Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 20, 2014, 00:15:28 AM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Configuring Pardus
| | |-+  Pardus network sharing
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Pardus network sharing  (Read 2347 times)
Willem
M.D.
Administrator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 1020



View Profile WWW
« on: March 17, 2007, 16:46:00 PM »

I have a laptop and a desktop with only Pardus on both.
I would like to set up a network, so I can share files between the computers and use the printer which is connected to the desktop. Is this possible, easy to do?
Logged

For freedom...
Bahri16
Global Moderator
Pardus Master
*****
Posts: 208



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2007, 18:31:01 PM »

hi willem, i can not help you cause  i am not a networker.

but i surly know that network is the "home" of linux.
if you can not do it in linux you can not do it anyway. Smiley
Logged

The world is not digital - the world is an analog swoosh
Pardoes
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 36


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2007, 11:05:53 AM »

Quote from: "Willem"
I have a laptop and a desktop with only Pardus on both.
I would like to set up a network, so I can share files between the computers and use the printer which is connected to the desktop. Is this possible, easy to do?


Heb je al geprobeerd hetvolgende:
Pardus > Programma > Hulpmiddelen > Smb4K
en klik erop. Rechtsonder verschijnt een icoontje.
Klik erop met de linkermuistoets.
Onder Network Browser dient dan te verschijnen de domeinnaam met daaronder de gedeelde map(pen) op de andere PC.

Verder denk eraan dat als je een Firewall gebruikt je gedeelde bestanden moet toestaan op beide PC's
     Verder kun je via Tasma > Internet en Network > Samba kiezen
Daar staat het veld Domein: de naam hierachter die dient op beide PC's hetzelfde te zijn.

Ik heb zo een Pardus PC op een Windows PC direct aan het werk.

Met betrekking tot printer heb ik geen ervaring in netwerk
Logged
Fox
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 38



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2007, 12:27:46 PM »

Hello Pardoes,

can you please post a reply in English in the non-Dutch parts of the forum, this way other (non-Dutch speaking) people can also benefit from your answer.

kind regards,
Frank
Logged
Willem
M.D.
Administrator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 1020



View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2007, 12:55:35 PM »

Thank you Pardoes, but the two computers cant see eachother yet.
What do I have to configure in Samba, and what should be the name of the shared folder? Where should it be placed?
My printer is connected to my desktop, how can I maken my laptop find it?
Logged

For freedom...
Pardoes
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 36


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2007, 13:37:58 PM »

Quote from: "Willem"
Thank you Pardoes, but the two computers can see eachother yet.
What do I have to configure in Samba, and what should be the name of the shared folder? Where should it be placed?
My printer is connected to my desktop, how can I maken my laptop find it?


If you do
Pardus > Programma > Hulpmiddelen > Smb4K and clicking on it with the left-button mouse
In the left side of the list with the name Network Browser you must see then the name of Domein (Domain) and in the sub(s) the name
of the shared (Gedeelde) maps.

The Domain(domein)  in Samba it must be the same name on all PC's in the network !!! You can choose the Domainname by yourself.


How you can change the name of the domain ?
Do as follows:
Go to Smb4K and click on it.
Go to Instellingen ( configuration ) in the Pulldown-menu.
There you choose "Smb4K instellen" ()
On the left side you choose Samba.
Go to the right side and there you change the name of Domain ( Domein) .
Logged
Willem
M.D.
Administrator
Pardus Guru
*****
Gender: Male
Posts: 1020



View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2007, 13:47:17 PM »

That is the problem, both computers dont see eachother.
Logged

For freedom...
Pardoes
Pardus fellow craft
**
Gender: Male
Posts: 36


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: March 18, 2007, 14:12:34 PM »

Quote from: "Willem"
That is the problem, both computers dont see eachother.


Look at mine anwer at Sunday Mar 18 2007, 11:37 am

It is possible that you have to restart both Pc's !
Logged
benvdh
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 65


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: March 18, 2007, 16:15:26 PM »

Hey willem,

It's probably a lot easier when you use ssh. Just setup an ssh daemon on the pc you want to transfer the files from. Then use Knetattach (Pardus >> Programs >> Internet >> Knetattach) to login from the machine you want to transfer the files to. Then just put in your login name and password (from the computer where the ssh daemon is running). As a servername use the IP of the ssh daemon computer. And as a folder you could use the path to the home dir of the account on that pc.

If you have more questions on this, or you want to know how to do this from commandline just ask.

Regards,

Ben
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!