Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 18, 2014, 12:46:12 PM
Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
Show unread posts since last visit.
News: Let Pardus-Anka become #1: Pardus-Anka Bug ReportPardus-Anka World Google+ | The Pardus wiki  | Visit Pardus-Anka official website  | Register as forum member?  Email the moderator!

+  Pardus Worldforum
|-+  Assistance
| |-+  Installing Pardus
| | |-+  problem with install-suggest pardus modify process
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: problem with install-suggest pardus modify process  (Read 2441 times)
flybye
Guest
« on: April 24, 2007, 07:04:39 AM »

 Embarrassed
Install attempt of pardus-2007.1 failed. I tried to install to previous setup partition hda6.
While packages were being copied one failed. Didnt pass the check of a file on the cd I think. The install stopped and I powered off/on. The install attempt set the partition hda6 active and my computer would no longer boot. I already had grub installed on hda2 and intended to amend menu.lst after installing pardus to hda6 but pardus desided to do it all the pardus way.  When pardus is flexable to let me do it my way--let me know...
mike 
Logged
DANHO
Pardus Master
***
Gender: Male
Posts: 187


Pardus SF


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2007, 04:38:09 AM »

Dude please. You screwed up and now the blame falls on the deaf cat. If installation didnt pass the check of a file, its cause your iso burn quality is way below standard rendering it not readable. Your rom may not be performing so great as to correctly read the files to pass it on installation. A somewhat "Broken Install Error". Files not being read properly and or read and copied at a reasonable speed.

And if you went as far as the bootloading installation process, Then "you" definetly screwed yours. There are several bootloader options at end of install, allowing you to "flexably" choose the booting process of your choice.


  flexably vete para el carajo!



 
« Last Edit: September 03, 2007, 06:37:05 AM by DANHO » Logged
KimTjik
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 60


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2007, 22:55:12 PM »

It's pretty hard to understand what's the meaning of what he's writing. It looks like he has a lot of boot-loaders installed.

If the issue isn't more than about the wrong partition being set as active, a easy fix would be to use GParted or Parted-magic, and simply set the correct partition active.

I wonder what boot-loader he has on hda? Could his post suggest that the first partition hosts Windows? If so the above could fix that.

There's probably some system installed controlling the boot-loader on hda2, hence if it's not working why not just take the Install-CD, boot from it directly to the root-partition, or chroot into the one that has to be fixed?

OK, it doesn't seem he was looking for answers, so I probably just wasted some space here.
Logged
DANHO
Pardus Master
***
Gender: Male
Posts: 187


Pardus SF


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2007, 03:01:23 AM »

From my understanding, his Pardus install failed,(he thinks because of a file didnt pass check during install)(i think bad iso) He imediately shutoff!!!, the half arse install apparently went as far as bootloader option(at end of install), and he lost his other bootloader at (hda2) while at same time he ended up with an unbootable Pardus system.

Logged
Kavani
Guest
« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2007, 04:00:32 AM »

I had the same issue with my dual boot.  I had Pardus on hdb1.  To fix it, I had to use a livecd and edit the menu.lst to reflect that it was on hdb1 not on hda1.  Also, Pardus will not recognize other distros when installing.  You have to manually put those in.  The boot editor is pretty good, but I still prefer the text editor.
Logged
KimTjik
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 60


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: September 04, 2007, 16:55:28 PM »

A tip if not certain about what to write in menu.lst:

If you already have grub installed on MBR of hda/sda there's no need to overwrite it as long as it's "alive", I mean it's controlled by an existing operating system.

If you already have another Linux system, which installed grub to MBR, then the clip & paste option is to simply let the other systems install grub on their own root partitions. In that way grub will be updated every time you change kernel, and you get an output of what to add to the grub residing on hda/sda. Like this:

- Mount the partition controlling grub on hda/sda (or the corresponding MBR you're using)
- cd to the menu.lst (boot/grub/menu.lst)
- open menu.lst in an editor of your choice
- now open up /boot/grub/menu.lst on your Pardus installation
- simply copy & paste the lines from Pardus' menu.lst to menu.lst controlled by grub on hda/sda

Example:

Pardus /boot/grub/menu.lst resides at sda10 and looks like this:

Quote
default 0
background 10333C
timeout 10
splashimage (hd0,9)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title Pardus 2007.2 [2.6.18.8-86]
root (hd0,9)
kernel (hd0,9)/boot/kernel-2.6.18.8-86 root=/dev/sda10 video=vesafb:off mudur=language:en quiet resume=/dev/sda5
initrd (hd0,9)/boot/initramfs-2.6.18.8-86


title Pardus 2007.2 Beta [2.6.18.8-86]
root (hd0,9)
kernel (hd0,9)/boot/kernel-2.6.18.8-86 root=/dev/sda10 video=vesafb:off mudur=language:en quiet resume=/dev/sda5
initrd (hd0,9)/boot/initramfs-2.6.18.8-86

title Pardus 2007.1 [2.6.18.8-83]
root (hd0,9)
kernel (hd0,9)/boot/kernel-2.6.18.8-83 root=/dev/sda10 video=vesafb:off mudur=language:en quiet resume=/dev/sda5
initrd (hd0,9)/boot/initramfs-2.6.18.8-83

title Pardus 2007.1 Felis chaus
root (hd0,9)
kernel (hd0,9)/boot/kernel-2.6.18.8-80 root=/dev/sda10 video=vesafb:off mudur=language:en quiet resume=/dev/sda5
initrd (hd0,9)/boot/initramfs-2.6.18.8-80

