tips) but 15° possible.  Cool

you can slow down your systembus in bios. (good tip - when you have hardware which was "brandnew" at buying day)

do you have a other graficcard for trying? (no good tip)
Logged

The world is not digital - the world is an analog swoosh
CaptainCookie
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 93


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: March 14, 2007, 22:20:52 PM »

I have an old videocard, a radeon 7500. I'll try that tomorrow Smiley Thx for all tips  Cool
Logged

xva
Newbie
*
Posts: 19



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: March 14, 2007, 22:21:52 PM »

I had the same problem, but I solved starting in standard mode after the language choice
after the installation I installed the nvidia driver from pisi manager and everything went perfectly
Logged
CaptainCookie
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 93


View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: March 15, 2007, 15:35:34 PM »

It worked! The problem was that he couldn't find the videocard. I inserted the old videocard (radeon 7500) and it worked! So, thanks for all the tips Cheesy
Logged

Bahri16
Global Moderator
Pardus Master
*****
Posts: 208



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: March 15, 2007, 18:18:00 PM »

gratulations. so have a lot of fun with Pardus (Linux).
it really seems that you have a problem with your graficcard.

you should try  the recommendation from "xva" with your original graficcard.
Logged

The world is not digital - the world is an analog swoosh
CaptainCookie
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 93


View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: March 15, 2007, 21:50:23 PM »

I'll try that later, 1st I have to get everything else to work (almost done Smiley)

But the difference between an onboard videocard and a radeon 7500 is'nt big, so it doesn't really matter Smiley
Logged

Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!