PClinuxOS resides on sda1, and controlles grub installed to mbr on sda, and looks like this:
Quote
timeout 10
color black/cyan yellow/cyan
gfxmenu (hd0,0)/usr/share/gfxboot/themes/pclinuxos/boot/message
default 1

title PCLinuxOS
kernel (hd0,0)/boot/vmlinuz BOOT_IMAGE=PCLinuxOX root=/dev/sda1 acpi=on splash=silent vga=788
initrd (hd0,0)/boot/initrd.img

title Fedora (2.6.22.4-65.fc7)
   root (hd0,6)
   kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.22.4-65.fc7 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
   initrd /initrd-2.6.22.4-65.fc7.img

title Fedora (2.6.20-2931.fc7xen)
   root (hd0,6)
   kernel /xen.gz-2.6.20-2931.fc7
   module /vmlinuz-2.6.20-2931.fc7xen ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
   module /initrd-2.6.20-2931.fc7xen.img

title Pardus 2007.2 [2.6.18.8-86]
   root (hd0,9)
   kernel (hd0,9)/boot/kernel-2.6.18.8-86 root=/dev/sda10 video=vesafb:off mudur=language:en quiet resume=/dev/sda5
   initrd (hd0,9)/boot/initramfs-2.6.18.8-86


# (0) Arch Linux
title  Arch Linux
root   (hd0,11)
kernel /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/sda13 ro
initrd /kernel26.img

As can be seen I could easily copy the part marked in red from Pardus' menu.lst to the one called upon by grub on MBR. Thus you don't need to "know" about how to manually edit grub.
« Last Edit: September 04, 2007, 16:59:38 PM by KimTjik » Logged
roverrat
Pardus Master
***
Posts: 236



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: September 04, 2007, 17:31:42 PM »

Quote
If you already have another Linux system, which installed grub to MBR, then the clip & paste option is to simply let the other systems install grub on their own root partitions.

In that case you might want to use the "master" grub in the MBR to chainload the bootloaders in the other partitions like so:

Code:
timeout 10
color black/cyan yellow/cyan
gfxmenu (hd0,0)/usr/share/gfxboot/themes/pclinuxos/boot/message
default 1

# main OS
title PCLinuxOS
kernel (hd0,0)/boot/vmlinuz BOOT_IMAGE=PCLinuxOX root=/dev/sda1 acpi=on splash=silent vga=788
initrd (hd0,0)/boot/initrd.img

# second OS
title Fedora
   rootnoverify (hda0,6)
   chainloader +1

# third OS
title Pardus 2007.2
   rootnoverify  (hd0,9)
chainloader +1
 
The main advantage of this approach is that you don't have to modify the grub in the MBR every time you do a kernel upgrade in one of the other distros.

« Last Edit: September 05, 2007, 09:49:42 AM by roverrat » Logged
KimTjik
Pardus fellow craft
**
Posts: 60


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: September 04, 2007, 18:23:32 PM »

Of course you could chain load, but personally I prefer to not do that. I'm not in such a hurry, but it doesn't look neat and I like when it loads straight ahead instead of it jumping from grub to grub.

Arch is possibly the one that change kernel the most, but on the other hand it nukes the old image and remakes it without changing its name, hence no need to edit menu.lst. For the others I don't upgrade kernels that often so some quick editing of the main grub once a month isn't a bit deal.

But that's me...
Logged
DANHO
Pardus Master
***
Gender: Male
Posts: 187


Pardus SF


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: September 05, 2007, 01:44:52 AM »

The linux bootloader does the booting just fine.

flexable "flybye" up there killed the pc power when he saw a file check didn't pass,during installation, and ended up with his preveous bootloader at hda2  wiped out and a Pardus os that doesn't boot.
 But that because his pardus iso burn to cd was corrupted right?
 Someone?

Here's what my boot menu looks like.

default 0
timeout 10
splashimage = (hd0,3)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
background 10333C

title Pardus 2007.2 [2.6.18.8-86]
root (hd0,3)
kernel (hd0,3)/boot/kernel-2.6.18.8-86 root=/dev/sda4 video=vesafb:nomtrr,pmipal,ywrap,1024x768-32@60 splash=silent,fadein,theme:pardus console=tty2 mudur=language:en quiet
initrd (hd0,3)/boot/initramfs-2.6.18.8-86

title Pardus 2007.2 Caracal caracal
root (hd0,3)
kernel (hd0,3)/boot/kernel-2.6.18.8-86 root=/dev/sda4 video=vesafb:nomtrr,pmipal,ywrap,1024x768-32@60 splash=silent,fadein,theme:pardus console=tty2 mudur=language:en quiet
initrd (hd0,3)/boot/initramfs-2.6.18.8-86

title Windows (fat32) - sda1
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
makeactive
chainloader +1

title Windows (fat32) - sdb1
map (hd0) (hd1)
map (hd1) (hd0)
rootnoverify (hd1,0)
makeactive
chainloader +1



Logged
Kavani
Guest
« Reply #9 on: September 05, 2007, 02:18:05 AM »

Sometimes media checks can be a little buggy, but on average it's either a bad burn or a bad disk.  I've only had one media checker consistently fail, though the media was fine.
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!